We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a work and pleasure trip to great city of Chicago even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made a work and pleasure trip to great city of Chicago even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The Amalfi Hotel is a comfortable boutique-like hotel... A well appointed smaller hotel in a great location that felt like home base within a day. The concierge service was invaluable and welcoming. Several women from Boston spent 5 days there and would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to know you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking as well. Thank you again for the glowing recommendation. We hope to have you all stay with us again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    408
    95
    25
    12
See reviews for
229
570
71
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Amalfi is in a perfect spot for almost everything. However our room was a bit dissappointing. We went with the Corner king and unless you get a corner room on a floor higher than 4 , your window view is a brick wall on one end. Also we stayed in room 211 and that room was a black hole for cell service (AT&T has problems all over chicago) but also their wifi. The wifi could be picked up in the hall way but once we walked into our room we could not get any signal. So having only cell phones, as most people do, it becomes quite annoying. For the price of the hotel I cannot complain too much, like it said, it met our needs to location with everything we wanted to do. Just ask for another room if you get room 211.

Room Tip: If you go corner get up high due to obstructed view and bars below and avoid room 211 due to no wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to know you found our central downtown Chicago location to your liking but disappointed to hear the view in your room was not to your liking. We do try to accommodate all room requests and apologize if we were unable to place you on a higher floor. I’m sorry to hear that your WiFi signal wasn’t up to the high standards we maintain. We are currently working with our provider to correct this and ensure it’s not an issue in the future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! We ended up not getting a free happy hour bc the line was super long, but the location is perfect to walk anywhere!! Everyone was so friendly & helpful! We were even given a free appetizer to the restaurant we were headed to when asking for directions! Loved the pillows :) and the continental breakfast was nice to be able to walk out on your floor & grab quickly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely feedback! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking. I’m happy to hear you were able to indulge in our deluxe complimentary continental breakfast but disappointed you were unable to attend our complimentary evening cocktail reception. Hopefully next time you’ll be able to enjoy the lounge and our signature Amalfitini cocktail. I’m also pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our front office team—we’ll be sure to share your kind comments with them! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here with friends over a weekend and you really could not ask for anything more. Clean rooms, nice staff and amazing location. We walked to pretty much everything in the city, or took a short walk to the train. The breakfast is basic, but definitely good enough (and better then spending an extra $10-$15 in a restaurant). The cocktail hour was fabulous and really an added bonus.
There is no reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to the train and other nearby sites. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like the deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We appreciate your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Best hotel we have stayed in the US at that price (booked direct with the hotel, not discount site.) One block back from the river , central but quiet at night. Great views of iconic architecture from our room which was spacious, clean and well equipped with large comfortable bed and chic decor. Very good value for a city centre hotel of this quality especially as continental breakfast was included, served on a buffet in the lobby of each floor so it could be taken back to your room to eat in bed or at the little dining table. Also included each evening complementary cocktails, drinks and a bread and cheese buffet great for mixing with other guests. Staff very friendly and booked us tickets for theatres etc and helped with local knowledge. Plenty of superb eateries nearby: Harry Carey's, Unos for deep pan pizza (worth the wait), Weber Grill etc.

Room Tip: Hotel is relatively small and only goes up to 6th floor so ask to be as high as possible for the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you kindly for the glowing review! We’re overjoyed to receive such positive guest feedback. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further pleased to hear how helpful our front office team was with recommendations and information about Chicago! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What's not to like? Free nightly open bar and snacks, free breakfast with coffee, juices, breads, cakes, cereals, yougurt, free business center with free PCs and printing, free wi-fi in the rooms, nice wide-screen TVs, friendly staff, across the street and around the corner from dozens of great restaurants, and more. This was my fifth annual stay, and I really like the place. About five block walk from the CTA Blue Line, too, for cheap transit to O'Hare. The open bar/lounge area has been redone, and it is functional but awkward for larger groups of friends. Still, free is free, and the food is usually a meal in itself if you don't want to go out. FYI, the breakfast is a buffet set up on each floor, opposite the elevator. You are eating in your room, not in a dining room. Tough to have a breakfast meeting unless you want to do it in your jammies!

Room Tip: Head for the top floor (6) to avoid the street noise. Ask for a room on the west end, away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you kindly for the glowing review! We’re overjoyed to receive such positive guest feedback. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast, evening cocktail reception and 24-hour business center. Coming from a frequent guest, your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your 6th stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent location. Room was very nice: I was lucky to get a corner room overlooking Kinzie street. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Wi-Fi worked great. Complimentary Happy Hour in the evening is rather unique among the hotels in the area. The complimentary continental breakfast is rather basic: a few pastries, coffee, cold milk and beverages, flakes and bread; it's self service but there are no tables therefore food must be consumed in the room; furniture includes a table. Car is a nightmare, as parking lots are extremely pricey in the area: just use cabs or public transportation, unless a car is strictly necessary to visit suburbs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us! As you mentioned, we serve our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on each floor and you have the option to take your breakfast back to your room but we do also offer access to our 6th floor Ravello Lounge where there is ample seating and tables for you to enjoy your breakfast. I’m pleased to know you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Thank you again for providing your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.