We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now!
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Amalfi is perfectly located. Walking distance to several different Metro lines, lots of restaurants, attractions, you name it. The cocktail reception is a nice touch and saved us some money. The breakfast is spartan, but really okay-no complaints. The staff is very friendly and helpful for the most part. When we checked in, the woman who we dealt with was surprisingly curt. The reservation was under my name, not my husbands, and she gave him a suspicious look. I didn't think too much of it until we passed her later on on our way out being very friendly and warm and full of suggestionsm to another couple. She was the only staff member who wasn't very gracious and helpful. The rest of the lobby staff was great. Our room was fine-only complaint was we were right across from the gym area and we could hear the door opening and closing early and late.

Room Tip: Don't stay right across from the fitness area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I’m pleased to know you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and found our central downtown Chicago location to your liking. While I’m pleased to receive positive feedback about our front office team, I am disappointed to learn that your check-in experience didn’t live up to our high standards of service. It is evident the person you encountered was not upholding the Amalfi standards, and I will be contacting you directly for more information so I can further address the associate involved and ensure that this is not an issue in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    422
    98
    25
    12
See reviews for
234
586
74
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed for a week at the Amalfi hotel and had an amazing experience. I've stayed for the same amount of time for business in Chicago before, and have never had this great of an experience.

Upon check in, I was happy to see the intimacy of the lobby and professionalism of the staff. When I told the front desk staff I would be unable to make breakfast the next morning due to leaving early, they sent up a breakfast to me that evening for the next morning. They were VERY knowledgable about the local area, public transit, and recommended the perfect restaurants for me based on my food likes.

The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are huge. The showers have dual shower heads and the water pressure was great. The work out room is open 24/7 and has TV's on the machines which I love. They also had medicine balls, matts and free weights.

The breakfasts are good, if not a bit limited. But all I really require is cereal and they had many options for that. They have breakfast right outside your room, on your floor, so no need to be awake to grab a bite! Very convenient. Also you can lounge around in the provided bathrobe and slippers which are simply heavenly. I also slept the best I've ever slept in a hotel in their beds. The room was quiet and I didn't hear the busy city outside at all!

I'm not much for cocktails but the reception was decent. They had open bar and some cold cuts with bread/spread as appetizers. Didn't appeal to me very much, but it was a nice perk.

The location was fantastic for public transit on every El line, and most bus lines. If not directly outside the hotel, they are only a few blocks away. You're also right by a CVS to purchase metro cards.

My only complaint would be that the valet parking is quite expensive, but it's Chicago and I knew what I was in for anyhow. Next time, I will be staying at the Amalfi again for sure, but will most likely rely on the public transit since it's so convenient to the hotel and much less expensive.

The staff at the hotel went above and beyond the call of duty to make my experience exceptional. I stay at a lot of hotels, and I've never been given this much personal attention. It was truly extraordinary and they will get my business again.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Chicago area and it's within their budget. The amount of service and amenities you get for the cost and location is superb.

Room Tip: If you need a restaurant recommendation, ask Chase at the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re absolutely thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and I’m so pleased to hear we delivered on everything from directions, restaurants recommendations and more! I’ll be sure to pass your kind comments along to them. I’m further pleased to know you found our rooms to your liking as well as in-room amenities like our dual showerheads, slippers and bathrobe. Coming from an experienced and savvy traveler like yourself, your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi in August for five nights. This is a very nice hotel for a reasonable price and considering it's in the heart of the city, it's a terrific value. The rooms are a nice size and well kept. They offer free breakfast, and also a free cocktail hour from around 6-7 where drinks and light food are served. Overall, if you plan to stay in Chicago, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your August stay with us and found our central downtown location to your liking! I’m also happy to know you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We’re grateful to receive such a glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I parked in front of the hotel and I noticed that they had valet parking, which price was quite steep. The valet parking was almost 20 dollar more expensive than all the other places that I had used before but I decided to use it anyway as I just wanted to get in and relax. The price was 47 dollar a night, so you can say that it was paid.

I was quite surprised when I saw the hotel from the outside as the hotel looked really huge and it not something that I had expected. The valet guys were all over me when I arrived at the hotel and I took out my stuff and gave them the car keys and went to the reception inside.

The lounge area in front of the reception was quite full of people but it was also quite small compared to the huge hotel. The reception was two small desks with a girl sitting behind in an office chair. My receptionist found my booking quite fast and I was given a room on second floor, which I was okay with.

My room was quite nice and I especially liked my bed. It was large and pretty high, which is a fact that I like because beds in European hotels are usually quite low. The room was really bright and the Wi-Fi worked quite well. The bathroom was nice and I liked my room a lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our rooms to your liking. While downtown parking costs vary, our $47 valet parking rate is within the average of area hotels. If you’re looking for more economical choices, we do recommend several self-park lots in the area; however, they do not offer in-and-out privileges like we do for our valet parking. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I definitely recommend staying at this hotel in Chicago. The customer service was terrific and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and cocktail reception. The location was perfect for all attractions and activities. The room was clean and comfortable. You won't be disappointed with this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and to receive such positive guest feedback about our team. I’m also pleased you found our complimentary amenities to your liking as well. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Amalfi is a small hotel in a very convenient area of Chicago, near public transportation. The staff is wonderful, especially Adriel who recommended attractions and restaurants and Karem.. The hotel offers a cold continental breakfast on each hallway in the am and a cocktail party in the evening.

The rooms are small, nothing special but the atmosphere and the staff made it special for us. Definitely would return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
What a lovely review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. We’ll be sure to share your kind comments with Adriel and Karem as well. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast as well as our evening cocktail reception. We’re truly honored to receive such a warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotels in Chicago are expensive, and so is this one.
But compared to other hotels in the area it's probably one of the best value/money wise.

The hotel personnel is courteous and always welcoming you with a smile. There's a free happy hour for guests each day with free drinks, rooms are clean and sound proofing is decent. The beds are really comfortable.

Only a couple of negs: the airconditioning is pretty noisy and so are the ice machines in the hallways. There are not enough cupboards to store your clothes if you're in for a long stay.

The breakfast is ok, but you need to be fast. As the breakfast is a buffet in the hallway, you need to return to your room to eat.

Room Tip: Corner suites are a bit larger. In the center of the hallway you can have lots of noise from the ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our complimentary amenities like our evening cocktail reception to your liking. I apologize for the air conditioning noise you experienced; that is not typical of our hotel’s HVAC system. I will be contacting you directly for more information so we can rectify that issue immediately. I also appreciate your feedback about adding more storage units in the room and will be sure to share with the appropriate departments. Thank you again for your feedback—we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next stay in Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.