We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Big Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not only were the accommodations supberb, but the customer care provided by Karine, Jose and Adrian Gonzales was the best we've experienced in our travels. Congratulations to the Amalfi hotel for choosing them to represent the hotel.
In a previous stay at the Amalfi, Magan was extremely accommodating and we were happy to see her again while we were there.
We'll definitely make plans to stay at the Amalfi Hotel on our next vist to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
What a lovely review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service & are delighted to know we delivered on that promise. We’ll be sure to share your kind comments with Karine, Jose, Adriel & Magan as well as the rest of the team. We truly appreciate such a wonderful recommendation from a frequent traveler like yourself and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    386
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
201
527
66
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a Corner Room with "View" through their website. Our room looked out over a string of dirty air conditioners and lots of dumpsters which clanged during the night. Also, we were in room 532 which is high for this hotel, but still were woken up all night by police cars and fire engines. I would not recommend this hotel. Get a hotel which is not deceptive in their descriptions. I told the "customer service' person and they never contacted me or did anything. Plus, they describe the room as having extra square footage but that is just a long hallway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize if you found our room description misleading. As we are located in heart of the downtown River North district, the views we offer are “city views” which include the architecture around us as well as the unfortunate city necessities you mentioned. I regret the noise disturbances you encountered as well. As mentioned, we are located in a vibrant downtown neighborhood and the sounds of the city, like fire engine sirens, are regrettably out of our control.

I would like to know what time you heard the sound of dumpsters, however, as there are strict city codes that dictate garbage pick-up times. If they violated these codes, we would like to know so we can follow up and ensure this is not an issue for future guests. I will be contacting you directly to discuss the situation further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I selected this hotel based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor from a list available for our convention. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed in the hotel. I agree with the reviewer who said it was not 4 star. Although the personnel were very nice and the location convenient, the accommodations were at best average. The infrastructure is old with a cosmetic layer of boutique on top. The carpet in our room sorely needed cleaning, the furniture was banged up along the bottom - just a general aura of overuse and no updating. The finish on drain ring in the bath sink was corroded, both the sink and bath faucets worked backwards, and the drain in the tub was so slow that we were standing ankle deep in water at the end of a shower. That problem was corrected. Breakfast selections, while adequate for continental, were not kept full during the breakfast hours. On Sunday we (and many other guests) had to hunt on different floors for enough to eat at 8:30am. At 9am suddenly the selections were being refreshed. Too late for us. Amalfi is off our list of Chicago hotels. The Talbot is my idea of a real boutique hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we’re pleased to receive positive feedback about our team, we’re saddened to hear your stay was a disappointing one. We strive to maintain the highest level of guest room quality and I’m sorry to hear we did not live up to these standards. I will be contacting you directly for more information so we can rectify these guest room issues immediately. We also appreciate your feedback about the breakfast not being replenished often enough and apologize for that inconvenience as well. We will share your feedback with the appropriate departments to ensure that these issues are corrected. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great friendly and efficient staff. People and dog friendly. Close to good restaurants. Recommend Keeifer's. Hotels rooms were comfortable and clean. We would highly recommend the Almafi to our friends!
Enjoyed our stay!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review! We’re so pleased to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I’m especially pleased to receive such positive feedback about our team! We’ll be sure to pass your kind comments along. I’m also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful restaurants surrounding us, including our next-door neighbor Keefer’s! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is central for everything in Chicago. Some of the best restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance and the El station is within a few blocks.

The hotel itself is small compared with some of its competitors in the area but offers great value for money. It offers a free buffet continental breakfast which is conveniently served on each floor. In the evening there is a free food and drink reception every night (between 5.30 and 7.00). There are snacks (meats, cheese, hummous etc) and an open bar with premium brands. There is also free wi fi throughout the hotel including the bedrooms.

The service was excellent, the staff being consistently polite and helpful. The housekeepers were particularly good.

The rooms are a little old fashioed and could do with a spot of updating. However this did not effect the overall enjoyment of our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central downtown location to your liking! I’m pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast, evening cocktail reception, and WiFi. I’m also pleased to receive such lovely feedback about our team! We pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and it’s always a pleasure to hear we lived up to our high standards. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

When on the road for business or pleasure the one thing you miss the most is the comfort of your own home and being away from freinds and family, not at the Amalfi Hotel! The comfort at the Amalfi is just like home and the staff is just like family. The Amalfi Hotel is nestled between all the great spots of Chicago's finest, shopping, eating, theatre and night life. The morning continental breakfast is a great way to start your day and later relax in their newly renovated Revello Lounge. I look forward to my stay at the Amalfi every time Im in the Chicago area. So next time you are looking for a great place to stay in Chicago, stay at the Amalfi your home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Many thanks for the gracious review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback and to be your “home away from home” here in Chicago! I’m delighted to know you’re able to take advantage of our central location in the downtown River North district and all the shopping and nightlife surrounding us. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great customer service. Friendly and efficient
Nice rooms, nothing fancy but if you're not planning on spending all your time there it's great.

Great happy hour every night, nice selection of drinks and appetizers for your enjoyment. Great recommendations on trips (Architectural history boat cruise is a must) and restaurants (great rec's on Chicago-style pizza place).

Room Tip: Try and get street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and to receive such great feedback about our team! I’m happy to hear we were able to provide you with helpful recommendations—I agree the architectural boat cruise is a must when visiting Chicago! I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.