We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Amalfi for three nights to enjoy a quick downtown getaway. Its location is perfect, just North of the River for easy walkability to most downtown and River North sites. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and the rooms were beautifully decorated. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    949
    393
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
218
549
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Amalfi, from the expansive free breakfast each morning, to the extremely generous free FULL BAR reception with light appetizers every evening......I will never stay at any other place again when visiting Chicago. On top of the fact that it is such an easy trip from the airport via the train, and within walking distance of practically everything in downtown Chicago, it is also a very friendly and clean hotel. The rooms are fantastic, the service is awesome, and I think the value is tremendous. They have definitely done it well! I wish they had one in every city!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Many thanks for your gracious review! I’m delighted to know you enjoy our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m happy you were able to take advantage of our central location in the River North district with easy access to public transportation and nearby attractions. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Nice location. Love the continental breakfast on each floor. Great bathroom amenities. Parking is very pricey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m pleased to know you enjoy our complimentary amenities such as our deluxe continental breakfast and our Aveda spa products. While downtown parking costs vary, our $47 rate is within the average of area hotels. We recommend guests consider their driving needs as many self-park garages are nearby for those not needing in-and-out privileges. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I love the Amalfi..I have been staying there for Business and Personal for a little over 3 years. I have the option to stay at a number of hotels, but I always find myself at the Almalfi! The value is unbelievable...great location, breakfast right on the floor in the morning, drinks at night,WIFI.. LOVE IT!!! The staff really cares about your stay! Last year I checked in and I came down with a cold on the drive in, before I knew it the staff sent up hot tea to help me feel better! This hotel is WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We love this hotel. Whenever we go to Chicago for a weekend we stay at the Amalfi. The location is fab close to Harry Carreys, Rush Street, shopping and all of our favorite spots to visit. Michigan Avenue is a short walk as is downtown. The staff is always ready to make helpful suggestions and make us feel special and welcomed. I recommended the Amalfi to our local Womens group for their last fall venture and they loved it.

Room Tip: All floors have wonderful continental breakfast offerings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
What a thoughtful review! We’re delighted to receive such a positive recommendation and thrilled that we are your hotel of choice in Chicago! I’m pleased that you enjoy taking advantage of our central location by visiting all the wonderful spots like Rush Street and Michigan Avenue! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! The location is great, staff are friendly and we love the modern decor. We've stayed there many times and always recommend it to friends or family that are visiting Chicago. It is within walking distance to many attractions and nice restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi in August for my bachelorette weekend and absolutely adored the property. What a great touch to have breakfast on our floor and to be able to walk down the hall in our pajamas! But the best is the manager's reception - I felt like I was in Italy with those amazing meats and cheeses plus the specialty cocktails. And of course the rooms were amazing. Nice touch with the newspaper in the bag, which of course I took home to use to carry wine bottles. Not sure if that was okay, but hey, now I'm promoting the hotel back home in Myrtle Beach. Can't wait to stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.