We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corner King Suite----incredible views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Corner King Suite----incredible views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Room 632 is a corner king suite that has windows on three sides.......you can see the top of the John Hancock center....it was just gorgeous! I love the location of this property, especially for going to the theater. We ate one night at Theory which is directly behind the Amalfi (same block). It was a Thursday night and they had $5 burgers. It was seriously the best burger I had ever had! Back to the Amalfi---concierge service was great...very professional and helpful making dinner reservations, etc. The nightly reception and basic breakfast keeps me coming back. I also LOVE that they put a sheet on top of the comforter. I am a germ freak and this makes me so happy! So, there are two sheets...one next to your body, then a blanket, then a down comforter, then another sheet. Just seems cleaner.......If I have any negative feedback it is this - some healthier choices for breakfast would really be great and the coffee was not hot (just warm) and just wasn't really good at all. Still---I will be back and I will be requesting room 632. I will remember that view for ages......

Room Tip: get room 632----huge king suite with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    386
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
201
527
66
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Amalfi hotel is very convenient for the centre of Chicago but doesn't have a view of the river. It is comfortably but basic - i.e. good for a night if you're on business but poor if you're in Chicago on holiday and want to be able to relax in the hotel.

Positives: Great (and free) wi-fi, decent sized rooms, friendly staff.
Negatives: Breakfast is poor (although it is free), noisy heating/air-con (I had to switch mine off at night), no bar or lounge to meet drinks and have a drink.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased that you found our location in the central River North neighborhood convenient and our staff accommodating. We apologize your room did not have a view of the river; while not all of our rooms have views, a majority offer views of the downtown area that are available upon request.

While our Ravello Lounge is under renovation, we do still offer our complimentary cocktail reception every evening on the 6th floor. We also invite you to try Keefer’s Restaurant and Bar, located right inside our building. Their steaks and contemporary menu is highly recommended and an easy option for on-site dining as the hotel’s side entrance opens to the shared lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago if you choose to stay at the Amalfi for your next visit.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was an excellent hotel! I love a hotel that caters to you, if even just a good continental breakfast, but not only did they have a really good continental breakfast, but also, every night they had a coctail party with free coctails!! Wow, I have never been to a hotel who serves an open bar with coctails, beer and wine! The workers were really accomadating, and very pleasant! The hotel was in a prime neighborhood, where we were able to walk to all the major food chains, and all the theaters!! We stayed a week here at this facility, and I would definately go back again, and again! It was an excellent Value, expecially for all we got! This is well worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Amalfi experience! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as our continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Our “prime” location (as you fittingly put it) in the River North neighborhood offers a great selection of restaurants and nightlife and I’m delighted you were able to take advantage of it!

Thank you for recognizing our customer service and sharing your comments with other TripAdvisor travelers. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the Amalfi upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Friendly staff, big enough and quiet room. Excellent drinks in the happy hour, but that whole concept I can live very well without. No nice lounge or restaurant (the Ravello one was beeing renovated) where you could have breakfast and hang out - and to a comment in this forum. No, I do not want to bring that breakfast to somewhere else. That breakfast, full of fat and carbs, was the third worst I have seen in a hotel of good standard. Luckily there was a 7/11 and Starbucks round the corner where I could pick up something to eat that was at least half-way nutricious and some drinkable coffee. But not beeing able to have a good breakfast in a nice environment will make me avoid this hotel when in town.
Also I found it unacceptable not beeing able to even discuss late check out before 7 a.m. the same morning.
The location is good, with many restaurants close by. Logging on to the WiFi was very smooth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and convenient location in the vibrant River North neighborhood. We apologize if our complimentary continental breakfast were not to your liking; we do try to offer a number of nutritious items such as fresh fruit, healthy cereal options and nonfat yogurt. As we are always looking to improve our breakfast selection, we appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass them on.

As you mentioned, we are renovating our Ravello Lounge and delighted to inform you that these renovations will create a more spacious environment with new lighting, furniture and a custom mural of the Amalfi Coast. We invite you to come to stay with us again so you may experience our breakfast in a more comfortable setting.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My usual Chicago hotels were all sold out during a recent business trip, so I decided to give Amalfi a try. The location in River North is excellent, particularly if you're interested in nightlife. The staff was all business when I checked in - no mention of the free breakfast on every floor, I found out about that the next morning (nice surprise). Room size was good, generally clean and comfortable bed. I had a room in the back of the hotel which literally faced a wall, so the view was awful and there was little natural light. In fact, the whole hotel feels...dark and cavernous? Nothing wrong here, per se, but I think there are better options in the area, my favorite being the Dana Hotel .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
As a regular Chicago visitor, we appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Amalfi and delighted that you found our location in the vibrant River North neighborhood convenient. We’re sorry that the view was not to your liking; we do have a number of rooms with views of the downtown area that are available upon request. We apologize that your Experience Designer did not mention the complimentary continental breakfast at check-in. We appreciate your feedback and will use this as an opportunity to re-train our associates so this oversight will not occur again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will consider staying with us upon your next visit to Chicago.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of Chicago. The rooms were clean and modern and they had a great happy hour. The continental breakfast was ok, but it was on each floor in front of the elevator which was convienient. The concierge service was nothing special and there are other hotels in the area that give you more for you money. I may try another hotel next time, but I wouldn't say I'd never stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Stacyce,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Amalfi. We’re pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as our continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I am sorry, however, to learn that you didn’t receive the quality of service we consider one of our strengths.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again so you may experience the level of hospitality we strive to deliver.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a last minute vacation with our 14 mos old daughter. We chose Amalfi Hotel for the great pictures and ammedities. The hotel was not as extravagant as we thought and the room was on the much smaller side that we were lead to believe it was going to be. The staff were great and the location was good. We ended up shortening our stay and going to another hotel. The breakfast service was one thing we liked by having it on each floor, however, 2 days in a row, it was moved to another floor since there was low volume on my floor. Not as good as I thought it was going to be for our first stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jangulo, Director of Sales at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We’re pleased our staff and location were to your liking and that you enjoyed our value-added amenities like our complimentary continental breakfast. We apologize that the size of your room was not to your satisfaction. 95% of our rooms are larger than the typical downtown Chicago hotel room but we do have a handful of rooms that are slightly smaller. If you would like a larger room, we also have corner king rooms and suites available for an additional cost which are more spacious and offer better city views.


We would be happy to reserve one of those guest room types for your next visit. Again, we appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Chicago


Cordially,
Jose D. Angulo
Director of Business Development & Image
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.