We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Fords, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Modern, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of Chicago. The rooms were clean and modern and they had a great happy hour. The continental breakfast was ok, but it was on each floor in front of the elevator which was convienient. The concierge service was nothing special and there are other hotels in the area that give you more for you money. I may try another hotel next time, but I wouldn't say I'd never stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Stacyce,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Amalfi. We’re pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as our continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I am sorry, however, to learn that you didn’t receive the quality of service we consider one of our strengths.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again so you may experience the level of hospitality we strive to deliver.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    386
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
201
527
66
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a last minute vacation with our 14 mos old daughter. We chose Amalfi Hotel for the great pictures and ammedities. The hotel was not as extravagant as we thought and the room was on the much smaller side that we were lead to believe it was going to be. The staff were great and the location was good. We ended up shortening our stay and going to another hotel. The breakfast service was one thing we liked by having it on each floor, however, 2 days in a row, it was moved to another floor since there was low volume on my floor. Not as good as I thought it was going to be for our first stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jangulo, Director of Sales at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We’re pleased our staff and location were to your liking and that you enjoyed our value-added amenities like our complimentary continental breakfast. We apologize that the size of your room was not to your satisfaction. 95% of our rooms are larger than the typical downtown Chicago hotel room but we do have a handful of rooms that are slightly smaller. If you would like a larger room, we also have corner king rooms and suites available for an additional cost which are more spacious and offer better city views.


We would be happy to reserve one of those guest room types for your next visit. Again, we appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Chicago


Cordially,
Jose D. Angulo
Director of Business Development & Image
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

perfect location. nice and modern hotel. great service. absolutely recommended

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Excellent friendly service at this hotel. Very clean rooms. Free breakfast on each floor by the elevators - bagels, yogurt, juice coffee, fruit etc. Evening reception with free wine and nibblies. Free internet. Had a problem with my TV reception that was fixed quickly and cheerfully. Well located near subway from airport, Magnificent Mile free shuttle nearby to Navy Pier. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here while in Chicago on business (convention) in early January 2012. Good location, close to other major hotels and Michigan avenue. Breakfast service on each floor was convenient, although the selection was not great, and the full range of foods was not put out until 7.00 a.m. Plenty of dining and entertainment options close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Amalfi hotel is cool, sleek and ever so savvy. In fact, I debated even writing this review. This is one of those great little places that come along so seldom you don’t want to share it with anyone else and keep it your very own little secret. That would be unfair. Everything about the Amalfi is just right. Check in is quick and personal at one on one desks in the small, but bright lobby. As you walk towards the elevators it hits you. The aroma of the Amalfi. Yes, the aroma. Is this a spa or a hotel lobby?
Unlike New York City hotels, where the owners try to squeeze as many teeny tiny rooms on each floor, rooms at the Amalfi are large, inviting, well-appointed and featured great amenities and special extra touches. The bathroom is big and loaded with Aveda products. The room features everything you need from a safety deposit box, iron and ironing board and extras like slippers, housecoats, smooth jazz CD’s, great books on Chicago, one guide you can take with you, a large work area, iPod dock, a cool little chair and a very comfortable bed with great pillows.
The 6th floor lounge serves complimentary drinks from 5 to 7 pm. Surprisingly, it’s an open bar. As for the snacks, not so much. Mind you, my fellow hotel guests were loading up on the appetizers I chose to ignore. A complimentary breakfast is offered by the elevator on each floor in the morning. It’s pretty amazing. Actually it’s really amazing compared to what some hotels embarrassingly slop out. Like really great coffee and love handle inspiring pastries that we all know we are not supposed to eat. Try to pass up ridiculously large chocolate glazed donuts and freshly baked pain au chocolate. Amalfi. Why are you doing this to me? I mean come on. Where is the adult supervision? Of course, there is some fruit and other healthy items for the triathlon crowd, but not today for me. And I bet even the triathlon bunch are sneaking these buttery, sugary delights into their workout bags.
The local neighborhood complements the hotel. With-in a 3 to 5 block radius you’ll find a wide range of great restaurant in every price range along with fun bars and clubs. On top of the list, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel is “Coc Pazzo” at 300 West Hubbard. This is up scale priced Italian that specializes in Tuscany cuisine. This was my first time. I will be returning with friends. It was highly recommended by a friend who I trust when it comes to incredible food and service. It didn’t miss a beat. Make a reservation ------- well in advance. This is a very comfortable restaurant with suburb food and friendly, professional top notch service. Then, at the complete other end of the spectrum, comes the hole in the wall pizza joint around the corner from the Amalfi whose names I missed, but dishes up pizza slices that should be given some kind of Congressional medal of pizza honor. The guy behind the counter knew the name of about every second or third person walking in. That means people come back and come back often. That says it all. The sausage pizza slice is off the Richter scale. The “Public House” bar next door to the hotel is a two phase bar. It’s a beer drinker’s paradise and sport bar during the day, but a packed to the rafters dance club at night. It works too. Line ups on the weekend.
Chicago has so much to offer, but you could actually have a great weekend staying at the Amalfi and not wondering away more than a six block radius of the hotel.
Stay here. Just don’t tell anyone, OK?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Nice hotel, good location.

Good: great staff, free wifi, cookies in the afternoon and decent (free) breakfast. Nice rooms!

Bad: workout room has MINIMAL equipment; wifi can be weak; NOWHERE to sit next to breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jangulo, Director of Sales at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our Buon Giorno continental breakfast and delicious gourmet cookies that are served at the front desk every afternoon. If you would like to enjoy your breakfast someplace else than you room we do have our Ravello Lounge on the 6th floor open and available to all of our guests 24/7.


We apologize you didn’t find the fitness center to your satisfaction. We recently renovated our fitness center in the last year with state of the art equipment from elliptical machines to treadmills to bicycles all equipped with LCD monitors and MP3/iPod docking stations. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Cordially,
Jose D. Angulo
Director of Business Development & Image
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.