We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They had it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They had it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

What a delightful stay within walking distance to almost anything! The staff at the Amalfi was top notch - from the front desk to housekeeping. Everyone was professional, informative, up-beat and smiling. The hotel, itself , was spotless 24/7. Included for guests was a daily breakfast on each floor. This was not coffee and tea and boxed cereal. Breakfast included bowls of fresh fruit, assorted yogurts, bakery breads , English muffins, bagels,croissants, Danish pastries and doughnuts. There was even a toaster available. Each evening , the Amalfi hosts a Happy Hour . This, too, was quite substantial offering an antipasto-type dish as well as salsas, hummus, assorted cheeses ,breads and crackers, and crudites.

The room was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. We would most certainly return to the Amalfi. One of the best features was the assortment of guests - from visiting foreigners, to families, to business groups and wedding parties - and all of us seemed to be pleased!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Amalfi Hotel on your visit to Chicago! We are thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

It is a pleasure to know that our team made you feel at home here and I will happily share your comments with them. What a wonderful review of our complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour; I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our many options! Again, we are grateful for your kind words and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our city.

Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    404
    94
    24
    11
See reviews for
224
563
69
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We travel quite frequently and this hotel is awesome! We stayed here for Labor Day weekend and the hotel was at capacity but we still got a top floor room! It is centrally located and within walking distance of many places. It is across the street from the Trump Hotel (which has a rooftop bar), near Harry Carey's, Dick's Last Resort, etc. From the airport, we took the Orange Line (train) to State and Lake and literally walked about 5 min down the street to the hotel. The train only costs $2.25 per person and the taxi would have cost us about $35, so we saved a lot of money thanks to the hotel's tip! The hotel offers a full breakfast every morning on every floor and they restock it regularly so you don't have to worry about getting there early. It was very comprehensive (not sure why people complained about this in previous reviews)...cereal, milk, o.j., yogurt, bagels, bread, variety of pastries, variety of fruit, coffee, decaf, tea, etc. What more could you want? That saved us money as well. In the evenings from 5:30-7 they host happy hour (with a variety of good alcohol choices) where 2 bartenders will make you whatever drink you'd like and an assortment of food is provided - cheeses, meats, bruschetta, pasta salad, breads, etc. and you are not limited, you may go back as many times as you want.
The rooms are very nicely appointed..desk and chair, chair w/ottoman, flat screen tv, bathroom is really nice-travertine tile, no dirty grout in the shower, vanity mirror, aveda products.
The day bellmen deserve kudo's they are always helpful and will find an answer for you if they don't know. We were trying to find out how to get to the Chicago Trolley stop and the bellman didn't know but he went in the back to get a map and ask someone. I feel that the bellman are more welcoming and helpful than the concierge team. I would think that the concierge team would be more welcoming towards the guests, but I didn't feel comfortable approaching them for any question b/c they didn't look approachable, sort of like they were being bothered, so I always asked the bellmen questions. So if I had to rate them, they would be rated low compared to everything else at the hotel. Management, if you are reading this, please train your concierge staff.
Taxi's anywhere downtown were pretty cheap, so that is another reason I'm very happy with the location of this hotel, Navy Pier only cost us $5.25 (without tip).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The welcoming was really nice, and the staff was very warm for my whole stay (4 nights). Free breakfast bar at each floor is very convenient. My room was a 2 double beds and was very nicely furnished/ designed. The hotel itself is well located downtown Chicago, and you can easily walk from there to many restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a chic, simple hotel very near to Michigan Ave. We also walked to Navy Pier, but it was a bit long..however there is a free shuttle. Very friendly staff and they allowed us to check in early. The lobby is very basic, but the hotel is clean and extremely reasonable for Chicago. I will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for selecting the Amalfi Hotel Chicago for your visit to Chicago. It is a pleasure to know that the front desk was friendly and accommodating during your stay.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Knowing that we were able to make your stay hassle-free is rewarding and we hope that you come back to visit soon.

Many thanks,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I planned a trip to Chicago for our anniversary. We checked out many hotels using TripAdvisor, and based on other user ratings we chose the Amalfi. We LOVED it! Here is a quick list of pros and cons....

Pros-
- quick check in
- great staff, helpful, friendly! Everytime we exited we were asked if we needed help getting anywhere and when we returned, we were always greeted!
- the breakfast was delicious and convenient.
- great location, within walking distance to many attractions
- room was clean and the bed was comfortable
- Manager's reception was a real treat!!
- Check out was quick and efficient!

Cons -
- although the wi-fi was free...it did not work well on the 5th floor where our room was
- expensive valet parking (expected in the city) but in and out privledges were nice

As you can see, the pros far outweigh the cons! Great place to stay and we would definitly stay there again when we visit Chicago! Well done Amalfi staff and management - You have a wonderful hotel and made our trip very memorable!

Room Tip: wi-fi seems to work better on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Amalfi Hotel is a great place to stay in the downtown area--good central location and just a few blocks from the Riverwalk area near the Trump Tower. Rooms are tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. The beds and especially the pillows were wonderful. A complimentary breakfast bar is provided on each floor across from the elevators and the complimentary appetizers and drinks beginning at 5:00 p.m. in the lounge on the sixth floor were a real treat. In addition, all the employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again on another Chicago trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very trendy, modern atmosphere with a complimentary cocktail hour and continental breakfast. Staff were friendly. I called the "experience designer" before we arrived to ask about what to do in Chicago, and she was extremely helpful. Located in the middle of downtown. I would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m very pleased to see you had a pleasant stay at the Amalfi Hotel Chicago. It is our delight to offer you convenience and attention. Please know that we greatly appreciate your commendation!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. My team appreciates your feedback and we would love to welcome you back to Amalfi Hotel Chicago.

Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.