We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The welcoming was really nice, and the staff was very warm for my whole stay (4 nights). Free breakfast bar at each floor is very convenient. My room was a 2 double beds and was very nicely furnished/ designed. The hotel itself is well located downtown Chicago, and you can easily walk from there to many restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    949
    393
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
218
549
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a chic, simple hotel very near to Michigan Ave. We also walked to Navy Pier, but it was a bit long..however there is a free shuttle. Very friendly staff and they allowed us to check in early. The lobby is very basic, but the hotel is clean and extremely reasonable for Chicago. I will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for selecting the Amalfi Hotel Chicago for your visit to Chicago. It is a pleasure to know that the front desk was friendly and accommodating during your stay.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Knowing that we were able to make your stay hassle-free is rewarding and we hope that you come back to visit soon.

Many thanks,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I planned a trip to Chicago for our anniversary. We checked out many hotels using TripAdvisor, and based on other user ratings we chose the Amalfi. We LOVED it! Here is a quick list of pros and cons....

Pros-
- quick check in
- great staff, helpful, friendly! Everytime we exited we were asked if we needed help getting anywhere and when we returned, we were always greeted!
- the breakfast was delicious and convenient.
- great location, within walking distance to many attractions
- room was clean and the bed was comfortable
- Manager's reception was a real treat!!
- Check out was quick and efficient!

Cons -
- although the wi-fi was free...it did not work well on the 5th floor where our room was
- expensive valet parking (expected in the city) but in and out privledges were nice

As you can see, the pros far outweigh the cons! Great place to stay and we would definitly stay there again when we visit Chicago! Well done Amalfi staff and management - You have a wonderful hotel and made our trip very memorable!

Room Tip: wi-fi seems to work better on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Amalfi Hotel is a great place to stay in the downtown area--good central location and just a few blocks from the Riverwalk area near the Trump Tower. Rooms are tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. The beds and especially the pillows were wonderful. A complimentary breakfast bar is provided on each floor across from the elevators and the complimentary appetizers and drinks beginning at 5:00 p.m. in the lounge on the sixth floor were a real treat. In addition, all the employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again on another Chicago trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very trendy, modern atmosphere with a complimentary cocktail hour and continental breakfast. Staff were friendly. I called the "experience designer" before we arrived to ask about what to do in Chicago, and she was extremely helpful. Located in the middle of downtown. I would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m very pleased to see you had a pleasant stay at the Amalfi Hotel Chicago. It is our delight to offer you convenience and attention. Please know that we greatly appreciate your commendation!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. My team appreciates your feedback and we would love to welcome you back to Amalfi Hotel Chicago.

Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is very nice, a good value and worth a look whether you are in Chicago for business or pleasure. Amalfi is located in the RiverNorth area which is just north of downtown. This area has many restaurants and bars/pubs. It is close to many activities if you came for fun. Walking distance to State street and magnificent mile (shopping) downtown and a little longer walk to art institute and grant park/ millennium park. Bed was very comfortable. Staff very attentive to our requests. The hotel has free continental breakfast which was decent. It also has a free happy hour every day with appetizers, which was also decent (no rot gut booze). Hotel has free wifi which is a plus since most places
charge $15 or so per day. It also provides USAToday during the week. The decor is modern. Rooms are clean and a good size with all the typical amenities, desk, charging station, minibar and safe. A nice touch is they have a couple of books fi you want to read and several music cds if want music. There is a work out room with up to date
equipment. Very happy with this hotel and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Booked last minute and got better rate at booking.com so check the sites for best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Things started off great because we arrived early in the morning and were looking to have them watch our luggage until check-in time and they let us check in to our room right then and there. We loved the location, close to everything and mere steps from lots of good restaurants. The room and bed were comfortable, very quiet because there was no AC unit whirring away in the wall - it is centralized, but you still have local temperature control, nice. Liked the Aveda bath products. Never checked out the cocktail reception because we stopped by the first night and there was a big lineup and we were too tired to make that much effort. Having breakfast available on each floor was also a great convenience each morning. Staff were very helpful and I'm amazed at how good the room was for the price we got. Very clean and no bugs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.