We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked Amalfi Hotel via internet in Australia and were delighted with what we found.

Checking in was quick as we had pre booked . Large rooms with nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Breakfast on your own floor was easily accessable and there where lots to choose from. The happy hour was very popular with drinks and plenty of snacks and gave you the opportunity to meet other guests from various places.
The location was perfect where you could walk to The Loop, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and plenty of restaurants. Staff answered any questions regarding tours & places to visit.
We were able to catch the subway train to the O'Hare airport for $2.25 each which saved us time & money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    390
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
531
67
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was a bit nervous about the hotel because it was not a chain that I was familiar with, but relied on the good Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Enormous suite with full walls of windows - excellent for experiencing the freakishly strong windy summer storm that came and went quickly. Enjoyed the continental breakfast, which is served on each floor every morning and the delicious cookies and lemonade in the lobby in the afternoons. Great location. Evening cocktail reception lovely, but fairly crowded. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Ok. I really wanted to love this hotel. There are so many positive things about it but the negative aspect is too important to simply sweep under the rug.

First, the positives!

1. Location! This hotel is in a perfect location to most of the popular sights and attractions in downtown Chicago. Great restaurants such as Sunda, Mastro's, etc are just around the corner. The nightlife around the hotel is close and happening, if that's what you are going for. More on that in a bit.

2. Transportation. The hotel is very close to the loop so if you need to take the CTA, you are very close.

3. Shopping. The Magnificent Mile is just a short walk from the hotel so you don't really even need a cab to drag all of your spoils back from an epic shopping trip!

4. The Hotel. The hotel itself was nice with great people working the doors and very nice people doing the check in. Jose was our guy and did a very quick, friendly and efficient check in upon our arrival. The one exception was the person we talked to about the noise in one of the rooms next door (see screaming wedding shower below). She was nice but fairly indifferent. I suspect it is because the hotel was full (I was told that by one of the doormen) and she really couldn't do anything about it. It was OK though. All I was really concerned about was whether they were checking out or if we were going to have to listen to them all night again.

Negatives.

1. Noise, noise, noise. The location is VERY noisy. There are a few clubs that are very close to the hotel that were thumping until almost 5am. The PublicHouse was the insanely deafening culprit down on the corner of Lake/State, just below the Amalfi.

Between the clubbing out on the street, the screaming drunks, the multiple wedding parties staying at the hotel, the SCREAMING gaggle of women in the room next to us holding a bachelorette party Saturday night then a wedding shower on Sunday morning, as well as the dozens of kids running up and down the hotel halls early in the morning while their brain dead parents were preparing for checkout, I could have gone to a Cubbies day game and tried to take a nap amongst the bleacher bums and had a better chance of getting some peace and quiet.

It wasn't just a weekend thing, either. The area was just as noisy on Thursday night as it was on Saturday night.

One of the problems you have with the hotel is that it has just 6 floors. Even though it looks like a high rise on all the photos you see, it isn't. There are what seemed like offices up above. So even if you get a room on the "top floor", you are still going to hear all of the chaos going on down on the street all night.

That being said, I know that the club noise and the street noise is not the fault of the hotel. It's just something that is going to happen when you are staying in one of the most vibrant neighborhoods in the 3rd largest city in the US. I only mention it here in this review in case someone is choosing this hotel thinking that they are going to get a good night's sleep. It's not gonna happen, people...

If the loud, drunken nightlife is what you are after, then this place is good for you. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic get away, I would find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Director at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay while visiting Chicago. It’s a pleasure to hear that you found our location and guest services useful during your stay. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you took to review the hotel for other travelers.

We are sincerely sorry for the noise levels that disrupted your sleep. While our location is certainly within one of Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, it’s disappointing to hear that any guest of ours lost sleep. We are currently working with the city to rectify the noise from neighboring establishments and we truly regret to hear that any noise within the hotel was bothersome as well. We apologize for the loud volume of the wedding party and children in the hallway; please know that this is a unique situation and the hotel will continue to make a stronger effort in maintaining a more peaceful environment for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and assure you a more pleasant stay. Please contact me if you would like to further discuss the inconveniences of your visit.

Thank you again for choosing us during your trip to Chicago.

Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We loved the location of the Hotel and the price was reasonable considering downtown Chicago. The rooms were a bit small, but they were clean, and the beds very comfortable. The furnishings seemed a bit dated, but adequate. Bathroom was spacious, and dual shower heads a nice touch.. The evening reception on the sixth floor, is VERY nice. One could almost make a meal with all they offer. The morning contintental breakfast is adequate, nothing special, but nice. In my opinion what made this visit so nice, was the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Check in was a little confusing (I think some issues with booking multiple rooms/people on their website). After that though we all loved it. Large rooms, nice bathrooms, and very comfy beds! Breakfast on your own floor was very convenient and the hours were good for both early birds and late risers, and lots of choices!
The evening cocktail hour was very popular but well organized with nice drinks and snacks. The staff showed a lot of grace under pressure.
The location was perfect. Close to The Loop, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and tons of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I visited Chicago many times, but this time decided to bring our little dog along for a weekend get away in Chicago. This hotel is conveniently located downtown near the Chicago River. It is a very nice hotel, something you would choose even if you don't travel with your dog. Only the 2nd floor allows dogs, which is too bad for dog owners, as there is no real high rise view. The hotel personnel is friendly to dogs and welcomed our dog. They also offer dog sitting if you choose to dine without your pooch. You can leave your dog in the room if you leave him crated. This hotel offers complimentary happy hour (munchies and drinks) and also complimentary breakfast on every floor. We had a very nice stay at this hotel and our pooch really, really enjoyed her stay. Every Sunday there is a "canine" cruise which was very interesting to take. An hour and a half of cruising down the Chicago River and out on Lake Michigan.It is the same as the regular architectural cruise, except pooches are allowed. Very nice! We all had a good time.

Room Tip: far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. This is a cute boutique hotel. Small and cozy. Close to the Chicago Theatre and many other attractions. My only complant is the breakfast... Mini bagels and mini coffe cakes, apples, yogurt. Not what I expected for breakfast. But overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.