We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOTEL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME HOTEL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Almalfi Hotel is the best. My husband and I stayed there for a long weekend in July. Not only is the location perfect for visiting this great city, it also provided us a free breakfast as well as a coctail party at nite. The room was clean and comfortable easy to walk to and from all areas of interest. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Almalfi exceeded our expectations and when we return we will bei looking to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    952
    393
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
219
550
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed five nights and loved the hotel. The service was excellent. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The breakfast (near the elevators on each floor) was very good and well stocked. The evening reception (from 5:30 - 7:00 each day) with wine and mixed drinks was also very nice.

The location is convenient to many bars and restaurants as well as close to train and bus stops. Taxis in the area were plentiful as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at the Amalfi. We checked in early and the concierge held our bags until our room was ready. The room was perfect for 2 adults. The housekeeping staff was excellent and always left extra towels or toiletries when we left a note. The breakfast was perfect and saved us time and money having to get something in a restaurant. We only had one opportunity to go to the reception due to our schedule but that was very nice as well. Free drinks and various appetizers, meats and cheeses. The front desk staff, bellhops and the doormen was very accommodating and were always friendly when asking for directions or suggestions. The location is great; you can walk to the Navy Pier in about 15-20 minutes or hop on a bus that is only about a 3 block walk. The Red Line and Blue Line are very close as well. Also, Michigan Ave. is only about a 15 minute walk. There were many bars, restaurants, convenience stores and drug stores within a few blocks. I have seen people on this site complain about little things that they disliked about this hotel and we just didn't have a negative experience. I travel very frequently but typically stay in chain hotels that are always consistent so I was not sure about the boutique hotel experience but I couldn't have been happier we choose the Amalfi! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We enjoy the hotel and it's location. Literally dozens of restaurants to choose from within a 3 block area. The hotel is always quiet, clean, and easily accessible. Having the continental breakfast on each floor is a plus along with the evening complimentary cocktail hour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Don't book another hotel!!!!!! Amalfi is the best place to stay in Chicago in my opinion for price, service and overall service. This trip I did stay at another hotel for 1 night and it didn't even come close to what I experience at the Amalfi. Don't waste your hard earn money anywhere else. Single people you will meet alot of people at the hotel and the local bars nearby so you definitely won't be bored.

April Jones

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Amalfi is in a great central location, you can walk to virtually everywhere. The service is fantastic. Staff is helpful, quick and very friendly. Hotel is clean and QUIET. We didn't hear our neighbours once. Great value, great amenities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - couples, families, business travellers.
Special thanks to Greg the bellman, good luck with your theatre career!

Room Tip: The 6th floor corner is ideal, no-one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed one night at the Amalfi hotel while visiting friends. The location, right in the heart of the city, simply can't be beat.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful upon check-in, and I liked the very efficient check-out procedure, whereby the hotel charges your credit card on the morning of your scheduled departure and slips the printed invoice under your door. The invoice invites you to stop by reception on your way out if you have incurred any additional charges, but otherwise you can simply leave when you are ready.

There was one minor maintenance issue in my room upon check-in (a toilet that would not stop running) which was fixed within half of an hour of my reporting the problem. The room itself was nicely furnished and the bed & pillows were very comfortable.

A couple ''extras'' which I quite liked were the plate of fresh chocolate chip cookies in my room upon arrival & the free coffee & pastries on every floor for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.