We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cyber Monday Savings!
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Peters, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

My friend and I spent a couple weeks researching hotels in Chicago for my daughter's 30th birthday trip for 2 adult mother/daughters. For this trip, I was looking for a boutique hotel w/ a modern feel that had queen size beds (I was amazed that most hotels still have full size beds in their double rooms). Also on my pre-requisite list was some sort of breakfast. We found at the Amalfi, both a breakfast until 10 a.m. on each floor (!) but also an evening happy hour, that went from 5 till 7 p.m. The breakfast had yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, cereal - more than adequate. Happy hour had snacks, wine, beer & mixed drinks (high end liquor). What a life saver after a full day of shopping! Robes and slippers were provided in rooms, and there were several people wearing them to the breakfast area. Now to the staff: I can't say enough about them! From the inititial reservation to checking in, to help from the concierge, to the bell staff... they were all great. The attendants at happy hour were very nice (but busy!), and sent a nice surprise to our room later for my daughter. We've previously stayed at the comparable Raffaello, but the breakfast, happy hour and size of beds made the Amalfi a better value for this trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    414
    96
    25
    12
See reviews for
231
577
73
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Its been five days since I've left the Amalfi and I miss it with a passion. I loved the location which can is close to prime shopping locations, and the friendly staff. Although the Amalfi is situated in the middle of downtown Chicago you can easily walk to the subway and check out a different scene. I should also note that you can walk to the blue line subway from Amalfi that takes you to the airport. That was very helpful and I saved a lot on cab fair.

In short the Amalfi is an ideal hotel. The beds are comfy, free breakfast, and cocktails were, of course, a bonus but the convenience and exceptional staff make the Amalfi a top hotel in Chicago. I will be back.

Room Tip: take the blue line train to downtown chicago
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Amalfi over Easter weekend and all I can say is "wow". I bowled over by not only the service but also the amenities, location, rooms and staff. It was a first romantic get away for us and staying there made it that more special. In fact it was a nearly perfect weekend thanks in part to our accommodations.

The concierge recommended some jazz and blues clubs nearby and even provided some coupons for us. Be sure to ask for t

I am having company come in from out of town in a couple of months and we will be staying there again.

Thank you, thank you, thank you

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We got a really good deal at this hotel so I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and it was so nice. The bedroom and bathroom were both large and clean and the bed very comfy. It is located right near the Trump hotel and just a short walk to the main attractions such as Millennium Park. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My family loved this hotel and we would stay here again. Great location and staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I booked this hotel for a business trip + vacation w/ my wife. Our criteria -- good location, low price, free breakfast ('cause the company only covers mine), and free drinks ('cause they don't cover that!). We also spent a night at the Embassy Suites, which also met our criteria, for comparison.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Amalfi. The room was nothing special, but the location was great! Lots of walkable restaurants and nightlife nearby. Easy walking distance to all the tourist attractions, subway, etc. Tip: if you arrive by train, be sure to take the $2 water taxi from the train stations directly to the Trump Towers next door to the Amalfi.

What really set this hotel apart from others was their free happy hour! They served up good drinks made from top-shelf (well, at least mid-shelf) liquor, along with a couple of signature drinks. They also had a good selection of cheese, bruschetta, meats, etc. to snack on each night. Yeah, the lounge got a bit crowded, but never uncomfortable. We were always able to find a seat.

The free breakfast was fine, but not as good as it looks in the pictures. It was convenient to have it set up on each floor, but it was definitely "continental", with few choices for protein. Tip: grab a couple of pieces of ham and cheese from the happy hour, throw 'em in your mini fridge at night, and you can create your own breakfast sandwich in the morning when they put out the croissants and bagels.

Oh, one more thing... Before we arrived, we posted to their Facebook page. Our first evening, they hand-delivered a plate of really good chocolate chip cookies and a handwritten note thanking us for our Facebook post. I don't know if everyone gets the cookies, but the personalized comment impressed us.

Comparison w/ Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown: Amalfi had a much better happy hour and better service. The free internet was nice, too. Guests at the Amalfi were definitely younger and more "professional", and the decor was more upscale. The Embassy Suites had better rooms and a better breakfast, but seemed to cater more to families and leisure travelers. Locations were about equal -- they're only a couple of blocks apart. I would stay at either hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Hotel is located in a perfect location. Five minute walk from the Subway station and buses run right by the hotel. Not noisy, at least from the 6th floor. We reserved a corner room on the 6th floor (the "no pets" floor) and it was great. I highly recommend a corner room for the small extra charge. Our room was large with massive corner windows overlooking the Trump Hotel. Excellent bed. Very clean and modern. There's a small bar fridge in the room that you can take the liquor items out of an put your own stuff into. I think larger fridges are available for extra charge if you need it. Free internet.

Breakfast is served on each floor. Cold continental, but good. Good variety. The complimentary cocktails in the evening is great as well. Excellent drinks and lots of cold and hot hors d'oeuvres served in the lounge.

Very close by are several popular bars/clubs that are packed at night. Lots of restaurants, including a small pizza joint for a quick takeout snack late at night. Also a couple of convenience stores around the corner.

Next time we go to Chicago, we'll stay there again. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room, 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.