We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The view from our room was awesome, facing Michigan Ave. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly. My only complaint was valet parking was expensive, but I'm sure that has more to do with the city tax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to write this outstanding review on your recent guest experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Michigan Avenue view, clean room and friendly staff. As a note of disclosure, our valet parking rates are price-competitive with other neighboring hotels and properties in the downtown Chicago area. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    507
    236
    110
    68
See reviews for
234
555
118
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel was nice and in a good location. There were some broken things in the bathroom and overall the room was okay. The hotel seemed pretty empty at the time. I visited the bar for a few drinks but it was basically empty. 4 beers on tap with 2 local options which was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to warm up during the dreaded "polar vortex" and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! So that we can ensure the broken items mentioned in your review have since been taken care of, please contact us at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com to let us know of your room number. Thanks again for your review; we hope to see you for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Recently spent two nights at this hotel at a reasonable rate for the location. Rooms were contemporary, not large, but comfortable. Only negative - no view. Right on Michigan Ave, it's close to Millenium Park and North Michigan Ave. for shopping. Chucks restaurant had a variety of choices for all meals, and won the Iron Chef Burger contest on the Food Network. Two bars, one late-night offer choice for imbibing. Younger clientele, lots of tattoos, but friendly staff.

Room Tip: No views unless facing Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your recent trip to the Windy City! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable guest rooms and your dining experience in our restaurant, Chuck's: A Kerry Simon Kitchen. The Iron Chef burger is one of our most popular menu items and is certainly quite the sandwich sensation! We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance from all major attractions in the city. The room was small, but really nice and spacious enough for 2 people. My fiance proposed here and got the hotel to prepare the room with champagne, flowers, chocolate covered strawberries and they did an awesome job! It was very romantic =) Everyone was super nice and gave us some really cool suggestions of places to eat and things to see too. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
WOW! Congrats on your recent engagement; we're absolutely thrilled and honored to hear that your fiancé chose Hard Rock Hotel Chicago as the place for your proposal and hope it went above and beyond your wildest dreams! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the romantic surprises that made your guest experience so special and wish you both a lifetime of happiness! We look forward to welcoming you two lovebirds back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The Hard Rock Chicago was not impressive at all. The rooms are very dark, old and run down. The staff was courteous and professional. There is not a lot of options for room service. -- The best option on the menu was the burger. This is definitely not a four star hotel, but if you get it for a good price ($80 or less per night), the location makes up for it. Overall, the Hard Rock Chicago is just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central downtown location and received courteous, professional and highly attentive service from our staff, we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience with us. Should you decide to reserve an encore stay with us, please keep in mind that we very recently launched a more enhanced in-room dining menu with delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner options sure to please any palate. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I realize this is a "niche" hotel, but is very dark decorated in hues of gray & purple. Not very welcoming in Chicago in January when it is cold & gray outside. That being said, the rooms are clean & quiet. The location is great. This is the 2nd year we have been here for an event, and on a big day the showers are warm but not hot. Not so bad the rest of the week.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we're very happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and quiet and enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, we are very sorry that the purple and gray décor was not to your liking. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

for the price you pay you should have a room as picture the Internet show them. The picture show big Rumi colorful rooms. My room was very dull. It was more like staying at a Motel 6 then a 4 or 5 star hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We are very sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss this matter in further detail, please email us directly: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.