We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a tourist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location for a tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel is very central for doing most of the tourist things in Central Chicago, being only a few hundred meters form the river and on the main avenue. We had a corner room on the 15th floor , which gave a great view.
The Room was quite spacious and comfortable , but it didn't wow us, the theming in the public areas was more interesting and we ended up taking the lift to different floors and walking up/down each time we returned to see the different exhibits. The period architecture of the public space on the lower floors is also very interesting.

We took breakfast there for the 3 days we stayed and Lila was a most friendly waitress , who gave us some great advice on how to do things in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    459
    212
    99
    58
See reviews for
202
498
109
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend recently retired from Atlanta Fire Department we chose a weekend stay at The Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. The hotel was central to downtown entertaining, dinning and the Magnificent Mile experience. The view of Michigan Avenue from 16th floor of the hotel was EXTRAORDINARY. Subsequent this great weekend delight this hotel is highly recommended and definitely a MUST stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything was satisfactory. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable but almost every thing was gray. So, the decor was kind of drab. The bathroom fixtures looked a little dated. The hotel is in a nice location on Michigan Ave just off the river. My only real complaint is that valllet parking was $60, which was a third of the cost of the room. I know I'm in downtown Chicago, but that just seems ridiculous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The decor alone hade pulling out my camera every other step! The room had a great view! Each floor was themed, the restaurant downstairs has the best breakfast I've had in a long time, the staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to go. I would definitely enjoy another stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently hosted our wedding at the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and could not have asked for anything better! This hotel is in such a unique building and a fantastic location. The inside is very cool with lots of rock and roll memorabilia and cool lighting and finishing. Then you have the fabulous Michigan Ave. right at your doorstep for fantastic photos outside! The staff there is so friendly. Everyone is willing to help you and make sure your stay is perfect. I would highly recommend this venue for anyone who is looking for a fun, unique but elegant wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a 2 day stay here for a wedding with our 6 year old and 2 year old.
They had the crib set up in the room before we got there.
The beds had down pillows and blankets, but housekeeping was quick to change themn

The elevators were painfully slow. I waited 5 minutes for it one time.
The stay was pleansent and un-eventful. The bar downstairs was fun one evening.
Good location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Recently attended a wedding at the Hard Rock and decided to stay overnight rather than make the long drive back north to the suburbs. Could not have been more pleased with the hotel. Check-in was extremely easy, room amenities and decor were great, pre-wedding drinks and snacks at Chuck's were delicious and wedding was amazing. Great reception room, drinks and food!

Highly recommend Hard Rock for an overnight stay in the city -- great location and staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Amex, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.