We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, great location, fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 169 hotels in Chicago
haslett michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, great location, fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. The location is terrific...we were able to walk to theatre, to wonderful restaurants, to Millenium Park, to the Art Institute, to the Museum of Contemporary Art,...Without a doubt, the staff here was absolutely the nicest, friendliest, most helpful etc of any of the hotels we've stayed (and we have been to Paris, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Rome etc) plus lots and lots of hotels in USA., (never at Hard Rock) The Hard Rock Chicago staff beats them all. One minor issue: what genius decided it was cool to have the toilet paper across the room from the toilet??? However, the fact that this hotel charges $18.50 a day for internet service is totally outrageous!!!! It is unnecessary and frankly, insulting. We are so grateful to the wonderful folks at the adjacent Chuck's Manufacturing who allowed us to occasionally check emails etc without our having to find a Starbucks. Bravo to Trevor Gould!
We are senior citizens, and were concerned about being too old for this hotel, but we were treated with nothing but respect. We go to Chicago often, and would love to return to this hotel, but the ridiculous internet charge may deter us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location in close proximity to local attractions including Millennium Park and the Museum of Contemporary Art. We're also excited to hear that you were able to enjoy our newest restaurant, Chuck's Manufacturing. Being such seasoned travelers, we are especially pleased to hear that our staff treated you both like rock stars. As a note of disclosure, we do offer complimentary WiFi to guests who book reservations directly through our website through a program we call "Wi-the-Fi Not." We hope you will keep that in mind the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. Thanks again for your review!


Without a doubt, the staff here was absolutely the nicest, friendliest, most helpful etc of any of the hotels we've stayed (and we have been to Paris, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Rome etc) plus lots and lots of hotels in USA., (never at Hard Rock) The Hard Rock Chicago staff beats them all. One minor issue: what genius decided it was cool to have the toilet paper across the room from the toilet??? However, the fact that this hotel charges $18.50 a day for internet service is totally outrageous!!!! It is unnecessary and frankly, insulting. We are so grateful to the wonderful folks at the adjacent Chuck's Manufacturing who allowed us to occasionally check emails etc without our having to find a Starbucks. Bravo to Trevor Gould!
We are senior citizens, and were concerned about being too old for this hotel, but we were treated with nothing but respect. We go to Chicago often, and would love to return to this hotel, but the ridiculous internet charge may deter us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    708
    466
    216
    102
    59
See reviews for
212
519
113
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If arriving into O'hare airport take the CTA train (blue line) to Clark/Lake, exit and turn left walk up 4 blocks and turn left and your at the Hard Rock hotel. Its in the old carbide & Carbon building with the real gold on the top, it really is real gold and its located on Michigan Ave. The hotel itself was nice and check in very quick, my room was on the 22nd second floor and was a corner room. I had views to the bay and to the city on the other side, the room was fantastic and i loved it. The hotel itself is in a great locator and close to a lot of the great sights in Chicago (the bean, hancock building, millennium park). Overall i had a great stay at the Chicago hard rock and would stay here again, if your into architecture take the Wendella boat cruise which is located just over the bridge when you exit the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
WOW! Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such outstanding feedback on your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic home in the beautiful Carbide and Carbon Building on Michigan Avenue. We're also very pleased to hear that you loved your corner room overlooking the city. We look forward to seeing you back for a return visit. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I paid our first visit to Chicago and stayed at the Hard Rock. We were quickly assigned to a room on the 23rd floor. The room was spacious and clean, although a bit dark. It could do with a bit better lighting.
The hotel is in a wonderful location at Dearborn and Michigan.
we took the orange line from Midway Airport which got us there very quickly. Just around the block was the hotel. very close to Millenium park, the Art Institute and plenty of shopping.
When needed, the staff were very good.
Chicago was a wonderful place to visit and would love to return. Would have no problem staying at the Hard Rocknagain, if the price was right!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for spending your first visit to Chicago with us. We're thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your spacious and clean room on the 23rd floor in addition to our central location in close proximity to Michigan Avenue shops and restaurants, Millennium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe king room (floor 21). Good location, short walk to Millenium Park, shopping, trains, etc. Room was just average, nothing really interesting at all minus the rock and roll decor. Bar is not bad for a cocktail and some music later in the evening. Did not try restaurant. Just an average hotel, nothing too special but got a great deal and couldn't pass it up. Great bellhops out front who catch cabs for you. Friendly staff and good location. Would stay here again but only if I got a deal. Not a bad stay in Chicago though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this four-star review with us! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our deluxe King room on the 21st floor. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and close to downtown, CBD, magnificent mile and the bay all in walking distance. There are loads of restaurants and bars all in close proximity. i.e Mortons, Webber, Flemmings etc etc.
The room itself was comfortable and ok, Although I was fairly high up I could still hear the construction happening outside. broadband is available but you have to purchase it to use it.
The staff were really friendly and always willing to help with any query.
There is a fairly decent gym which i used which was great.
The snack bar \ restaurant was ok, staff were excellent, had a fairly good breakfast offering.
I would recommend this hotel for its proximity to key tourist attractions as well as the CBD. Rooms are comfy, nice hotel decor, friendly staff. Price was OK to compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Get a high room, as its quieter :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such thorough feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location in downtown Chicago, friendly and helpful staff, Body Rock workout facility and modern musically-inspired decor. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in many Chicago hotels over the years on business trips. Best hotel in this area bar none. Great location, comfy rooms, good food are all par for the course. It's the rock memorabilia that sets it apart. Although it can be difficult taking a p**s when Bowie or Lennon are looking down at you! Even non music loving colleagues enjoy staying here. No competition in my mind although the valet parking is on the pricey side.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
WOW! Dylan, thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to tell us about your guest experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy our Michigan Avenue location, rock memorabilia, comfortable rooms and restaurants to the point that you consider us THE BEST hotel in Chicago. What a great compliment! We look forward to your return visit so that we can deliver you with another authentic experience that rocks. Thanks again for the outstanding review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

If you find a good price for a room then take it but otherwise nothing to write home about
AC/heat did not work
We have a party of 21 rooms and all of us complained that the rooms were all too warm and the AC would not work.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us; we only wish we had left you feeling more impressed during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you could not seem to find a comfortable temperature in your room; thank you for bringing this our attention so that we can better address this issue. We truly value and appreciate your review - thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.