We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really does rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“This hotel really does rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arrived at 1030 am so we were way before check in. Instead of making us check our luggage they allowed us to get into a room right away. We were even upgraded. Our room and view were fantastic. It was myseld my wife and our three kids. At night we asked for a roll away bed and were brought one right away. Even that bed was very comfortable. We have traveled a fair amount from Vegas to the Caribean and Mexico. My 10 year old son told me this is the coolest hotel he has ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are able to get a Michigan ave view do it because it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    508
    238
    110
    68
See reviews for
235
558
118
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Location is outstanding. Staff very courteous, if you a guitar player take advantage of the picks program. I had my own Fender Tele that they lent me with and amp to play free if charge during my entire stay of 6 days. Nice touch. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We couldn't ask for better feedback - thanks so much for sharing this outstanding review on your stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're especially thrilled to hear that you took advantage of our unique Picks program, which allows our guests to jam out on guitars in their rooms free of charge. We hope to see you back to jam out again with us soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy,MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Hard Rock Chicago. The Hotels is in close proximity to all that Chicap offers. Walking distance up and down the Golden Corridor, to the EL and bus transportation nearby. On a beautiful day we even walked to the museum campus / Soldier Field along the lake shore.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom products were nice. The Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch....but really..why only 1 k-cup of coffee?? There was one of tea and decaf ...but really...it was a room for 2...why only one cup of coffee??? bad move.
There were photos and memoribilia of rock stars throughout the hotel, in rooms and hallways, which is cool. However, I felt that John Lennon, the photo in our bathroom, was looking right at me as I stepped out of the shower!.....Not that I minded :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for staying with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago; we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property's close proximity to the restaurants and shops along the heart of the Magnificent Mile, the Keurig coffee maker in your room and the photo of John Lennon in your bathroom! We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent room with partial view of Millennium Park. Terrific biz center for larger screen web surfing. Phenomenal staff even accommodated morning early check in. Unbeatable location to loop el stops 1-2 blocks away and everything around the river

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for posting this outstanding review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room with a Millennium Park view, business center amenities and the phenomenal service you received from our staff (they're awesome!) We couldn't ask for better feedback and do hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first visit tithe Windy City (last October) and after much research decided to stay here. A bit difficult to find (from the tube/train stop) as a newbie but once found easy to get to again. Bit of a wait to check in but staff apologised and gave a voucher for free drink in the bar - nice touch
One of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and towels smelt of coffee - just lovely. a place that was probably trying hard to be really cool and seemed to work for some guests - but that apart a good place to stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your visit with us; we're thrilled to hear you slept like a rock in our comfy beds! Thanks for providing your feedback and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay here even if it was only for a few nights. It was right in the heart of downtown Chicago in a nice area. Our room had beautiful views of the city lights. The restaurants were amazing. One thing I was disappointed in was the music was playing so low thru-out the hotel you could barely hear it. If your a light sleeper, you can hear fire Sirens all night long. Maybe it was just the location of our room. We were almost on the top floor though. The beds were comfortable and rooms nicely furnished.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our ideal Michigan Avenue location and the overall musically inspired vibe and quality of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for the Thanksgiving holiday. We found a great deal through the HardRock website. The service was excellent as soon as we checked in to when we checked out. My best friend came to visit me so we ate at Angels and Kings and the service was better than what I expected. I didnt expect much since it was just us having a little food and drinks. The price of the hotel was worth it especially since we ended up spending money on room service. You definitely get a 5 star quality experience here. If you are wondering we got a King room and I could see the Bean!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First and foremost, thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving holiday at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We're beyond delighted to hear that you received outstanding, high-quality service from our staff at the hotel and Angels & Kings and you and your husband enjoyed the Millennium Park view from your platinum King room! Thanks again for taking the time to post this review; we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
#75 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.