We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Surrey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here - family with two teenagers - for a two night city break. We got good prices on Expedia for our king bed rooms which were large and very comfortable with desk, armchair with footstool etc. Bathroom was shower only which was fine by us. We were on 13th floor and outside noise was minimal. We had some noise Friday night from other guests returning in the early hours .. Staff were great,very helpful with booking tours etc. We used the gym - big enough and a nice amenity. We loved the building - probably the prettiest in Chicago- and the art deco elevator lobby. The hotel is very well placed for attractions,shopping,restaurants etc. Our kids liked the rock memorabilia around the hotel and the cool pictures. Loved it!

Ps the Hard Rock Cafe is in a different location. There is a bar in the hotel and an adjoining restaurant/ bar that you can still charge to your room and has a trendy, vibrant feel.

Room Tip: Higher floors quieter,shop around for deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I'm so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your two-night getaway in one of our King room suites on the 13th floor at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post such an incredible review. It sounds like some of the highlights of your stay included our art deco elevator lobby, rock memorabilia throughout our property, helpful staff and close proximity to shops and restaurants along Michigan Avenue. We'd be thrilled to welcome you and your family back the next time you plan another weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    553
    260
    119
    75
See reviews for
259
608
123
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location on Michigan Avenue - easy walking distance to pretty much everything. Room was nice - not very big, but had nice modern furniture, flat screen TV, and a nice bathroom. The staff was terrific. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to post positive feedback on your recent stay with us, John. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location and overall music-inspired vibe of our hotel and more importantly, that you received service that rocked from our team. We hope to welcome you back the next time your business travels take you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rooms are painted dark grey, carpet is black and dark grey and minimal lighting. Bathroom is large with minimal counter space, and all floorspace which was strange. Room is tight with only one desk chair, no where to sit other than on the bed. Icemakers on multiple floors did not work. Room was overpriced ($250), and lobby wasnt anything to write home about. Staff was nice. Dont waste your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us! It looks like you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff during your visit, but you've certainly indicated a few areas where we can improve. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the musically-inspired decor and comfort levels of your room. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you what we're all about. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Chicago for his Bday and I booked the hard rock hotel about 3 months before for 99$ a night. I could not have been more pleased with the place. The views were exceptional, the beds were comfortable. Downstairs in Angels and Demons they play top 40 music and turns into like a little club really cool for hang out at night. The concierge helped us find restaurants we were looking for and it is also in the idle location. Walking distance to millennium mile and the bean. I have no complaints with this hotel and I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a cool stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to surprise your boyfriend for a fun and hip little getaway! I'm so happy to hear your positive feedback on our exceptional city views, friendly and helpful concierge staff and awesome Michigan Avenue location. It's also fabulous to hear that the vibe and music of Angels & Kings was to your liking - I'm looking forward to sharing your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back to our digs again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

our stay was really nice - we had a a bumpy flight down and when we finally arrived everything was perfect..... service was impeccable and everyone was always willing to ask if you needed help. thank you hard rock !

Room Tip: rooms on michigan are loud due to ambulances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an incredible review on your recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, Cindy! I'm thrilled to hear that you received impeccable service from our team and it sounds like you enjoyed a rockin' good time with us - hopefully your positive experience here made the bumpy flight worth it! We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a short trip to Chicago. We only stayed one night. The room was great. We booked a City View King room, and got an amazing deal from Hotwire. The room ended up only being $137 including tax. Comfortable bed, lots of pillows. Views were great from the windows. Had no problems, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks a million for taking the time to submit a review on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. I'm thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your city view King room (and that you snagged such a great deal!) We would be happy to welcome you and your husband back for another quick little getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our stay at Hard Rock was fantastic. The staff was very gracious - went above and beyond our expectations. The concierge employees were patient with my kid and his questions about the train/bus as well as very thorough in their answers. Our room was clean, well decorated, and the bed was comfortable.

We'll be staying at the Hard Rock when we return in six months!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to provide such outstanding feedback on your recent stay with us! I'm delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond (they rock!) and you enjoyed the cleanliness and quality of our rooms. We can't wait to welcome you back in 6 months and look forward to giving you another authentic experience that rocks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.