We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hudson, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My daughters and I stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is in a great location for shopping on the Magnificent Mile and is near wonderful restaurants. The lobby is small, but functional and the Starbucks inside the hotel is a great amenity. We had a room with two double beds that was very spacious and clean. However, what truly put our weekend over the top was a thoughtful gesture by Ryan, who checked us in. He asked if we were visiting Chicago for a special occasion and I briefly commented that it was my daughter's 16th birthday. Upon arriving back from a night of shopping and sight-seeing we discovered that cookies, sodas and some snacks along with a birthday card for my daughter had been delivered to our room. Special touches like this are not the norm nowadays and we are delighted to have found a hotel in Chicago that puts service at the top. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your courteous feedback! It’s our pleasure to host your stay in Chicago and we enjoy hearing how wonderful of a time you had during your stay. We are glad you found our team to be friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean and spacious. You are correct; we are only one stop away from Garrett's Popcorn and half a block from the Magnificent Mile. It sounds like you and your daughters had a wonderful time. Our team works hard to make every guest feel welcome and we are so happy to hear your positive comments. We hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    248
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
162
139
39
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I liked my stay at this hotel quite a bit. The location is excellent, steps from the Magnificent Mile and close to lots of good eateries and shopping. The room was spacious and nicely appointed and, surprisingly, had a fridge and microwave. The fitness center did the trick and I appreciated the Starbucks downstairs. A distinguishing feature for me is that the staff were super friendly and helpful. They really made me feel like a special guest. I had dealings with a couple of doormen, the housekeeping manager (who checked me in--she was downright exuberant in her welcoming, which I loved), and several front desk people. They were all great and deserve kudos.

The only failing I can think of is that the wifi was not good. It may gave been just in my room, but I found that I kept losing the signal and that it was impossible to use when I was in bed. As I needed access for work, it was somewhat annoying to have to lose the signal so often. There would have been no way to use Skype or Facetime, say, which I need to do occasionally when I'm traveling. Nevertheless, there is no question that I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay and found our room’s comfortable, location convenient and staff friendly! Our team works hard to exceed all guest expectations and to make everyone feel at home. Starbucks is always a great pick-me-up when starting the day! We will be sure to share all of your kind and delightful words with our staff. The wireless is definitely a key element especially for those traveling on business so I would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulties you experienced. We have passed along your feedback with our Engineering Department so we can work towards better Wi-Fi connections. We hope to see you again soon and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, a block from the heart of the Magnificent Mile. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Could use a little better lighting and a fan in the bathroom.

The staff is superb! Very friendly and courteous. The woman who checked us in gave us a free upgrade. Woohoo!

We received a fantastic deal from the Courtyard website! $250 for 2 nights that included valet parking with in and out privileges, which is AMAZING if you've ever paid for parking in Chicago...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We appreciate all your kind words regarding our staff and rooms! Our location is perfect for seeing all the best sites in Chicago, close to shopping, and minutes away from the best restaurants! We will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff as it is very much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

After an initial glitch with our reservation (Bookings.com) Shanti at the front desk could not have
been more accommodating to my daughter and I. The rest of the staff was very warm and helpful, too. As a frequent traveler, I would recommend your hotel wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Book directly through Marriott. Same rate, no miscommunications.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We would like to apologize for the troubles you experienced upon check-in! We are so thrilled to hear that you found our staff accommodating and helpful. As a team we strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and we are happy we met all of your needs. We will be sure to pass on your generous comments to our staff. We thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us in the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were there for the kick off the Christmas Season and it was a great stay. The hotel is perfectly located in walking distance of every place you would want to go near the MM and the Navy Pier. Perfect Stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
No better way to kick off the holidays then celebrating the Festival of Lights! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay. We are happy you found our location convenient and easy to access all of Chicago’s great sites! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

First time staying in a hotel in the city. Overall the hotel was good. We stayed on New Year's Eve and check in was very easy and pleasant. We had purchased the room with valet package, and it was the best option best deal. Easy in and out of the hotel with the valet. Upon walking into the room we realized that there was no fridge in the room. Called down to the front desk, fridge was in our room in less than 10 minutes. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Unfortunately, we did experience a bit of noise out in the hallways and from the ambulances of the nearby hospital. But then again, it was New Year's Eve, so it was to be expected. The room was very clean, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The furniture does show a bit of wear and tear, but it's to be expected in a hotel. They can't update after every guest. If you avoid the restaurant downstairs, do so. They were very unpleasant and unaccomodating. Would not recommend or return to Viand. Overall the stay was nice. I would stay again, hopefully with a better view on a higher floor next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile to ring in the New Year! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our valet and staff both convenient and accommodating! We apologize for the experience you had encountered at our restaurant. Our staff works hard to exceed all guest expectations and it is unlikely of our staff to have that type of service. We will be sure to share your comments with our restaurant and bar staff. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback. We can’t wait for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Mills, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Courtyard never disappoints. When we come to Chicago we always do our favorite things -- shopping, restaurants, movies. The Courtyard is close to everything. We can walk to Water Tower to shop and most of our favorite restaurants are either within walking distance or a short cab ride away. (Garrett Popcorn is just steps away.) The rooms are extremely clean, spacious and lovely. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. We've tried other hotels but keep coming back to this Courtyard because there are never any unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: Even if close to elevators, rooms are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. You are correct; we are located right by the hustle and bustle of Michigan Avenue. The smell of Garrett’s Popcorn brushes by just as you walk out our front door. We are so happy to hear you found our rooms spacious and clean. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectations. We can't wait for your next stay with us and we appreciate your loylaty with the Courtyard Marriott Magnificent Mile!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown near the Magnificent Mile. This hotel offers a stylish lobby, spacious guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design, and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our ideal location is just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of event space, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near the Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.