We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal and very close to shopping, Navy Pier, and many restaurants.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good deal and very close to shopping, Navy Pier, and many restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family recently visited Chicago for two nights. The hotel staff was excellent. Our room had two queen beds and a sofa bed. The four of use, including two teenagers, found the room very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool, exercise room, and free wifi. For an extra 20 dollars a night, we booked the room to include breakfast. In addition to hot and cold choices, you can order pancakes and egg dishes off the menu. For $20 a day, this was a great deal. The location was close to Navy Pier and the magnificent mile.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard as your accomodation choice for your two night visit! We are so happy to hear that the extended two queens was a perfect fit for your party of four. It sounds like a perfect room for your party and it's wonderful to hear that it was comfortable for everyone. We will have to share your awesome comments about the restaurant with the team because they recently made some changes to the menu and its always great to hear feedback! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    252
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
165
139
39
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for 4th of July weekend. Staff very friendly and courteous. Rooms are spacious and well kept. Pool was a plus with kids after a long day of walking. Rates were reasonable for that area. Close to sites, Navy Pier,parks, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
From the sounds of everything you had an outstanding 4th of July Weekend! Thank you for letting us be apart of your memorable Holiday. It is great to hear you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. There isn't any better place to be for the fourth of July other than being surrounded by the best shopping, delicious restuarants, and main attractions such as Navy Pier! We hope you will come back again next year and do it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The level of service we enjoyed during a four-night stay was as good (or better) than any hotel we've used in forty years as guests. Every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Great food in the Viand restaurant, truly magnificent waiters and front desk staff (and management) who really care. Five star hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and the rear of the hotel give a view of the Magnificent Mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty. We are so happy to hear your heart warming experience here at our hotel. Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectations and it is very rewarding to hear it from our guests! Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our teams, we will be sure to share this with the appropriate departments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Haven't stayed at this Marriott before so decided to give it a try as there is a Garrett's Popcorn right next door, it's less than three blocks from Lawry's and there's tons of shopping for the ladies in our party.
There's a parking garage attached to the hotel, which is a plus. Unfortunately the hotel has nothing to do with the garage, other than a connecting door, so they won't validate. Cost was about $40 per day.
We went on a Saturday, and the hotel was booked up pretty solid, so we had to wait a bit for our room. No big deal, they collected out cell phone number and actually called when the room was ready...a first for me. Haven't had any Marriott actually follow through on that.
Check in was pretty straightforward, nothing special, room was nice, worth noting the tap water didn't reek and was fairly tasteless, but we still bought bottled water in the market.
We went out most of the evening and didnt get back until late. On the way back we walked past Chicago Fire Department Engine Company 98, a historic company as it's the oldest in the city. Seemed like a quiet night, they were working and cleaning. Boy was I wrong about it being a quiet night.
That Saturday night there had to be at least 20 full light and siren runs. We were on the 23rd floor and well isolated from most of the street noise, but the sirens on the ambulances and fire trucks were unmistakably loud. About 4am I finally downloaded a sleeping app that played rain noise on my phone. It managed to drown out 80% of the siren noise but it was still there.
Checkout was again unremarkable, breakfast at the Viand restaurant was awful; they charge $18 a head for the same hotel food you get as part of your stay at any other Marriott. Sad. But the staff was friendly, fruits were fresh and the coffee was good.
Nice thing about the hotel is the staff is very friendly, we rarely walked past anyone that didnt say hello or ask how we were doing. The rooms appeared to be clean and well kept, there's a tiny Starbucks in the lobby that was always busy, and as noted before the hotel is close to pretty much everything I'm interested in. I'll likely stay here again due to the convenience, but I'll pack ear plugs and eat breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your detailed response. We really value all of the feedback we receieve. Our staff works hard to exceed guest expecations and it is important to us to be able to address any issues. To begin with, please do accept our apologies for the noise level as we are located next to Northwestern Hospital so the sirens do go off sporadically. On the bright side, we are very excited that you were able to enjoy our location despite the noise from the hospital. Unfortuanely, parking in Chicago is costly, however, it is nice to have your car parked in a enclosed safe environment and connected to the hotel. We are also delighted to hear that your check in experience was organized and that we were able to contact you when the room was available. We will be sure to share your thoughts and comments regarding our restaurant with the appropriate department heads. We are very happy to hear that although the minor downsides to your trip you would still be interested in staying with us again. We look forward to have a second chance to show you that we really are a full service Courtyard that takes pride in making our Courtyard the best! We really value your thoughts, thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loranger
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at the Courtyard was great. Arrival and check-in went well. The desk clerk was very through in telling us about the features of the hotel and the area. All staff members were friendly and helpful. The facility is clean and well maintained.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The larger Guest room with the King bed and sofabed are definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your amazing time in Chicago! We are estatic that you had a fabulous stay at our property! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff; our staff works hard to exceed guest expecations and it is always rewarding to hear the positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, in
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is only one block from Michigan Avenue and close to everything. The staff were very professional and friendly. It is more than we traditionally spend on a room but we wanted to be close to everything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying here at the Courtyard. We are delighted to hear about your positive experienece. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our staff, we hope you visit again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayer, mn.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got the extra large 2 queen bed and pull out couch room. The extra room was great, we also had a frig which was nice. The door men were wonderful especially Gabriel was most helpful with apps to find which bus to go on with our phone. Location was great for walking to most places. We were on the 21st floor never heard anyone in the halls or doors closing.

Room Tip: If you need extra room get the ones with the couch in it, its worth the extra price.
See more room tips
Green Features: Shampoo's, and conditioners were in recycled containers.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
There is nothing better than having a girl’s weekend in Chicago! With all of the shopping, restaurants, and attractions, what more could a girl ask for! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the extra large queen beds and the pull out couch. Those are comfortable and perfect for an outing just like yours. Thank you for your comments about our staff, Gabriel, is a strong asset to our team. We are so happy you had a nice and quiet stay. We hope that you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown near the Magnificent Mile. This hotel offers a stylish lobby, spacious guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design, and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our ideal location is just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of event space, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near the Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.