We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everithyng and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close to everithyng and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you can take profit of your time, walking around at Michigan Av, this is the best Hotel. Froim 2 blocks you´re close to Michigan Av, the main one. To the other side, in 30 minutes you can be at Navy Port.
Was really well located with very nice rooms and excelent people to attend you.

Room Tip: They also have a very good garage, if you arrive by car. But is about $40/day. expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our location! We couldn't agree with you more; we love our location because we are in the center of Michigan Avenue. Our Hotel is only steps away from the Magnificent Mile shopping, restaurants, and main attractions. Thank you for your warm comments about our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    232
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
155
134
38
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We will stay at this hotel on our next trip, no doubt! Service was awesome. Attentive, polite, friendly, and amazingly helpful! Can't say enough good things about the staff. Hotel was super clean and comfortable. Loved the pool. Attached garage is very nice. Will try the restaurant on our next visit. Easy walking distance to Magnificent Mile, restaurants, and attractions.

Only negative - would have liked a mini refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
No doubt, we would love to have you back at our hotel! We look foward to you staying with us again. We are so happy that you had an amazing experience with our polite, and friendly staff. Thank you for your awesome review! We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed there for two nights and we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is very good, especially the service and location. I'm sure when I come back to Chicago I will stay there again. I recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience! Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectations and it is so rewarding to hear about your most recent stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at Courtyard Marriott Chicago. Great room, free internet and printing, great TV lineup, nice restaurant on site, friendly staff, convenient parking garage and reasonable room rates with no surprise room charges like some other hotels. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room was so quiet as this is not the main street so probably all rooms are good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are delighted to hear we were able to accomodate your during your stay. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My two daughters, two nieces, and I stayed there for 3 nights last weekend. What a wonderful experience!!! The great things were the location is so close to everything, the very efficient staff, clean rooms, great beds/pillows, the doorman was wonderful (as mentioned before, talk to him about where to go and he will have his business card or coupons for discounts and first in line cards!!!!). We were moved to the front of the line at Gino's and did not pay a covercharge at The Redhead (piano bar) or at the Castle...... WAY TOO MUCH FUN EVERY NIGHT!!!!

I have to say that we unloaded at the wrong Marriott (3 blocks away) and the staff at that location actually rolled our luggage on a rack from that Marriott to the Courtyard......and THEN found the rest of my party who were attempting to leave the first Marriott parking lot..... and jumped in with them to help them get over to the Marriott we were booked at!!!! What a guy!!!! Just wished I caught his name!!!!

Thanks to everyone who made our weekend so fun!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
You're review is full of energy and the Courtyard Loves it! We are delighted to hear you had an amazing time withy our daughters and neices. We thank you for your loyalty and staying with us for three nights. We are so happy you were able to admire our location as much as we do. We love our location; we are in the center of the city surrounded by the most exciting resturants, shopping, and attractions. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff; we work hard to exceed guest expecations and it is always rewarding hearing about your experience. It is so great to hear that your experience hopping from restaurants and bars was easy and convenient because of our concierge and staff. We hope you come back to Chicago to have another fun evening out! Now that the weather is getting better, Chicago only becomes more fun. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was only in Chicago for one night at the Courtyard but it was very clean and was staffed with great people. Despite a large conference in town and a two-night minimum at many other downtown hotels, the Courtyard was able to accommodate me. My room was on the 9th floor and had a nice view of the Allerton Hotel a few blocks over. The doorman was wonderful both times I needed a cab.

The bed was pretty firm - almost too much so. But everything was spotless and in working order.

Overall this was a great place to stay. I paid a Chicago high rate reflecting the lack of available rooms. At a less busy time and a lower rate, this hotel would make a great place to stay in the Downtown/Magnificent Mile location.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you a better view and put you above a lot of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your observations and comments about your recent stay. We really appreciate guest feedback. We couldn't be more grateful fo your comments regarding our staff. We work hard to exceed guest expectation and it is our pleasure to make your experience the most memorable. Thanks for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The courtyard was decently priced and walking distance from everything. Our room was very clean. We had a broken fridge and they replaced it within 5 minutes. The concierges were amazing. So helpful. They also provided us with great coupons for attractions/restaurants in the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our prime location in the center of the Magnificent Mile. Please accept our apologies for the fridge incident, however, it was our great pleasure to replace the fridge during your stay. We will be sure to notifiy the correct departments about how helpful the concierge was during your stay. Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Business Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.