We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay May 1-5, 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Stay May 1-5, 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at Courtyard Marriott Chicago. Great room, free internet and printing, great TV lineup, nice restaurant on site, friendly staff, convenient parking garage and reasonable room rates with no surprise room charges like some other hotels. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room was so quiet as this is not the main street so probably all rooms are good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are delighted to hear we were able to accomodate your during your stay. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    187
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
131
114
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My two daughters, two nieces, and I stayed there for 3 nights last weekend. What a wonderful experience!!! The great things were the location is so close to everything, the very efficient staff, clean rooms, great beds/pillows, the doorman was wonderful (as mentioned before, talk to him about where to go and he will have his business card or coupons for discounts and first in line cards!!!!). We were moved to the front of the line at Gino's and did not pay a covercharge at The Redhead (piano bar) or at the Castle...... WAY TOO MUCH FUN EVERY NIGHT!!!!

I have to say that we unloaded at the wrong Marriott (3 blocks away) and the staff at that location actually rolled our luggage on a rack from that Marriott to the Courtyard......and THEN found the rest of my party who were attempting to leave the first Marriott parking lot..... and jumped in with them to help them get over to the Marriott we were booked at!!!! What a guy!!!! Just wished I caught his name!!!!

Thanks to everyone who made our weekend so fun!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
You're review is full of energy and the Courtyard Loves it! We are delighted to hear you had an amazing time withy our daughters and neices. We thank you for your loyalty and staying with us for three nights. We are so happy you were able to admire our location as much as we do. We love our location; we are in the center of the city surrounded by the most exciting resturants, shopping, and attractions. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff; we work hard to exceed guest expecations and it is always rewarding hearing about your experience. It is so great to hear that your experience hopping from restaurants and bars was easy and convenient because of our concierge and staff. We hope you come back to Chicago to have another fun evening out! Now that the weather is getting better, Chicago only becomes more fun. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was only in Chicago for one night at the Courtyard but it was very clean and was staffed with great people. Despite a large conference in town and a two-night minimum at many other downtown hotels, the Courtyard was able to accommodate me. My room was on the 9th floor and had a nice view of the Allerton Hotel a few blocks over. The doorman was wonderful both times I needed a cab.

The bed was pretty firm - almost too much so. But everything was spotless and in working order.

Overall this was a great place to stay. I paid a Chicago high rate reflecting the lack of available rooms. At a less busy time and a lower rate, this hotel would make a great place to stay in the Downtown/Magnificent Mile location.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you a better view and put you above a lot of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your observations and comments about your recent stay. We really appreciate guest feedback. We couldn't be more grateful fo your comments regarding our staff. We work hard to exceed guest expectation and it is our pleasure to make your experience the most memorable. Thanks for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The courtyard was decently priced and walking distance from everything. Our room was very clean. We had a broken fridge and they replaced it within 5 minutes. The concierges were amazing. So helpful. They also provided us with great coupons for attractions/restaurants in the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our prime location in the center of the Magnificent Mile. Please accept our apologies for the fridge incident, however, it was our great pleasure to replace the fridge during your stay. We will be sure to notifiy the correct departments about how helpful the concierge was during your stay. Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a really great stay here and would definitely stay here again.

You couldn't ask better from the location. You are right in the heart of everything.

Our room was very comfortable and we had a fantastic view of the city.

All levels of hotel staff were friendly and helpful. David in particular (from front desk) was great and got us into a packed out restaurant at a moment's notice.

One thing I think could be improved - the pool. It's a good pool with a lovely view of the city, but it was a little cold while we were in it and seemed like it had a few spots of rust. That aside, I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We couldn't be more thankful for your positive remarks about our hotel. We are glad that you were able to kick back and relax in our comfortable rooms. David, is a great asset to our team, we thank you for sharing your comments about our staff. We also thank you for your observations, we will take these into consideration and notify the correct departments. We are so glad that your stay was so enjoyable, we look forward to your next stay with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location one block off Michigan can't be beat and the staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were clean & comfortable, and the 2 queen with pull-out couch room was large enough for our family of 5. The only down side was that for a room that sleeps 5 the bathroom was way too small: 1 sink in a tiny vanity area. There's a Starbucks off one side of the lobby & a bar off the other side, which is nice after a long day of sightseeing. It's also right next to Garrett's famous popcorn, so you're likely to catch it at a time when the line's not too long. We will definitely stay here again.

Tip: If you want to eat Chicago pizza while you're there, be sure to ask the concierge for the Gino's "speed pass," which bumps you to the front of the very long line & gets you a free appetizer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We couldn't agree with you more; we have a fabulous location in the center of the Magnificent Mile surrounded by a variety of shopping, touring, and restaurants. We are glad that you found your stay comfortable and large. We look forward to your stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for a quick weekend Chicago trip. The hotel is very well situated as a base for a Chicago visit. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are quiet although you will inevitably hear police and fire sirens at different times throughout the night. The only criticism we have is the wireless internet. We were on the 14th floor and as I understand the situation, the wireless access points were on the 13th and 15th floor. We had a hard time getting a decent wireless internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted to hear that the level of service was attentive and helpful. Please do accept our apologies for the internet connection being weak during your stay. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago and come back to visit again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Courtyard Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott
Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.