We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 168 hotels in Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Perfect location. No bells or whistles, but windows opened slightly for fresh air/city sounds which was a nice perk. Nice clean updated room. Close to everything you are staying there for. Lots of good breakfast spots and other restaurants within close proximity. Parking wasn't ridiculous in the adjacent self park ramp or they have valet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Courtyard. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    197
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
137
119
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a quality hotel with a great location. We found the service great and had no problems during our stay. The location close to Michigan Avenue allows you to walk to most locations. There are several quality place to eat within two blocks of the hotel. The shopping is great and Garretts is located down the block. Safety is not a concern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! We love our location too; we are only steps away from the amazing shopping, restaurants, and attractions. We work hard to exceed guest's expectations and it is incredibly rewarding to hear your feedback. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard Magnificent Mile again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A tremendous blend of location, value, and hospitality, this is officially my preferred hotel when staying in downtown Chicago. It's obvious the General Manager stresses the importance of customer service to the staff. Every interaction with a hotel employee was both pleasant and professional. Although I have been to Chicago several times, this was my family's first visit to the Windy City. I'm grateful to the hotel staff for making it a memorable event! By the way, if you're planning on spending all of your time downtown, don't get a rental car....the hotel is in a prime location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We couldn't agree with you more about our General Manager, Jerry Keyes, is a strong asset to our team. We strive to exceed guest expectations. We are very appreciative for your warm comments. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect location, great service, nice rooms, nice work out area, no complaints at all. Had a great late evening dinner at the top of the Hancock building. Not real familiar with Chicago, so I was a little concerned about the late walk back to the hotel. Was not an issue. Short, safe, and very enjoyable evening walk. The hotel is in a really nice area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We couldn't agree more; we love our location. We are in the heart of Chicago with magnificent shopping, restaurants, and attractions. We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy our accomodations. We would love to host your next sta in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on March 2nd to celebrate my mom's 81st birthday. Talk about being treated like royalty ! From the moment we walked into the lobby til we checked out, the service we received from everyone at this property was nothing short of a 5 star hotel. We arrived a bit early before the room was ready, so the staff took our luggage and stored it for us so that we could walk the Magnificent Mile without being encumbered with the suitcases. Because we'd mentioned prior to arriving that we were there for a birthday celebration, we were booked into a beautiful room on the 24th floor. Just after getting settled in, room service arrived with 2 splits of champagne on ice and 3 pieces of the most decadent chocolate dessert ever. What a wonderful welcome surprise ! The room was beautiful, the beds were very comfortable with crisp white linens. The pool on the 10th floor was a nice treat after a long day spent walking and shopping in the chilly temps. Each time we entered or exited the hotel, we were greeted by the most friendly front desk staff and doors were held open for us. This hotel is located just one block from Michigan Avenue, right next to Garrett's popcorn store where the lineup is out the door and down the block ! There is no other hotel I would stay at when visiting Chicago again. Looking at taking my two daughters in May, and this Courtyard is where we'll be stopping.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more magnficient the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm comments. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience during your stay in Chicago. It is our pleasure to make your stay more comfortable and memorable. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago! Happy Belated Birthday to your mother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Why better, because at $149.00 per night, you can not beat the value or location, right off Michigan ave, across from the Capital Grill. Great staff, courtyard room and good for breakfest or fast meal restaurant attached. Perfection for less!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are so happy we are able to accomodate at such a reasonable price in such an amazing location! We are so glad you shared your experience, we hope to host your next stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.