We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #42 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has become our "go to" Chicago hotel several times each year when we visit. You can't beat the location. A block off Michigan Avenue and a short walk to everything in the Magnkificent Mile, River North and Streeterville. The Loop is also a short walk away.

The location is surpassed only by the staff. Everyone, beginning with the valet and the doorman, is friendly and willing to answer any question you might have. Love the rooms on the higher floors, especially those that face west with the lake views or north for the city views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We couldn't be more delighted to be your accomodation choice for Chicago. You are correct; our location is the best! Being located right off of Michigan Avenue with the shopping, restaurants, and main attractions; it's definitely hard to beat! We thank you for your kind words about our staff; we work hard to exceed expecations and its rewarding to hear how it has made an impact on your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to host your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    272
    54
    14
    6
See reviews for
196
142
39
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After researching until I went cross eyed, I finally clicked and made a decision. We stayed just two nights for a couples weekend getaway and I got such a great deal on the rooms when I prepaid in full. Almost unheard of! I was a little nervous about the price being too good to be true, but all of the good reviews were too much of a reason to try it out. All of the staff were very friendly, greeting us each time we came and went. They went out of their way. They even gave us their business cards to try to keep us from waiting in line wherever we were going. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the showers were hot and had great water pressure. One issue we had was the vanity light went out, but the desk sent someone up right away and he fixed it in 10 minutes. Check out was easy and we ate in the hotel restaurant on the last morning because it was raining and that was good as well and the staff was excellent and personable and very friendly. This hotel is close enough to walk to almost everything. We did take a cab one time, but walked the rest! It was a great stay and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with us. We are so happy we were able to accomodate your needs while away from home. It's important to us to exceed guest expecations and we are truly estatic to hear you had such great stay. You are right; we are located in the heart of the city just walking distance from shopping, restaurants, and attractions. We look forward to host your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights at the Courtyard on East Ontario Street and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. I have been coming to Chicago 5 times a year for the past 4 years and have stayed at 15 different hotels all higher end than a Courtyard Marriott. After reading many reviews on this hotel and getting a great price decided to give it a try. The location is obviously amazing one block east of Michigan Avenue, so everything you would want to do or see is practically in walking distance. Upon walking into this small lobby you are immediately greeted with a warm hello (everytime you come in, not just for check in) and welcomed. The front desk staff is friendly and accomodating and willing to please. Lobby is small but nicely decorated and a nice place to sit and have a coffee from Starbucks which is attached to the hotel. The rooms are a nice size, decor similar to other Courtyards I have stayed at in other cities, basic but servicable. The beds were very comfortable, towels are plush and very nice. Complimetary coffee and coffee maker in room made very hot coffee, a plus. Nicely equipped gym on the 10th floor with a pool beside it. I think the best way of evaluating my experience at this hotel is to say that I never went to the front desk other than to check in and check out. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: higher floors will be quieter, less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you! It is wonderful to hear such great comments! We look forward in hosting your next stay to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is located in a great place!! Convenient to everything; restaurants, shopping, historical sites. The hotel amenities and service is stellar but the walls are paper thin so make sure your neighbors are not too loud, but that's unpredictable. Highly recommend corner rooms, higher floors because there are wonderful views, but again, paper thin walls and windows so you can hear the street noises in the early morning hours. Visit the Viand restaurant. Great food and fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Corner, high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We couldn’t agree with you more; we love being located in the center of downtown! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This property is in a GREAT location! It is located 2-3 blocks from Magnificent Mile where you can find plenty of shopping! There is parking located aside the building and a Starbucks in the lobby. In addition there are several resturants including Capital Grille, Chipotle, and an Indian Cuisine<<<they deliver place footsteps away. The hotel is very clean and the workout room is located on the perfect floor for a great view as well!

Room Tip: Depending on the floor, views may vary. High floor for better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for you sharing your feedback. We couldn't agree with you more; we love our location! We are located only steps away from the Magnificent Mile where there are a variety of shops, resertaurants, and main attractions. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to host your next stay in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I will echo the comments of those preceeding, this is well run, clean, great location, and value for both leisure and business travel. Just one-block to the MagMile, and convienent for those going to (visiting) Northwestern Hospital. This particular area of Chicago is not "car friendly", so if you don't need a car, don't rent one to get here. Cabs are plentiful. If you do have a car, parking is easy, but not part of the Hotel, you will pay the going rate (but the Hotel does help if you need "in and out privileges).

Do note, since it is adjacent to the HW Hosp campus, you will exprience the 'sounds' of the Chicago Paramedics headed to the emergency room, not a hotel issue, but just coincidental to this neighborhood, be aware.

The hotel bar is small, but tended well by friendly staff. Lobby is great for waiting and meeting. All rooms are standard "Courtyard" design, but well maintained at or exceeding the Marriott standards. Overall, great choice .... Good Value for a downtown Chicago property.

Room Tip: Go Upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We work hard to exceed guest expecations. We couldn't agree more about our location; we are located in the center of downtown, conveniently located near Chicago's famous shopping, restaurants, and attractions. You are correct; we are located right at Northwestern Hospital. Our bellman and concierge work hard to make ensure cabs are available. Again, we thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good choice, hotel is small not alot of rooms per floor and 3 elevators so didnt have to wait for one long, rooms are decent size and clean. Note to hotel builders I dont mind having the sink outside the bathroom if it is an extra one but with no door when you are with someone and get up during the night there is no way to not turn on the light or not make noise Staff was friendly and efficient check in/out quick even tho they were busy, self park in area lots and save some $ over valet. Nice newer modern hotel reasonable price at times, would stay again. The small hassle of using room card on elevator is worth the security.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the keys not working, however, your saftey is very important to us. It’s always a pleasure to hear your delightful experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown near the Magnificent Mile. This hotel offers a stylish lobby, spacious guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design, and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our ideal location is just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of event space, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near the Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.