We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just had a wonderful stay at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/ Magnificent Mile (made our choice based on the fantastic reviews we read here and in other websites). The location is top- notch. Even though we only spent two nights over there, we were absolutely happy with the service; the people could not have been nicer, always greeted us with a smile and had the best service attitude. Every single person from the hotel staff is truly committed with providing the best service!

The rooms are great, spacious and comfortable. We got a 2-full bed double bedroom with crisp linens and cozy pillows. I'd only wish they offered an in-room safe and mini fridge.
It was awesome to find that they offer free wi-fi connection throughout the hotel and we also printed our boarding passes at the business center in a breeze. There's a Starbucks cafe inside the hotel premises.

We want to thank the hotel staff for making our stay so pleasant. We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for 2 double beds in your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your sincere comments about our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear your delightful experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott. Our team works hard to exceed expectations and there is nothing more rewarding than seeing the warm smile an expression on those we have made an impact on. We hope to see you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    232
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
155
134
38
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel feels new and the staff is very nice. I love the lobby with the fireplace and the hotel is within walking distance of some great places to eat/shop. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable.

Nice option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are so happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay. You are right our hotel is within walking distance of the best shopping and restaurants in downtown Chicago. We welcome you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights on business. My room was a single, but very roomy, very clean with pleasant decor. The bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping did an excellent job - I always came back to a neat, clean room. Every single staff person I had interaction with was extremely friendly and helpful. They were quick to help with suggestions for dining and directions. The in-house restaurant, Viand, had excellent food. Would definitely recommend this place to others. My only caution is that it is located very close to Northwestern Hospital, so if the sound of sirens is an issue, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation for four nights on business. Four nights away from home is really hard; we are so happy you found our rooms comfortable, clean, spacious, and pleasantly decorated. We work hard to meet guest’s expectations; we thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Viand has redesigned their menu so it is great to hear your feedback on how much you enjoyed your experience. You are right we are located in the heart of the city and very close to Northwestern; however, we have rooms that face all directions on the block and we have up to twenty four floors, high enough to mute out any noise. We apologize this was an inconvenience during your stay. It is important to us that you receive full service during your stay and please do let our front office staff know that you prefer a quiet and high floor so next time we can accommodate to your preference. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this hotel several months in advance for Friday night, October 19, 2012. The room price dropped a couple times before our arrival date, and when I called, the price was adjusted each time. The hotel is very clean, the queen beds were comfortable, location is convenient to most places, and the staff is very friendly. We were granted early check-in, immediately brought extra pillows and towels, and a small refrigerator (no charge). Highly recommend when a hotel is needed in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your warm comments about our staff. We are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate early check-in and late check-out requests, in addition to the clean rooms and comfortable beds. It was our pleasure hosting your stay in Chicago. You are correct; our hotel is located in the center of downtown, everything is walking distance from our hotel lobby entrance. We look forward to host your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accomodated my early check in and late check out requests with no problem. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I loved all the pillows that were provided. The location near Water Tower, Michigan Ave shopping and the Lurie Children's hospital made it easy to find whatever you wanted to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. The month of October was very busy in the city of Chicago. Our team works hard to meet guest expectations and we are delighted to give you the experience you need. It was our pleasure hosting your stay while in Chicago. We hope to see you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visit Chicago often and always stay in the downtown area close to all the action, shops, and restaraunts. This was our first time to stay in the Marriott Courtyard. I have to say, the location was perfect to reach everywhere. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the door men to the bartender to the front desk. They seem to put customer satisfaction as a priority. It was a nice place for our family to gather as they had convenient and comfortable places in the lobby around the fireplace and a nice bar with areas we could sip cocktails and enjoy conversations. It's a family-friendly place. The rooms are typical hotel rooms, but decorated very nice, with updated colors, carpets, bedding, etc. The beds were comfy (a must) and the housekeeping more than acceptable. They left extra towels when needed and did a fantastic job cleaning up.

In summary, a good choice for a stay in the Chicago area. Although we've been to many hotels, we'll probably stay with this location for our future visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation in Chicago. We couldn’t agree with you more; we love our location. We are in the heart of the Windy City, only steps away from restaurants and shopping, and only a few blocks from Chicago’s main attractions. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our staff, we work hard to exceed guest expectations and nothing is more rewarding than hearing it from our guests. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. Our hotel is open for all travelers and we are delighted to hear that you had a Magnificent experience. We look forward to your next visits to Chicago! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make it even more enjoyable for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed one night here July 2012. The reception was great and so was the service. Hotel is a little older but still a nice and enjoyable place to stay. It was clean and bug free and thats what is most important to me. If you like Garretts popcorn like I do the store is right next door. The hotel is within walking distance to many places to catch a bite to eat./Enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that the reception and service went well. Our hotel was built in 2003 and has seen many renovations since 2010; we drive for clean and comfortable rooms. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. You are right; Garrett’s Popcorn is next store to our front entrance. We are located in the heart of the magnificent shopping and restaurants of Chicago. We look forward to host your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.