We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed for one night earlier this week. The room was spacious and well maintained. Good big screen TV. Front desk staff was wonderful. There's a Starbucks' in the lobby. We had a nice breakfast in the restaurant.
It's just steps away from Michigan Avenue with lots of choices for restaurants and shopping. Elevator from the self-park garage drops you off inside right by the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Starbucks connected to the lobby is a great benefit to have on site, as well as the parking garage that is attached to the hotel, both especially if the weather is bad. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    232
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
155
134
38
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great location. Nice rooms. Remember, it's a Courtyard, not the Ritz. Got a great rate on Orbitz. Looked to have good dining options on-site, and of course lots of options withing walking distance. Only negatives: cheap towels in the rooms, and only average bedding. As a Marriott Gold, I did not get any special treatment, but for $99 during the weekday, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for the observations about our hotel and your loyalty to the Marriott brand. We do our best to offer competitive rates to our guests. Our towels are the Marriott brand standard and I apologize those did not meet your expectations. In the future, we would be happy to send a new set of towels to your room if the towels you receive are not to your satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting your next stay in downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for business. I was worried about it being far from my office. It was about 3 miles down Michigan Avenue. I'm glad I rented a car. The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The area is awesome with a lot of restaurants and shopping on every corner. Very safe for tourists. There is a Starbucks in the lobby for your convenience. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was the second time I stayed at this location and again it did not let me down. The price was reasonable and the location can't be beat. You are in the heart of the downtown area with tons to do. I will definitely stay here again when I'm back in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for the compliments about our hotel! We do our best to offer competitive pricing for downtown Chicago. We look forward to hosting your next stay and thank you for being a loyal guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the hotel staff. The front desk was outstanding as were the doormen. These people made you feel like dignitaries. I wish I could have tipped more generously. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was very secure in regard to safety and it was also located close to many restaurants and shopping. The pool water was a bit cold but my young daughter certainly did not complain. Thanks again to the staff. You were all wonderful and deserve a raise. We'll see you again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! I will pass along your comments to the staff supervisors. As a team, we do our best to exceed guest expectations and it truly is a team effort. We are glad you were able to enjoy our downtown location! We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We held a week long training seminar at this hotel and it was perfect. The food was better than expected and the staff was very attentive. Many of our attendees said they wanted to come back for the food alone. We are definitely holding another week long training here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for all of the detailed and nice comments about our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our location - we are within walking distance of so many places and it doesn't hurt that we have had such a warm winter! The comfort of our guests is always a top priority for our team and we will take appropriate steps to assure that comfort when necessary. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My daughter and I were in Chicago for one night and really wanted to make the best of it. We couldn't have picked a better location. This hotel was right around the corner from Michigan Avenue. The shopping was great and the restaurant selection was plentiful. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The front desk and conceirge staff were fantastic. The staff bent over backwards to be helpful.
I was regretting not staying another night until I came down to a lobby full of young adults (I assumed college kids) carrying cases of beer. They had just unloaded from a bus and had obviously been drinking all day. I overheard that they were from Columbia Missouri, in town for a golf banquet. One girl actually had to be carried into the hotel. She apparently had a few to many on the bus. I felt bad for the hotel staff having to deal with that ridiculousness and was glad to be on our way. I did turn to the concierge and ask how they handled situations like this and he said, "No worries. We have a zero tolerance policy and if they cause any trouble they will lose their rooms.". He sounded very convincing. I'm sure all hotels have to deal with situations like that from time to time. I would return to this hotel again for a fun girls trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for all of the detailed and nice comments about our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our location - we are within walking distance of so many places and it doesn't hurt that we have had such a warm winter! The comfort of our guests is always a top priority for our team and we will take appropriate steps to assure that comfort when necessary. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Business Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.