We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service made stay wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous service made stay wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My family of 4 (2 adults and 17-year-old and 19-year-old sons) stayed at this hotel for a weekend in May while we visited colleges and took in some sights. The weather was miserable (rainy and cold) but the staff at this hotel made our trip wonderful. They were very friendly and helpful. Usually checking in is just perfunctory, but the staff made us feel really welcome. When we came downstairs to head to dinner, they again were friendly, engaging us in a chat. During that chat, I mentioned where we were going to eat, and the concierge gave us a coupon, which enabled us to jump a 40-minute line to get into the pizza place of our choice. When we got home that night with more pizza than we could eat, the staff offered, without prompting, to send a refrigerator and microwave to our room, for free. I didn't know such thing was available. Even the guy who called our taxi was exceptionally friendly. And on such a gloomy weekend, all that warmth helped.
The room itself was clean and of the usual Marriott quality. One son wound up sleeping on the pull-out bed, which was its usual "eh." But the guy who set it up for us went out of his way to find us extra padding to put under the sheet and a comfy blanket (instead of the usual plastic-y one for the extra bed). My son much appreciated it.
The location couldn't be beat. We could easily take the El or walk or take a taxi anywhere.
I'm not usually so effusive about chain hotels (though I generally like Marriotts and make a point to stay in Marriotts when I travel for business). But this hotel was different. It felt like a small hotel even though it was a large, downtown hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    197
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
137
119
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking has high, but this is Chicago and it was less than many places. You just don't get free parking in big cities. Good internet that was free. Room was comfortable and clean. Very large and made the stay very nice.
Restaurant was not the best. The food was good, but the selection was limited at best. Starbucks there offered another choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for the compliments about our hotel. We strive to be competitive in the market with pricing and we really appreciate it when our guests notice. I apologize that you did not have the best experience in Viand, our restaurant onsite. It is nice to have a Starbucks on site to give our guests more options. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We are local to Chicago but wanted to spend the weekend as "tourists". We were greeted promptly and able to check right into our room (11am) that was a nice surprise. The room was good however, since we were traveling with my 4 year old I wanted to bring juice and snacks for him so we did not have to buy everything downtown. I checked the hotel fact sheet on line in the General Room Amenities and it says that the rooms had a mini fridge and in fact it did not, I tried to keep our stuff cold in our sink with ice. The only real problem was everytime our neighbor would close the door to their room our door shook and sounded like someone was trying to get onto our room. This happened quite a bit throughout the night and kept waking us up.
Since we were traveling with a child we of course had to check out the pool. It was a nice pool except the pool area was about 100 degrees and impossible to sit and relax as it was so hot. I don't know if that is done on purpose.
Overall, a nice hotel. Good location, the doormen were the best and the most helpful.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the location - we truly are in the heart of the "touristy" part of Chicago, which you probably knew being a local. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in regards to the refrigerator. We do have mini refrigerators in some of our guestrooms. To those rooms that do not have a refrigerator, please know that you are welcome to call the front desk and they will happily provide you with a mini-refrigerator. Thank you again for complimenting our doormen - they represent our hotel and we take great pride in our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I can't say enough about this city, especially this hotel. Neil, our Concerierge at the hotel was outstanding. He made a couple from Bradford, Ontario Canada feel like the #1 couple in Chicago on our 10th anniversary. Thank you.

Great location, great staff, great experience. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Congratulations on your anniversary! What a milestone in both of your lives and you choose to celebrate it at our hotel. We are thankful for your business and I am very glad that you had a great experience with our team. Neil is amazing with our guests - feel free to checkout his segment on our Facebook page - "Neil's News" where he talks about upcoming events in Chicago. The clip is also pretty funny - as Neil is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Country, MI
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I really wanted to like this hotel. There are so many positives about it. But in the end I don't think I'd stay here again because my room (and therefore I assume all rooms) lack adequate sound proofing from outside noise. I stayed here for a nearby conference and was pleasantly surprised about how this hotel seemed more "upscale" than what I imagined a Courtyard would be. It's location and price really can't be beat. I've stayed at many hotels in downtown Chicago and this is the best value for it's location. The noise from the street at night was so loud that even with ear plugs I was awakened many times and slept very little. They have a small fitness center but it has everything you need.
Pros:
-Great location for price
-Starbucks in lobby
-Friendly, attentive staff
-Clean, updated rooms
Cons:
- Street noise was intrusive to the point of ruining sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your experience at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your lack of sleep due to the noise disturbances from the street. We would be delighted if you would consider staying with us again and we will place you on our highest floor, away from the street. We are glad that you found our hotel to be more upscale than a typical Courtyard, which is exactly where we strive to be. Our location on Michigan Ave. and Ontario Street allows our guests the convenience of being steps away from world renowned restaurants and shops. Thank you again for your comments; we do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very enjoyable stay! The hotel was clean; in fact, the bathtub was sparkling clean, which you don't always find. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was comfortable. I wish there had been a restaurant or bar in the hotel. There was a Starbucks, which was nice, but something else would have been nice too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for the comments about our friendly staff, we strive for service excellence. Thank you also for observing how high our housekeeping standards are, we want our guests to be comfortable as possible. I wish you had been able to enjoy our restaurant, Viand on site. It is connected thru the large wooden doors by the fireplace in our lobby. Sometimes it appears as though it is a stand alone restaurant, but that is managed by our team as well - we understand the confusion about the restaurant. We look forward to your next stay and maybe lunch in Viand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011 via mobile

I like Marriott hotels, but this one was better than most, still. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. Felt like tips were not expected and genuinely appreciated. Location is great just one block off Michigan. Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Thank you for the comments about our team and location. We love being in the heart of the city and having easy access to great restaurants and shopping, as all of our guests can enjoy. We look forward to your next visit at the Courtyard Chicago Mag Mile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at Courtyard Chicago Downtown Hotel near Magnificent Mile. Enjoy newly renovated lobby and guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our Chicago hotel near Magnificent Mile is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.