We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, very clean, one of the best FFIs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6630 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Target® Gift Card
Ranked #102 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice staff, very clean, one of the best FFIs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions in the last several weeks.

The staff here are all excellent. Check in is always speedy, as is airport pick up. There are 6 or 7 hotels on this property: The FFI, A Courtyard and a Full-Service Marriott, a Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton, Slle Inn and A Holiday Inn Express. They all share a shuttle to and from the airport. There is also a TGIFridays in the Courtyard. The nice thing is that Fridays will do room service, take out AND you can charge to your room if you are a guest in any of the hotels. They have a good happy hour too!

The Marriott also has a full service restaurant but I have not tried it. Prices seem average for a Marriott restaurant.

As for the FFI, the rooms are decent sizes. All are nonsmoking and have the new Marriott beds. LOTS of TV channels if this is important, free internet,etc

The free breakfast in the AM features cereals, Jimmy Dean egg sandwiches, waffles, breads and danish. Honestly, my only complaint is that they need to get some better pastries...maybe muffins or donuts or something.

They do offer a park-n-fly and you can get some decent rates if you are a Marriott rewards member. Rates aren't bad anyway.

AIrport noise isn't bad and the hotel is less noisy than many in which I have stayed. Rooms are clean, staff is attentive and welcoming and you can take the shuttle to the airport and hop on the Orange line to downtown (about 45 minutes to Chicago give or take).

There are a few other places around to eat that are walkable...Giordano's, McDs, BK, White Castle and a few others. Many flight crews stay in these hotels and they were talking about some local bars nearby.

The PACE bus stops right at the edge of the property and it is a short ride to a mall, Target, Wal-Mart and a couple other places.

Overall, a decent place to sllep for an early flight or to visit Chicago if you want to save some money!

  • Liked — Nice staff, good TV variety, not TOO bad to get downtown
  • Disliked — Breakfast could be a little more interesting
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
8
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We've stayed at this hotel several times now using the "Park & Fly" option. It's great because it's close to Midway, and it's easy to get to (we come from Iowa to Chicago to fly out because it's less expensive). We've tried flying out of O'Hare, but getting to & from the airport and the hotel options, then using the interstates in that area, we always end up getting on the wrong road or something, and all the tollways up that way are just a mess. Midway is much easier to access.

Anyway, this hotel is great for the Park & Fly option. It's very clean, and now that it has been remodeled the rooms are updated nicely. Good beds, and the pool area is nice also. The breakfast opens very early (5am, I believe) for those that need to fly out early. The trolley system to & from Midway is very convenient and easy to use. We've never had to wait long, and the drivers are very courteous. The front desk staff at this hotel are good, check-in is quick and painless with no confusion.

We will continue to use this hotel every time we fly out of Midway, which is generally twice a year for vacation.

  • Liked — Proximity to Midway Airport
  • Disliked — You have to drive through a nasty neighborhood to get there!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

spent 4 nights here over canadian civic holiday (1st weekend in aug) the renovations were complete and we actually got invited to an opening reception ( the kids got little pillow squishees) Room was clean and average in size. The pool is salt water which is a bit weird. We had trouboe with the hot tub. one day it wasn;t hot enough, the next day it was so hot that it turned our skin bright red. towels seemed to be in short supply at the pool too. -check before you get in.
There was a trolley that takes you to the airport where you can catch the L train downtown- we did this for 3 days and enjoyed the trip. The tolley drivers were very nice.
The mexican place across the road was inexpensive and quite good. As was the hotdog stand acorss the road

  • Liked — trolley to airport
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

This is an interesting property, located about 5 minutes south of Midway Airport. There is a large cluster of hotels sharing a common lot, including a Holiday Inn express, Hilton Graden Inn and three brands of Marriott -a mainline Marriott, a Courtyard, and a Fairfield Inn.

This Fairfield was one of the nicer ones I've been at - very close to a Courtyard in room size and layout, with interior halls. The free breakfast options were very nice, waffles, hard boiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches, and other continental options.

Transportation to and from Midway is via a free 24 hour shuttle. I waited about 10 minutes for it at the airport and it was on call when I needed to depart from the hotel.

At the time of my stay, there was significant construction going on in the lobby area and I'm not sure if there were other areas impacted as well.

Room Internet access was via a free wireless hotspot.

Other than a lack of sitdown restaurant, I can't imagine why one would choose the Courtyard across the street over this property. There were numerous eating establishments in the area for take out or dine in service.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport

Address: 6630 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport is one of the top Midway Airport Hotels and offers a free 24-hr shuttle service to MDW. This ideal location is just three blocks from Midway Airport and within minutes of Downtown Chicago via I-55 or the CTA Orange Line, providing easy access to Navy Pier, Millennium Park, and the Willis Tower. Business Travelers also appreciate the quick commute to the offices of Cintas, Kraft, and CSI Integrated. Start your day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, or relax after a flying into MDW in the indoor pool. The spacious guest rooms are also highlighted by HD TVs, free WiFi, and luxury bedding. Choose the best of Midway Airport Chicago hotels, the Fairfield Inn Midway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Chicago Midway Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.