We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buckingham Fountain

Buckingham Fountain
Grant Park, Chicago, IL (Downtown / The Loop)
Improve this listing
Visit Buckingham Fountain like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$23*
and up
Ranked #36 of 952 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago's landmark is considered one of America's finest fountains due to its Beaux-Arts-style landscape design, finely wrought bronze sculpture and innovative use of technology.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,063 reviews 2,063 reviews
1,116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,093 helpful votes 1,093 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I really think that Buckingham fountain, even when it is on, which is rarely, is not that big of a deal. Grant Park though, where the fountain is located, is fantastic and is well worth a visit. Try to go close to the shore as well to look at the boats sailing by and appreciate the beautiful lake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    217
    68
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Snap a pic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This will be the fountain you take a few pictures in front of if you are strolling along the lakefront downtown or if you are lucky enough to score Lollapalooza tickets. Nothing to amazing about it unless your a huge Married with Children fan. It is prettier at night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is still an awesome place even after living in Chicago for 20 years. I took my wife here for the first time and she enjoyed it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Huge Fountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Buckingham Fountain is located in Grant Park not too far from the Cloud in Millennium Park. Make sure you see it as its one of the largest in the world as per the site. It’s huge and truly remarkable to see how big and beautifully it was designed. After every few minutes it was spiting the main water very up in the sky.

You see a lot of people enjoying the fountain, some people joking around the area and then there are the pro photographers. Make sure take a breather and sink it all in as see how the family and children are enjoying the site.

On a separate note there are washrooms in the surrounds of the fountain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Truly amazing! I stumbled upon this masterpiece just after I ran the Chicago marathon! I wish I wouldn't have been so delirious after running to truly appreciate. I definitely want to go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckingham Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Buckingham Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckingham Fountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.