We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but out of downtown area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not bad but out of downtown area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Nice hotel for a short stay but would not recommend for more than a couple of days. They do not have a microwave nor fridge in a standard room and no on-site pool. The area around the hotel seemed fine and thank God for the sound proof glass based on location near the major highway. The parking is $36 per night but there is $20 parking per night across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfishmetro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback about the service they receive at our hotel. Please be assured that I will post your comments in our Service Success area for all of the team members at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro to enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, I ask that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect.

Leonard Mendiola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    246
    116
    30
    32
See reviews for
113
137
51
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We spent a week in this hotel, and found no fault worth mentioning. we where here for a vacation. The neighborhood is Greek Town, which I found to be a plus. Always like to try something new. We are walkers, so we did a lot of walking, but there a watertaxis(within a couple blocks of the Hotel) or buses if you don't care to walk, but you miss a lot of the flavor of Chicago by just riding through it.
Getting back to the neighborhood, there are many restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel that offer excellent food. For Breakfast we walked to Meli's, about two blocks away, for the BEST Breakfast you'll run across in the whole of Chicago, very reasonable.

Would definitely stay at this property again,when in Chicago

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed here for four nights and was positively surprised by the room, very clean and I had two double beds to myself. Even though the hotel is located right by the expressway, I found the location good and Greektown was a nice area to stay in. Close to Union Station, and if you don't mind walking it is not that far to get downtown. All rooms have balconies.

Restaurant nice but expensive. I would recommend eating at one of the many nearby places instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfishmetro, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Dear ikris72,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro for your recent stay in Chicago! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, as well as our location in Chicago’s Greektown. Many of our guests enjoy our location in such a diverse neighborhood that as you discovered, offers many fantastic dining options. In regards to our restaurant, we are currently reviewing our current concept and look forward to launching a new restaurant in the future. Your comments will most definitely be shared with those involved in this process.

Thank you, again, for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next to you visit Chicago.

Sincerely,

Bryan Fish
Assistant Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Chicago- The Metro
733 West Madison Street
Chicago, Illinois 60661
p. 312.829.5000, ext. 2039
f. 312.602.2199
e. bfish@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield hills, michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have stayed here a number of times, but something has changed there....We purchased a 2 night package that included 4 transit tickets....We asked for the tickets three different times, 3 different people. Each time they gave a flimsy excuse as to why they couldn't issue the tickets, (no one had the key to unlock them, couldn't find them, etc.)
A major disappointment that we never received everything we paid for, with no apologies from management.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

After reading the reviews we though we would be in for a significantly better than average stay. What a disappointment.

Pre-paid reservations for a king bed, non-smoking, corner unit. On arrival was advised that king bed was not available and only double beds available. After some discussion, I was offered a coupon for a free breakfast and guaranteed to be moved to a king bed the next day.

Breakfast was not good. Buffet or order off the menu. I ordered scrambled eggs, bacon and fruit. Eggs were dry, bacon was decent, fruit was overripe.

I did get the king bed.

Bathroom sink design is interesting. It seems that some designed thought that if you put the faucet on the left side of the sink, it would make a design statement. Guess what? It did not. Water pressure was not good. Air conditioner noise was very loud. Other than that, it was decent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We got a very good deal on this hotel via a discount online travel agency, getting the 4th night free. Room was clean & reasonably quiet considering it is right beside a very busy highway (I94/I90). Staff was friendly & helpful (other than not having a bellman show up with a luggage cart on leaving). While location wasn't bad, it isn't right downtown & requires a cab ride to Mag Mile, Navy Pier, Grant Park, etc., though give the price we got, it was worth it. Within walking distance to Greektown restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a concert at Soldier Field. We picked it b/c location wasn't an issue for us, we were going to have to use transportation from any hotel to get to Soldier Field. It was also an extremely busy weekend and if the hotels on Mich. Ave weren't sold out, they were $300 a night! As a Priority Club gold customer, we were upgraded to a King Suite, which meant a room with a pullout couch and a room with a king bed. The king bed was comfy, and the AC worked wonderfully, and the water pressure in the shower was good with HOT water. It was an easy walk from Union Station, but we did take a cab to the El. There was no wait for our car the next morning with valet parking. Yes, you will hear highway noise but we did not hear noise from our neighbors. One of our TVs didn't work, and we did have to call up housekeeping at 2 AM to get the sheets and blankets for the pullout bed. But those weren't deal breakers to us. This was a fine hotel for a very busy weekend in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Sears Tower, the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Chicago Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Chicago Metro is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.