We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value but not near some public transportation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661 (West Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #99 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Omaha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Value but not near some public transportation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Crowne Plaza on Madison is located very close to some of the best Greek restaurants in Chicago. It is on one of the major bus routes and there is a supermarket across the street. Plan to use buses or taxis to get around since the "El" stops are too far away.

The hotel is very comfortable. We thought the desk staff was exceptionally considerate. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are well appointed and clean.

The in-room free internet was slow and at times, did not work at all.

My wife describes the fitness center as "very nice" She thought it was better than most because of the size and the variety of machines.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    264
    124
    30
    34
See reviews for
122
143
52
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel was fine and everything was as expected. The room was clean (perhaps a bit small), location was close to UIC (where we were visiting) and restaurants on Halsted offered a good variety of Greek food (and other mainstreams, such as Starbucks). A nice grocery store (Dominick's) was up the road also. Everyone was friendly. At one point our TV suddenly failed to operate and, after phoning the front desk about it, a repairman showed up within minutes and fixed the problem. Also, parking was cheap for a downtown Chicago hotel--$36 valet with full in-and-out. Most other hotels are well over $40 a night. Although the area is a bit outside of the mainstream tourist area (it's in the West Loop), this is still a fine place to spend a couple of nights in the city. And it's easy to get to off of I-90/94.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We visited Chicago for the Taste of Chicago over the 4th. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased with the rooms and found them to be very clean and well kept. The beds were very soft and I found it hard to sleep. The bar in the hotel was nice but over priced. The nacho's were pretty good but don't waste your money on the calamari, I am still not sure if it was calamari. Several people had gotten stuck in an elevator for about an hour and there were elevator issues the weekend so we took the stair most of the time to the 4th floor so that we would not become trapped. The location for the Taste was very bad and that was my friends fault. If you want to spend a lot of time near Grant park or Navy Pier this is not the right Hotel for you. The only major issue was when we went to check out we were charged for room service we did not order. Another man leaving at the same time we were was upset because his bill showed he had rented movies which he states he did not do. So if you decide to stay at this location make sure to check your bill out closely. Also, if you choose this location and like breakfast check out Meli a great breakfast restuarant about two blocks away from the hotel. Its a little spendy but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is nothing like it suggests! Far away from Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier and everything else in the city! Pay a little extra for The Hyatt or Marriot downtown...the cab rides will make up the difference!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the Amtrak Station. We were just using it as a quick way-station between the train one day and a flight the next.

I cannot understand why Crowne Plaza is considered upscale. The accommodations are certainly acceptable, but not much more – and the service at this location was appalling.

I called a couple weeks before my stay and there was no answer for five + minutes.

My next phone experience was after check-in. The ventilation system didn’t work, so I telephoned for assistance. The operator put me through to front desk and it went straight to voice mail!! I tried again and no operator picked up at all. My husband finally went down to the front desk which was unattended; he had to search for someone to help him.

With 398 guest rooms, you would think someone would be minding the place.

When my husband finally located someone, they told him that they’d send someone up to take care of the problem. I called down to ask when he’d get there and I was told (verbatim): “When he knocks on your door.”

When the man arrived, we showed him the wall unit and demonstrated that turning the dial did nothing. He says, no, you have to use the thermostat – which was way on the other side of the room. We didn’t even see it and apparently the front desk personnel didn’t know anything about it, as I learned when I later explained what happened to the in case another guest had a similar experience.

And the system didn’t work anyhow. There is no setting for “fan.” It is either AC or heat with an automatic turn-off when the room reaches the desired temperature; we had to keep adjusting the temperature all night.

Although there was a balcony, we couldn’t leave it open it for fresh air because of the roar of traffic from the adjacent expressway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

The hotel is nice, but next to the hotel is a public ground where live bands play almost every other night. So in case you are looking for a quite hotel, this is not the place to be. The facilities in the hotel is nice and staff is friendsly

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Metro because I was in town for a convention and it was one of the few hotels with availability at under $400 a night (just) for a late booking. OK, I know they are running a business, but.... where were the staff. Waited 10 minutes for check in because there was only one person at the desk and so it was throughout my 4 day stay, although surprisingly there were always at least 2 bell hops taking care of the $36/day "valet only" parking. There is no concierge service at this hotel either. I arrived very early so had breakfast in the restaurant which was also completely understaffed so I just got up and helped myself to the (very poor) breakfast buffet.

The room was a large, corner room on the 14th floor "quiet zone" and it certainly was quiet. However, this particular corner of the hotel overlooked the freeway so I can't believe that there wasn't better window glazing to cut down on the traffic noise.

All in all I would have felt aggrieved paying $200/night let alone the near $400 it was costing (including taxes).

Pretty poor show!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Sears Tower, the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Chicago Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Chicago Metro is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.