We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jet lagged in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661 (West Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #99 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Jet lagged in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We only had 2 days here in Chicago and were a little jet lagged. We did however have a very comfortable stay at the Crowne Plaza. Taxis were available quickly with attentive staff. A little distance away from downtown but Taxis running all the time and readily available if you wanted to catch one back to hotel. There is a supermarket on the next block as well as a pharmacy and the hotel is situated right in the Greek quarter for restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MarilynE,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We hope you were able to enjoy one of the many fine restaurants located in Greektown and that you made your way back home safe and sound!

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    264
    124
    30
    34
See reviews for
122
143
52
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay at this property for an event being hosted there by a group I'm affiliated with. The location was okay, though a little out of the way for down-time shopping and sightseeing. The property was clean and nicely appointed. The stay met expectations for the price and Crowne Plaza brand.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, we would like to thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear that your time with us was enjoyable, and we hope to welcome you back again some time soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am often struck by the invisibility of all the staff at hotels and restaurants. They assist and then fade from view like Harry Potter house elves. This staff announced themselves in a spectacular way. They were pleasant, helpful, and wonderfully efficient and professional. I LOVED the fact that my conference picked this hotel. The dining staff were knowledgeable, helpful, and pleasant. I especially appreciated the fact that no one seemed to miss a beat though several people had to serve us (they were understaffed). The check in and baggage claim staff were absolutely wonderful, chatting me up before my 6 am flight, and helping me get situated after a long day of travel. Greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 246TAP,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro! It makes me very happy to read and share with our entire team, the great comments relating to our "exceptional staff" and great service provided. I am sorry to hear that one of our food & beverage outlets may have been under staffed while you visited. If you could be so kind and let me know the date and time that you dined with us and I will look to see what may have occurred. We do our very best to have proper staffing levels on hand to ensure excellent service to each and every customer. Again, I thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you back again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From requesting adjoining rooms to the awesome valet/door crew, they were spot on. There are plenty of places to get food/drinks within walking distance especially a Starbucks and 24hr walgreens. The Sunday breakfast buffet in the attached bar/restaurant was reasonable, convenient, and delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the balcony has a downtown skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear StaleyQueen,

Thank you for the kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and surroundings. We have a new weekend brunch coming soon, so we hope you can return in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I attended a conference here so that is why I picked this property. Had it not been business, i would never select this place. Check in was fine and the halls did not smell of smoke or chemicals. The property is old but serviceable. My room was small with an old small TV. The bathroom was crowded with fair plumbing. It was clean and serviced. I did not use room service. WiFi was fine with enough bandwidth for my business needs. At this price point (<$200) I consider it average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay with us! We thank you for your business and appreciate your feedback. I am happy to inform you that we have many improvements planned for the property in the very near future, including larger flat screen TV's and HD programming for our free to guest cable line-up. We hope that we will see you back in the future. Please feel free to contact me direct if I can be of further assistance to you.

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Staff was great!
Location good only for UIC or United Center. Walk to Eillis Tower, Union Station and State Street shopping is reasonable but there I'd better to be had.
Rooms clean but average which is fine because all we do in room while in chicago is sleep and shower.
$39 to park is crazy even for chicago but didnt feel safe leaving in nearby alternative choices.
Price hard to complain due to hotwire under $125. Used to always get Palmer House when hotwire for this area, which is sooo much nicer. Was hoping for it but oh well. For boys and I it was ok. Doubt most wives would be thrilled.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad to hear that your overall experience with us was positive, however, sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our parking rates and location. We try to keep our parking rates affordable, by offering one of the most competitive parking rates of the many hotels in the city. Again, we appreciate you staying with us!

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ok, this hotel is not really in the loop area. It is located just to the west of the Freeways...the upside is it is easy to get to, but the downside is it is not in the heart of downtown or North Michigan Avenue. But, that doesn't mean you can't walk to a good time. The up and coming Randolph Street area is just a couple of blocks away. Randolph is now home to some very nice little restaurants and bars. It is not Rush and Division, but its not bad either. The hotel itself has a great staff and the room was dated but clean. The restaurant/bar facilities were below average, but who goes to a hotel restaurant bar in a hotel in Chicago anyway unless you are desperate! One other thing....the workout room was not bad equipment-wise. it was serviceable...but it was also colder than all get out. Too cold to work out in, I thought. But the price is good, the hotel is clean, the staff was great and the area, while not the best, does have something to offer. So, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimConwayGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us! We appreciate your feedback and want to let you know that the temperature issue in the fitness center has been corrected. We will also be rolling out our new fall menu at Dine Restaurant & Lounge and guarantee to have many spectacular dishes to offer. I welcome you to return and give us a taste! We are rolling out many new exciting upgrades over the course of the next few months, including new bedding, 42" flat screens, upgraded HD programming and much more, so please come back and check us out. I am glad to hear that you were able to make it over to restaurant row on Randolph Street. We are also right next door to Greektown, which has plenty more excellent offerings.

Sincerely,

Jim Conway
General Manager
jconway@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Sears Tower, the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Chicago Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Chicago Metro is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.