We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Indiana
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Metro for a business conference and my stay was wonderful! The hotel rooms, while not very large, are very modern, clean, and comfy. What really made my stay great though was the service. The front desk was friendly and helpful, room service was fast and friendly, and the valet was great. - when I was ready to retrieve my car, the valet had my car to me in literally 2 minutes. I would certainly stay here again. The room was nice but nothing unique, however the price was well worth the outstanding service you receive!

  • Liked — wonderful service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    246
    116
    30
    32
See reviews for
113
137
51
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Three of us stayed here for one night to see some of downtown Chicago. Rooms are smaller than usual but very well done with modern decor, more than enough storage, and plenty of lighting. Included a desk, chair, and lounger. We were not cramped at all. I think place is older and has been renovated recently. Bathrooms smaller too, but also well done with tiered counter and modern fixtures to make space. Balcony view of the city. We really enjoyed the design in the room. Staff was fantastic! Bar and restaurant seemed on the expensive side but the ambience very nice, we went to a grocery across the street for fresh pastries and coffee instead for breakfast (a Starbuck's was located inside the grocery too). Hotel sits perpendicular to I-90, so some traffic noise is expected, but not awful. A trip due east on W. Madison gets you to Millenium Park and Art Institute. More sites nearby too. Our stay was about $100 less than similar hotels nearby. Would stay again for sure.

  • Liked — Design and decor.
  • Disliked — Price of breakfast buffet, proximity to interstate.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

I was here for business for a few days but will return and stay here again. The hotel was clean, with modern rooms and amenities. The staff was also pleasant. Great location-- about a $40 cab ride from O' Hare. Resturanr bar closed a bit early for a weeknight-- last call was at 10:30 for some reason--but there are several good restaurants within walking distance, plus a grocery store, 24 hour walgreens and a starbucks. Easy walk to the SearsTower if you're in the mood to tour the city via trolley or double-decker bus.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo. IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

My husband and I only stayed one night, for our anniversary. The staff were so kind to us...brought us a small cake when they came to turn down the bed. We were upgraded to a suite. Each room had its own balcony, which was great for viewing the city. We would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

The hotel was extremely comfortable. The furnishings in the room were stylish, the bed was supremely comfortable, the decor was soothing and contemporary and the free internet was excellent. The neighborhood was in a good location - there was a Starbucks around the corner, and a large supermarket across the street and numerous Greek restaurants not too far away. The Loop is a short walk away and a nice stroll to Millenium Park. I'd stay here again if the rates are good.

My only complaint was that there wasn't a mini-fridge in the room.

  • Liked — Furnishings, Decor and Styling, Location, Comfort
  • Disliked — lack of mini-fridge
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Ab
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

This hotel is absolutely great!!!!!! Close to all of Chicagos finest points SEARS TOWER, UNITED CENTER, MICHIGAN AVE, NAVY PIER. All these locations by cab cost no more than 7 dollars. Tons of cabs in the area the longest i waited for a cab was maybe 2 minutes the doormen are great. When i arrived at the hotel they made me feel like a king and that was great. Clean rooms, great restaurant downstairs, business center, fitness center and access to a swimming pool. Highly recommend this hotel. Only thing is they charge 50 dollars per night on top of your room rate for a damage deposit which is credit when you checkout. If you stay for 7 days make sure you have an additional 350 on your credit card to pay for Damage Deposit or else the pre-authorization will not go through on your credit card

  • Liked — Close to downtown easily accesible
  • Disliked — Rooms are a little expensive but i cannot knock the unbelievable service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresh meadows
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

We had booked 50 rooms at this shotel for AACC Convention in July 2006 through www.findtripdeal.com

We really enjoyed this hotel the location was great and the hotel stuff was very helpful. They serve breakfast at Dime restaurant which is next to the hotel. The only thing I can complain was they didn’t have any wheel chair available when we needed for one of our group member who had a problem wih his back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Sears Tower, the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Chicago Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Chicago Metro is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.