We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged for a smoking room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Machesney Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overcharged for a smoking room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My sister and brother in law purchased us a nights stay here. On the one hand yes we didn't have to pay for it but on the more important hand to me and my wife is this. We received the receipt for what they paid for the room and were not pleased with the price. Almost $300 for a very small smoking room. We are not smokers. This room was tiny. It was as if they gutted a supply closet and made it into a room. Our room was purchased for us months in advance and you think they could have had a better price and room ready for us. They were scrambling to even get us into a room as well. This was the hotel me and my wife stayed in on Valentines day of this year and paid a much lower price and had a bigger non smoking room. Someone owes my in laws some money.

Room Tip: Demand the room you deserve for the price your paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    246
    116
    30
    32
See reviews for
114
137
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent location, just off the freeway, within easy walking distance of downtown for restaurants, shops etc. Friendly, efficient staff. Very comfortable. Good menu in the restaurant and a good selection of beers, wines, spirits and cocktails. This was our second stay at this hotel in 3 visits to Chicago. It is now our first choice.

Room Tip: Room with balcony better on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clean, good view, good food and beverage, courteous and helpful staff. Spent a long weekend here in August. Grocery/drugstore nearby. A short walk to many very good restaurants including the "Haymarket Brewery", which is a must go to. Staff is friendly and courteous at this hotel. Everything was as advertised. Everything worked in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

No working Internet, dishonest desk staff, poor business centre (broken printers no Internet), maid barging in @ 7:30 am, none of the advertised amenities (water in room), understaffed valet at peak hours, old tv- the only positive was the comfortable bed. I appreciate that the staff offered a rate reduction as compensation, but I would never return and would recommend people try other places first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was so excited to see a balcony in my room. AND the door opened. The weather is so nice that I have kept it open most of the evening. I just love listening to the sounds of the city. All of the staff at the hotel have gone above and beyond. I will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is a good one - not very luxurious but clean, comfortable and with all needed amenities. Can`t complain from anything - the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. It`s relatively quiet, being so close to the freeway I guess there`s simply no way to achieve complete tranquility.
The location is very good - plenty of transportation options around and a lazy ~20 min walk by foot to the Loop. From the airport to the hotel it took me about an hour by CRT train and bus (which stops right in front of the hotel). Check-in and check-out were as quick and smooth as you get!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Comfortable rooms, GREAT BEDS, clean and well maintained. On premises parking is very very expensive. Staff was very nice and helpful. Did not eat at the restaurant but it was packed. Location was great for us, away from "Michigan Ave".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Sears Tower, the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Chicago Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Chicago Metro is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.