We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the energy of this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yolk

Yolk
1120 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL (Downtown / The Loop)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love the energy of this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I would come here again in a heartbeat. The energy is high here. The Customer Service, wonderful. Jose was my waiter, he was enthusiastic, and since I told him it was my first time coming there, he quickly pointed out some of the top selections. I sat at the bar, the view watching the wait staff do their thing was fun to watch. They work hard and efficiently. I ordered the Benedict Caprese, which Jose recommended. It was very yummy. The abundance of fresh fruit that came along with it was amazing.
Just a fun place, alive and full of energy, along with delicious food! Go and enjoy, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    162
    38
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blytheville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved this little spot. It was close to our hotel and the breakfast is to die for. So many choices and everything we tried was delicious. The bacon waffle was mmm, mmm good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Countless french toast options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great place to meet up with friends. There are countless french toast options, among many other menu items. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is fun. Great brunch spot!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate at Yolk 3 out of the 4 days that we were in Chicago. I must have found this spot on TripAdvisor (thanks everyone =) ) and decided we must try it. We don`t usually splurge on breakfast while on vacations--- but Yolk kept us coming back! My hubby had eggs,bacon,sausage and pancakes, and I have to say that the Pot Roast benedict was to die for- it was huge and delicious, with a pile of fruit on the side- we didn`t need lunch afterwards! Another day, I tried the Mexican scrambler with pancakes. Yum! Their portions are humongous! The only thing I wasn`t crazy about was the French Flag french toast- it was too sweet and the flavors didn`t quite hit the mark for me. I wish I`d stuck with the benedict!
I would recommend going early as this place was hoppin` everyday, with waiting lists and lineups out the door when we left...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Breakfast Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wow, the food was top notch and they were very accommodating to a large group on a Sunday. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal and all said we would easily return. Check it out if you are in Chicago.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yolk also viewed

 

Been to Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.