We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, EXCELLENT location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ivy Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ivy Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 E. Ontario St., Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 167 hotels in Chicago
IL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, EXCELLENT location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ivy a couple of weeks ago and will definitely try to stay there again. The location on Ontario, just two blocks off of Michigan Ave was perfect. It was much quieter than some luxury hotels on the Magnificent Mile. The staff was friendly, helpful, and well-informed. They have a lovely rooftop bar as a place to end a long day in a relaxing way.

Room Tip: This hotel has a ultra-modern decor and vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a wonderful review about our property, the IVY Boutique Hotel. I'm so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! The area that the hotel is located in is called Streeterville and is known for being a quiet zone in Chicago, which our guests love! I'm happy we could accommodate you and we can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    58
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
130
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I checked into the Ivy Hotel in Chicago for a work trip in June and I was blown away. My room was amazing, large, and had all of the comforts from home. Room service was affordable, quick, and good. Not the best food I have ever had by any means, but good for room service. There are only 5 rooms to every floor so the hotel was very quiet. The rooftop terrace has great view, and is a great spot to catch a drink before dinner or attend happy hour. Over all this was by far one of my favorite stays in Chicago. Thank you Ivy Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your recent stay at the IVY Boutique Hotel. I'm so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your guest suite as well as our rooftop lounge, SKY Terrace. I hope you will join us again on your next business trip to Chicago!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for a whirlwind overnight on July 6-7 2013. We arrived at 3:30 (our documents stated check-in was 3:00) but noticed a placard at the registration desk that announced the check-in time was 4:00. We found our room was ready and we were greeted pleasantly. We were told of the skytop lounge, but never made it there.
Our room was a modern, very clean and well-appointed studio. The bathroom (especially the shower) was phenomenal with a rainfall showerhead and an adjustable wand that made rinsing off an experience!
The large flat screen was great to watch from the cozy King-sized bed. When we arrived back to our room to crash, the turn-down service had left a few bite-sized treats as a bedtime snack. Beats most of the other stays I've had in Chicago over the past 10 years and at a very competitive price!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about our property on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the rainfall shower and California Kind size beds. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the IVY Boutique Hotel!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First, the good: for the price point, the rooms are modern, minimalist, well-designed, and comfortable. The bad: the general ambience is form/flash over substance, the lobby bar attracts people to a hotel entrance with whom you mightn't want to associate, and the hotel services/amenities are skeletal (at best). The ugly: this entire property self-evidently revolves around its roof and lobby bars (and personnel efforts are clearly aligned therewith), there is consequently very little filter on who is permitted into the hotel elevators, and arguably some of the most sophomoric front desk clerks my wife and I have ever come across anywhere in the world (i.e., quite literally were unable to offer basic advice on local restaurants/airport transport).

Part of the never-ending challenge associated with TripAdvisor is that praise and scorn are conspicuously overdone to the detriment of -- balance. While this is far from the worst property, the danger is that the manifest over exuberance will mislead those looking for a high quality boutique. This is just not a high quality property (or a "fine hotel" as some have ponderously stated) for a major US city, but it is adequate for the price point. For comparison purposes, Hotel Vitale in San Francisco is only a 4 star property (worth questioning whether Ivy is remotely a 4.5 star property to begin with), but is a wildly superior experience from soup to nuts -- full stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking a moment to comment on your recent stay. I'm sorry that our staff was unable to accommodate you during your stay. I'd be happy to further discuss your stay by email or phone at your convenience. I hope you would still consider us for future stays to Chicago!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
E. james@exploreivy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I love the boutique hotels, and this one did not disappoint. The design of the rooms is terrific, and thoughtful. The bed was very comfortable (and we are very picky about beds!).
The proximity to everything was a great bonus as well. And the room was quiet. No trouble getting a cab, and the staff was quite accomodating. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment about your recent stay at the IVY Boutique Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our amenities such as our wonderful beds within our guestrooms. We would enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

First let me say the title takes into account the many fine eateries within a stones throw.
We prefer very nice boutique hotels as opposed to large chain brass and glass cookie cutter operations. The Ivy hit the nail on the head.
From the first person I encountered , the valet parker, to Alex at the front desk and the entire staff incluing the Sky Terrace bar everyone was GENUINELY friendly.
The room we had was a king suite, a real suite with separate sleeping area and living room. 650 sq ft. The decor is very modern. Very techy from the push button curtains to the TV in the mirror in the bathroom. Very cool.
3 TVs in all two large and the mirror. The bed was soft yet firm with lots of pillows.
The shower was the rain variety. The toiletries were ample and nice quality including bath salts for the tub.
The sky terrace bar was a perfect place for a late afternoon early evening cocktail. Plus they have a nice menu of small bites which smelled very good.
The location is very good about a block and a have from Michigan ave. The Coach store is at the corner so you will have a landmark. About 4 blocks from the beach and navy pier!
We had a great stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about our property on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the amenities within our boutique hotel. I'm also happy that my staff was able to give you an amazing experience just with their personalities. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the bed, loved the walk-in Euro shower, loved the purple designer chair next to the bed, and the switches to control the drapes. The staff were excellent, courteous, and helpful. My only knock against this place is that my room lacked sufficient lighting to apply make up. A great boutique option with a fabulous location. Valet parking is a little steep... But that's par for the course. My only regret: didn't make it to the roof top bar which other guests raved about.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking a moment out of your day to comment about your recent stay at the IVY Boutique Hotel. I hope on your next visit to the IVY that you get a chance to enjoy our rooftop lounge, SKY Terrace. It's the perfect setting for you and a loved to enjoy a delicious cocktail or a small bite from our share plate menu.

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E. Ontario St., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.