We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Explore Chicago for Less!
Ranked #65 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I purchased two rooms for a short family getaway from Wisconsin. Upon arrival, our room was very clean. No surprises in the bathroom, which is where you normally find them!

It took awhile for us to check in, but I really cannot complain because the hotel allowed us to check in two hours early! I don't know how much parking normally is in this area, but it cost us $24/night. The parking structure was very clean and there were plenty of spots, so again, no complaints.

My main issue with this hotel was the noise issues. There are constantly airplanes flying overheard because this hotel is near the airport. I could handle that. What was really frustrating was how loud the music was on Saturday evening because of a wedding. I understand hotels have weddings and that is to be expected, but we were four floors up and the noise level made it hard for my mother and our children to sleep. At one point I had to turn on a "white noise" app to help drown out the noise from the event.

Overall I was very happy. This hotel is near plenty of restaurants, including family-friendly options, which is really important for us. It's also easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, and providing us with your comments in regards to your stay with us. Feedback & comments from our guests are incredibly important to us, and will assist us in identifying those areas that require improvement, which will enable us to better accommodate and satisfy our guests and their needs. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of you company again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    203
    64
    20
    13
See reviews for
123
128
42
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I decided to plan a trip to Chicago for the Fourth of July and it was great because we stayed in a fantastic hotel with great customer service. Before we checked out we were patiently awaiting one of our family members to come and pick us up. We had been sitting in the lobby for more than six hours. The manager, Morgan, took very special care of my family and I he provided us with snacks, water, and even bought of dinner from the hotel. He was a complete gentleman and such a wonderful Samaritan. He made our wait so perfect and made sure we were very well taken care of. I can't possibly ever thank him enough. The stay at the hotel was great, the prices, the room, everything! But, the wonderful customer service from the employees and especially Morgan was splendid! The next time I visit Chicago I am definitely staying there again. Perfect time and great people!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our friendly and helpful staff, we’re very fortunate to have such a great team. Morgan is a fundamental part of our team and truly strives to connect with every guest he encounters. . Your kind comments will make his day. I am so pleased that we are your hotel of choice when you stay in Chicago and we anxiously await your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My son and I had an unexpected layover in Chicago on our trip home from Stockholm, Sweden. We used our ever faithful Marriott Card to locate a hotel, they graciously found us a room. I was kept on the phone and put on hold a number of times trying to arrange a pickup. Finally, we took a cab. We were greeted by a surly receptionist. The hotel lobby was beautfiul. We reached our room and asked that the sofa bed be made up, we were handed a mattress pad and a sheet. After two more requests it was done. Door knobs were hanging off the door, a bathrobe in the closet was so filthy it couldn't be worn. I was relieved to check out.

Room Tip: Inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; it is always disappointing when a customer experience is less than expected. Needless to say, we always strive for a flawless stay; a promise and goal that we were unable to fulfill. Your feedback has been reviewed with our Front Office and Housekeeping managers and be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice place. Had an issue with the bathroom not being quite clean upon arrival. Great reaction from Morgan at Front Desk, got us changed immediately and validated our parking for the inconvenience. Jim (shuttle bus driver) was also Awesome!! Gave us dining recommendations and took us to a great Italian restaurant. Also gave us options for things to do the following day because of rain. Had a wonderful brunch in the hotel restaurant on Sunday. Great staff!! Super close to the "L" train, about a block. Great for getting into the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There is no excuse for a guestroom bathroom that has not been thoroughly cleaned. This is not indicative of our hotel and I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping manager. On the other hand, we are very lucky to have a superb location and a great staff at the hotel and I am glad it showed throughout your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was not our favorite. Best thing going for it is the fact it is a 2 minute walk to the L train station which takes you anywhere in Chicago. No where to eat at the hotel except for a Starbucks and an expensive restaurant where we spent $39 for breakfast and that was me getting oatmeal. Wi-fi in the room will cost you $12.95 and if you park a car, it is $24/night. Use the train. Room was freezing and the thermostat was either freezing or too hot. No way to control it properly. Somebody's room service tray stayed in our hall for 2 days by their door. Staff very courteous that we spoke to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing and bringing your concerns to my attention. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. We understand the need to have access to the Internet during your stay, we do provide options for in room connectivity for a fee, as well as, complimentary internet to all of our guests in the social spaces in our Lobby. For your dining pleasure, our hotel provides a breakfast buffet with many options to choose from or one of our Navigators will be delighted to provide local area discoveries for dining. Hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Washington, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is AMAZING! From the moment I arrived, to the moment I left...this was the best hotel experience I have ever had. Morgan at the front desk was AWESOME! He has such a positive energy. Always so pleasant to every guest, and took care of anything we needed. Rooms were clean, spacious, and the hotels bar and restaurant had delicious food. The service in the restaurant was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate your review and recognition of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. Morgan is a fundamental part of our team and truly strives to connect with every guest he encounters. Your kind comments will make his day and I look forward to sharing your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Station, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was fine with an excellent breakfast buffet, but the best thing was the manager. I had in a rush left my tablet in the business center just before I checked out. I called that evening from Cleveland, and Morgan M. (one of the managers there) dropped what he was doing, went and found the tablet which was amazingly still there, called me back immediately, kept the tablet secure over the weekend, and had it sent to me at the first opportunity. It was great having such great service in a don't care world. Thanks to Morgan and Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suties Hotel. Morgan is fantastic, we are very fortunate to have him on our team. We’ll be sure to share your review with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago airport hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel near Chicago's O'Hare airport is a traveler's reprieve. Relax in our sparkling pool or work up a sweat in our fitness center. Stay connected with our business center or unwind in our lounge. Expressive yet functional, styled with touches of whimsy in warm, vibrant colors, guests will enjoy our hotel which is artfully balanced with just the right amenities to accommodate both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.