We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel & Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #82 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel & Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time staying in Chicago and it was for the 4th of July weekend. Our check-in was by Morgan at front desk and he was stellar! Very welcoming & offered helpful advice as to how to get around in the city or the places to go. We were also very impressed with our room in how spacious it was and the bed was out of this world comfortable! The train is within walking distance to take you wherever you need to go and the airport is only 10mins by shuttle.

The only disappoint was the driver of the shuttle. We waited 30mins upon our arrival around noon at the airport by the shuttle with the driver no where to be found till after 30mins. Then we had the same driver to take us to the airport Sunday morning,he made us and a group of other people wait outside for at least 45mins by the shuttle before appearing. We were nervous about missing our flight and almost called a Taxi. He never apologized both times and was never kind. Hope this gets fixed.

Other than that,highly recommend this hotel & we will be staying there again when we return to Chicago!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review on Trip Advisor! I am pleased to see that you had so many great things to say about our hotel and staff. We’re very fortunate to have an associate like Morgan on our team! I will definitely share your review with my team, as your kind words are much appreciated. On the other hand, I apologize that you did not receive the same outstanding service from our shuttle driver. I regret we missed the mark during your stay and your comments have been addressed with our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great experience.

Hotel rooms and lobby feel fresh and updated. Easy check-in. Friendly and professional staff at both front desk and restaurant. Great breakfast buffet. The chef for breakfast, Rudy, made it a great dining experience through his great food preparation (omelets, etc) and his winning personality.

Very close, less than 5 minute walk, to Blue Line (Chicago Public Transit System train). From here, you can get about anywhere. CTA has a 24 hour pass for $10 to use all trains and busses.

Hotel room is large, has black out shades, and HUGE shower.

Swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, and sauna are all provided on premises. They are all clean and well maintained. When I was there, a movie was being projected on the walls of the swimming pool to entertain families during their swim.

The only negative is that no other dining options are within easy walking distance. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple times during our stay and were pleased with food and service. As already mentioned, the breakfast buffet is particularly good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Robert B.,

Thank you for your comments on our friendly and helpful staff, we’re very fortunate to have such a great team. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our staff, as your kind words are much appreciated. We look forward to many more stays to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose the hotel based on proximity to the airport due to an early morning departure. The room was very nice, the check in experience was terrible. We travel fairly frequently, and this is the only time it has ever taken an hour to get checked in. We arrived around 10:20 pm and were in our room around 11:30. I expect more from Marriott brands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, and providing us with your comments in regards to your previous stay. Your feedback has been reviewed with our Front Office manager and be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
208 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently stayed only one night at the Renaissance O'Hare Suites Hotel, although I wish it was for longer! This property shows what a very nice airport hotel should be like. Most important is proximity to the airport, which is great. It is only a 2 or 3 exits away from O'Hare on the freeway and took about 5 minutes in the morning to get to the car rental return. The hotel is tucked off the exit ramp in an office park with a self-parking garage attached.
I was greeted promptly by the friendly check-in desk and quickly given the keys to my room. The lobby has a large, fresh, and modern feel to it, although not as "trendy" as many other Renaissance properties. (On a side not, one weird thing about Renaissance is their hard product is a little inconsistent from property to property, but it didn't matter at this nice hotel). The hallways were also bright and fresh, which is nice.
My room was quite large with a sitting area, separate work area by the window, and sleeping area on the opposite side of the room. The LCD TV was positioned on a 360 degree rotating platform which is super clever so you can watch TV from the couch, desk or bed.
The room also had a fresh, clean and modern feel without being super trendy. The shades worked at making the room super dark and the A/C was comfortable without being super noisy. I was able to get a great night sleep on the comfy bed. I really liked the pillows and comforter.
In the morning the bathroom was both huge and clean with nice Aveda bath products and a powerful walk-in shower. A good shower in the morning is always a big plus!!!
I did have dinner not in the restaurant but at the bar, and the food was actually really good. I had one of the flatbread pizzas which was fantastic. They also had a nice beer selection and the bar tender was very friendly without being annoying so I could also get work done at the bar.
All in all, I couldn't have really asked for a better quick one-night stay. I will absolutely stay here again my next night near O'Hare airport!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChewInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My stay at the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites was very good overall. The rooms were average sized, although they were worn -- the furniture was scratched and the sofa in the room looked very tired. Nevertheless, the staff was excellent (very accommodating to every request, whether for extra towels or supplies, or for local directions), and the hotel is right next to the Cumberland stop on the Blue Line for easy--albeit long (30 minutes or so)--access to downtown. In total, this is a good hotel if you need a short stay before going to the airport, or if you don't mind a bit of ride into downtown and want to save some money over a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert58213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The plus side of the Renaissance is the roominess of the suite. My room had a living room with a generously sized desk, refrigerator and couch. The bedroom had 2 double beds and the bathroom was large. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful.

The not so great side was that the furniture in the living room was pretty worn and the foam was flat in the couch. Furnishings were dated. The TV in the bedroom did not receive several of the channels even after calling hotel maintenance. The main door also did not close without some effort. The lobby also reflected a bit of age as well. The sleep quality was not great as planes were landing until late at night then picked up in the morning - right over the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationlover061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are extremely important to us and we value the feedback . We’re sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to expectations during your stay and I apologize for the airplane noise you experienced. . I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our family of 5 (3 sons aged 10, 8, 5) for one night prior to an early morning flight. The shuttle was great and timely. The hotel was contemporary, and our room was spacious. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank socyrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#100 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#126 of 182 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin O'Hare
#4 of 17 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Fresh, our restaurant serving American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing