We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel & Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #69 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel & Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It was our first time staying in Chicago and it was for the 4th of July weekend. Our check-in was by Morgan at front desk and he was stellar! Very welcoming & offered helpful advice as to how to get around in the city or the places to go. We were also very impressed with our room in how spacious it was and the bed was out of this world comfortable! The train is within walking distance to take you wherever you need to go and the airport is only 10mins by shuttle.

The only disappoint was the driver of the shuttle. We waited 30mins upon our arrival around noon at the airport by the shuttle with the driver no where to be found till after 30mins. Then we had the same driver to take us to the airport Sunday morning,he made us and a group of other people wait outside for at least 45mins by the shuttle before appearing. We were nervous about missing our flight and almost called a Taxi. He never apologized both times and was never kind. Hope this gets fixed.

Other than that,highly recommend this hotel & we will be staying there again when we return to Chicago!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review on Trip Advisor! I am pleased to see that you had so many great things to say about our hotel and staff. We’re very fortunate to have an associate like Morgan on our team! I will definitely share your review with my team, as your kind words are much appreciated. On the other hand, I apologize that you did not receive the same outstanding service from our shuttle driver. I regret we missed the mark during your stay and your comments have been addressed with our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    247
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
144
140
48
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great experience.

Hotel rooms and lobby feel fresh and updated. Easy check-in. Friendly and professional staff at both front desk and restaurant. Great breakfast buffet. The chef for breakfast, Rudy, made it a great dining experience through his great food preparation (omelets, etc) and his winning personality.

Very close, less than 5 minute walk, to Blue Line (Chicago Public Transit System train). From here, you can get about anywhere. CTA has a 24 hour pass for $10 to use all trains and busses.

Hotel room is large, has black out shades, and HUGE shower.

Swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, and sauna are all provided on premises. They are all clean and well maintained. When I was there, a movie was being projected on the walls of the swimming pool to entertain families during their swim.

The only negative is that no other dining options are within easy walking distance. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple times during our stay and were pleased with food and service. As already mentioned, the breakfast buffet is particularly good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Robert B.,

Thank you for your comments on our friendly and helpful staff, we’re very fortunate to have such a great team. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our staff, as your kind words are much appreciated. We look forward to many more stays to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose the hotel based on proximity to the airport due to an early morning departure. The room was very nice, the check in experience was terrible. We travel fairly frequently, and this is the only time it has ever taken an hour to get checked in. We arrived around 10:20 pm and were in our room around 11:30. I expect more from Marriott brands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, and providing us with your comments in regards to your previous stay. Your feedback has been reviewed with our Front Office manager and be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
209 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently stayed only one night at the Renaissance O'Hare Suites Hotel, although I wish it was for longer! This property shows what a very nice airport hotel should be like. Most important is proximity to the airport, which is great. It is only a 2 or 3 exits away from O'Hare on the freeway and took about 5 minutes in the morning to get to the car rental return. The hotel is tucked off the exit ramp in an office park with a self-parking garage attached.
I was greeted promptly by the friendly check-in desk and quickly given the keys to my room. The lobby has a large, fresh, and modern feel to it, although not as "trendy" as many other Renaissance properties. (On a side not, one weird thing about Renaissance is their hard product is a little inconsistent from property to property, but it didn't matter at this nice hotel). The hallways were also bright and fresh, which is nice.
My room was quite large with a sitting area, separate work area by the window, and sleeping area on the opposite side of the room. The LCD TV was positioned on a 360 degree rotating platform which is super clever so you can watch TV from the couch, desk or bed.
The room also had a fresh, clean and modern feel without being super trendy. The shades worked at making the room super dark and the A/C was comfortable without being super noisy. I was able to get a great night sleep on the comfy bed. I really liked the pillows and comforter.
In the morning the bathroom was both huge and clean with nice Aveda bath products and a powerful walk-in shower. A good shower in the morning is always a big plus!!!
I did have dinner not in the restaurant but at the bar, and the food was actually really good. I had one of the flatbread pizzas which was fantastic. They also had a nice beer selection and the bar tender was very friendly without being annoying so I could also get work done at the bar.
All in all, I couldn't have really asked for a better quick one-night stay. I will absolutely stay here again my next night near O'Hare airport!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My stay at the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites was very good overall. The rooms were average sized, although they were worn -- the furniture was scratched and the sofa in the room looked very tired. Nevertheless, the staff was excellent (very accommodating to every request, whether for extra towels or supplies, or for local directions), and the hotel is right next to the Cumberland stop on the Blue Line for easy--albeit long (30 minutes or so)--access to downtown. In total, this is a good hotel if you need a short stay before going to the airport, or if you don't mind a bit of ride into downtown and want to save some money over a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The plus side of the Renaissance is the roominess of the suite. My room had a living room with a generously sized desk, refrigerator and couch. The bedroom had 2 double beds and the bathroom was large. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful.

The not so great side was that the furniture in the living room was pretty worn and the foam was flat in the couch. Furnishings were dated. The TV in the bedroom did not receive several of the channels even after calling hotel maintenance. The main door also did not close without some effort. The lobby also reflected a bit of age as well. The sleep quality was not great as planes were landing until late at night then picked up in the morning - right over the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are extremely important to us and we value the feedback . We’re sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to expectations during your stay and I apologize for the airplane noise you experienced. . I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here with our family of 5 (3 sons aged 10, 8, 5) for one night prior to an early morning flight. The shuttle was great and timely. The hotel was contemporary, and our room was spacious. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#78 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago airport hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel near Chicago's O'Hare airport is a traveler's reprieve. Relax in our sparkling pool or work up a sweat in our fitness center. Stay connected with our business center or unwind in our lounge. Expressive yet functional, styled with touches of whimsy in warm, vibrant colors, guests will enjoy our hotel which is artfully balanced with just the right amenities to accommodate both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.