We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is expected from a Renaissance - good service, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #65 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What is expected from a Renaissance - good service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well appointed as you expect a Renaissance to be. Large rooms, modern and nicely decorated. Jets literally buzz the hotel as one of the main runways bring jets right above, maybe 200 ft or so. However all you really heard from inside the hotel was a slight sound which made you look out the window to see if a plane was going over head.
This hotel also has a pool, hot tub and sauna... I didn't have time to try those, but did put some time in the gym, which was adequate but not as expansive with the equipment choices as other Renaissance hotels.
The only major drawbacks to this hotel is the location is not an area in which there is much of anything for dining. You have to cab/transit/drive to Rosemont to get any choice. It was also a bit odd to have a thermostat in the room which had absolutely no numeric markings. It ranged from "warm" to "cool". So, where exactly is 72F/22C in that range? Really odd. Internet was also too slow, a common issue with hotels these days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Grant J,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We appreciate your review and feedback on both positive aspects and areas of opportunity. We hope to have you as our guest again if you return to the Chicago area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    217
    68
    20
    15
See reviews for
129
132
46
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The people are extremely friendly and helpful. The food and service are excellent. In particular, the engineer Yvonne, front desk folks Kendall and Morgan and restaurant server Jamie all deserve gold star.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same. Because the hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport, everything is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Leslie721,
Thank you for writing a review and recognizing the excellent service delivered by our staff at Renaissance Chicago. We have a hard working team that strives to provide exceptional guest experiences. I will make sure Yvonne, Kendall, Morgan and Jamie all receive commendations for their outstanding service. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the future. Thanks again for your complimentary review.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First time staying at this hotel and Morgan made it my go to property now at O'Hare! The facility was clean, refreshed, and comfortable. I enjoyed my room, although the view lacked a bit. What set this place apart was the service. I arrived with a bus load of other customers stranded after their flights canceled (snowy day). Morgan at the front desk was kind, professional, sincere and overall attentive to everyone's needs. Although it was a bit chaotic, Morgan and his coworker handled everyone with grace and expediency. He truly is the definition of positive customer service. The Renaissance was a good hotel... Morgan made it a GREAT experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Augie T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. It's wonderful to hear that Morgan's excellence in service made for a memorable stay. His genuine passion for exemplary service makes him an essential part of our team. We're thrilled to be your go to hotel in Chicago and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have not stayed at this hotel before and was pleasantly surprised. The trip from the airport is easy just take the shuttle and you arrive in a very short time. The bar area was nice, very nice bar food and a good selection of wine. My room was very large, quiet and well appointed. I would stay her again when I need to lay over at O'Hare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
JacquelineSmith,
Thank you for your kind review and feedback from your stay at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. I'm delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations with our service offerings and spacious accommodations. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing!

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a last minute reservation, due to flight cancellation. I tried to book other hotels, but all were sold out. The room was a nice sized room, clean and bathroom was very modern. TVs could have been a little bigger. I could hear airplanes in the morning, although muffled. Front desk was overwhelmed when I checked in, only 2 people working desk. They were friendly and understanding. Room service took a little while. After 1/2 hour, I tried calling to find out status and let phone ring for 5 minutes, no joke, before I just hung up the phone. Shuttle service left right on time and was quick.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Robert S,
We appreciate your review and feedback from your experience at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. I'm glad our accommodations met your satisfaction and our staff delivered friendly service during your stay. I'm sorry to hear your room service took longer than expected and appreciate your patience. We will work to improve on the areas you mentioned and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

As a frequent business traveler, I rarely get to have my children along while staying at hotels so I forget sometimes to see the "event" of staying in a hotel through their eyes. We came to Chicago for my daughter's 9th birthday. We chose the renaissance for its proximity to O'hare because of an early flight when we leave but also for its proximity to the El station so we can easily make it into downtown chicago. We arrived and were pleasantly greeted by nicole and morgan with valentine's cookies! Check-in was quick and both of them were helpful with ideas for dinner. Our room was immaculate and bed and linens made for an excellent night's sleep! All my daughter could say was "wow" about the "fancy" lobby and wonderful fireplaces. We checked out the pool and they had kids' movies playing against the wall of the pool!!!!! my daughter lost it and begged to return with our pizza down there! Back in the lobby, I asked for plates and silverware as we waited for our pizza and pasta to arrive and steven at the bar and Amy at the restaurant were both so nice and helpful! When Amy heard it was my daughter's birthday, she brought her a treat and my daughter was beaming from ear to ear! What a fantastic stay for a weekend getaway and how nice to be treated like a VIP; my daughter was blown away! (PS- this is from my daughter--"hi i really liked the valentines cookies morgan and nicole made.this is the best birthday of my life and the best hotel in the world!")

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
0515danielle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and appreciation of our staff at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. Birthdays are such a special occasions and I am delighted to hear that we made your daughter's birthday so special. Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority. They will each be thrilled to know that their extra efforts in service had such a wonderful impact. I look forward to sharing your kind comments and will make sure Morgan, Nicole, Steven, and Amy all receive special commendations for their genuine and hospitable service. Thank you again for your gracious review. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future for more family fun.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a terrible night at the airport with delayed flight that ended up getting cancelled, so we had to stay the night at the Renaissance by O'Hare. We were greeted by Morgan who could not have been nicer. He really made our crappy night much better. He and Nicole provided great customer service to all the stranded guests. They both made sure that everyone was taken care of, and the room was great! Thank you Renaissance and Morgan for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
sam22252,
We appreciate your review and we're glad you felt well taken care of by our staff at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. It's wonderful to know that Morgan and Nicole's warm hospitality added comfort to your unexpected stay. I will be certain to recognize both Morgan and Nicole with special commendations for their outstanding service. We're happy to have been a part of your travels, and we hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago airport hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel near Chicago's O'Hare airport is a traveler's reprieve. Relax in our sparkling pool or work up a sweat in our fitness center. Stay connected with our business center or unwind in our lounge. Expressive yet functional, styled with touches of whimsy in warm, vibrant colors, guests will enjoy our hotel which is artfully balanced with just the right amenities to accommodate both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.