We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #64 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a work trip (it's a 5 minute walk away from the office) and while I didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room, I found it comfortable, spacious with all the essentials for a work trip - an iron/ironing board, tea/coffee in the room and a decent hairdryer. The room was pretty quiet too particularly given the hotel's location right next to the Kennedy Expressway and is only about 20mins from O'Hare Airport..

The breakfast buffet was $18.95 and is pretty good value for money (includes a made to order omelette). We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good (watch out for large portion sizes - the hotel is not exempt from this stateside reputation for huge servings).

Check out was fairly quick & easy - the only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is that a couple of times I asked reception staff for some assistance and was interrupted by another staff member's request - not the seamless customer service experience I've come to expect in the US. And while you might find this picky, the competition is stiff and the standards high so everyone should be at the top of their game!

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Kym H,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travels, and we're glad our spacious and comfortable accommodations met your satisfaction. I'm sorry that we were unable to provide the seamless customer service that you've come to expect from us. I have addressed your comments with our staff in order to improve our guest experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    234
    71
    21
    15
See reviews for
139
137
47
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites is a really nice all suites hotel just two CTA stops from O'Hare. The services at the hotel are all top notch... as you would expect from Marriott. The suites are very spacious. There is a Starbucks on site if you are into their coffees. It is VERY conveniently next to a CTA stop so access to all manner of things is simple. (CTA passes are easy to get.) My only complaint is that being on the approach to O'Hare, I doubt there is a room where you won't hear the jets passing over.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Don T,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. It's wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on the top notch services that you experienced during your visit. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stay a lot of night in hotels every year. So I notice the little things about a place. I like the hotel, so lets talk about it

Check-IN experience. Small check in area. We got off the airport shuttle and had to wait in line. To make matters worse. There was an airport Arrival's/Departure screen with lots of people looking at it right there. So it made the check in area very crowded. There where only two people working the front desk. There was not room for many more. So very poor design for airport hotel. They loose points on the check-in experience.

The people at the check in area were awesome. Fast, and really really nice. A+ for the people you hire.

Airport Shuttle: Good News it was free. It was also comfortable. Over all OK

Business Services. They need to do better. No color copier or printer. Come on Really????

Rooms. They were awesome. Really nice. A+++

restaurant in this hotel --- Not themed but good. also Starbucks right next door

overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Michael C,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your recommendations of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. Your valuable comments provide many opportunities to enhance our guest experience. We value you as our guest, and we hope you'll return for another visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Although traveling for business, I brought my family with me for a week in Chicago. One of the evenings we decided to take a taxi and the hotel staff was kind enough to arrange a driver. Shortly after being dropped off at our destination, however, we realized that our 7 year old daughter left her favorite stuffed animal in the taxi. My daughter was in tears and we didn't have any information to contact the taxi driver. When we got back to the hotel later that night, we told our dilemma to the hotel staff. They went well above-and-beyond to find the taxi, retrieve the stuffed animal, and have it delivered to our room! If you are looking for a very nice hotel with excellent staff, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Tracer88lx,
We're happy to hear from you, and we thank you for choosing Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition from guests like you on the exceptional service you received during your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments and commending our staff on their excellence in service. We appreciate you sharing your recommendations of our great hotel, and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for park sleep fly for several years. While in the past the rooms had been adequate , I returned for the parking not the hotel. Unfortunately, they are now no longer offering park sleep fly option ---and I am reviewing this with" first hand experience" of their rudeness when I called to make a new reservation Nov. 2013. I was treated (first hand) very rudely and told they are "too busy" of facility to do park sleep fly any longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Illinois2thdoc,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide the exceptional service you've come to expect from us. Please know I have addressed your comments with our staff and improvements will be made to assure we're providing our guests with the highest quality of service.

I'm happy to inform you that we do still offer the park sleep fly package at our hotel, however, the package is based on availability due to limited resources. Your feedback is important to us as we value your business and patronage over the past several years. We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication and inconveniences you encountered due to the unavailability of the park sleep fly package. We do hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaithersburg, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had high hopes due to the Renaissance name. It turned out to be a suitable airport hotel. The lobby was very nice and staff were pleasant. The coat closet was tucked away in the bedroom of the suite, not offensive, just odd. Nice separated living space with a significant desk and chair. The bed had no real comforter just a sheet and a slightly thicker sheet. We did grab the "extra" fleece blanket from the pouch in the coat closet which worked for the night after bumping up the heat a bit. Also, it had 5 pillows on the king bed but they were small squares so we had to pile a couple each like firewood to get comfortable. Lotion was either half used or came new half empty. Both bedroom and living room blinds were nice and functional though less than user friendly. This is kind of silly but the chains to raise/lower the sheer layer spun like a bike in high gear, while the solid layer took an unusual amount off strength to adjust.

Free airport shuttle, though it runs only every half hour. The only walkable place to eat in this airport office park was the Starbucks near the front lobby. Overpriced food, wifi, and parking were all expected. The in-room teas were good while the coffee was pretty rough stuff.

For business travelers, especially those expensing costs, I'd rate this property a 3.5 out of 5. For leisure travelers or those taking advantage of a really cheap weekend rate like we did, I'd go with 2.5-3 out of 5. It all depends on what you value and expect. Again, we got a great rate, lower than most simpler airport hotels that night, so we were still pretty happy in the end.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
dc333,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. We appreciate hearing from you and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your valuable comments provide many areas we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We thank you for your feedback on these areas, and we hope to have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I am impressed with this hotel. The hotel is well maintained. The suites were quite comfortble and spacious. They were tastefully decorated. I thought I would hear airport noise,ut, it was very quiet. The staff was excellent. I would return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Anthony C,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your experience with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. I'm pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our comfortable and spacious accommodations, as well as the excellent service you received during your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#79 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago airport hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel near Chicago's O'Hare airport is a traveler's reprieve. Relax in our sparkling pool or work up a sweat in our fitness center. Stay connected with our business center or unwind in our lounge. Expressive yet functional, styled with touches of whimsy in warm, vibrant colors, guests will enjoy our hotel which is artfully balanced with just the right amenities to accommodate both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.