We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My mother taught me to always say something positive first. Hotel was in a good location and staff nice. The room left a lot to be desired. We found someone's flip flop and tootsie pop wrapper under a chair. There were three women in the room. One slept in the sofa bed but we needed to make it up but found no sheets. It was late, we were tired...sheets came fairly quickly but annoyed we had to call. Room did not have a mirror in the bedroom, light in bath were too dim to apply makeup, no available free outlet next to bed to charge phone, couldn't figure out how to set alarm clock, frig was not cold, room was cramped and couldn't get in closet without closing bedroom door, fan in bath was not on a separate switch so always was on when bathroom light was on. Annoying inconveniences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your previous stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully you will give us another chance to prove we are the choice hotel in the O’Hare area and let us exceed your expectations. Please call me directly if I can assist you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    216
    68
    20
    15
See reviews for
129
132
46
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I frequent the ORD area and have stayed at many hotels in the area including Marriott, Hyatt and Hilton properties. Now I think this Renaissance hotel is becoming my new favorite one.
I recently stayed here twice. The stay in April was just perfect - everything worked great and everyone was very friendly and helpful (even their airport shuttle driver was just amazing!).
But I had some issues during the stay last wee - first the airport shuttle is supposed to be every half hour from the airport but somehow the one at 10:30pm never came which led me a waiting at the airport for ~50 minutes. Also the toilet water tank kept refilling by itself which required the Engineer to fix it. But the 2nd day, the manager Karen called me and appologized for the inconvenience and also offered me some compensation which resolved the issues satisfactorily.
Bottom line - my experience at this hotel convinced me that the service here is consistent with the Marriott standard so I would recommend it to anyone I know of. (Actually I just booked myself
some upcoming stays at this hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My recent stay was the fourth time I've been here -- all for work meetings.

The hotel is convenient to O'Hare. There's a free shuttle and the train from O'Hare goes right next to the hotel. The train also goes downtown, so for an airport hotel, transportation options are very good.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated. The suites are a good size, very clean and comfortable. The beds are firm but sleep well. The bathroom is quite spacious and clean. One small drawback -- the lighting in the bathroom makes it difficult to see the details.

I've only eaten breakfast at the restaurant. The buffet is quite good. There are a few small restaurants in walking distance across the interstate. The Thai restaurant (Golden Elephant?) is a bit of a hole in the wall but really quite good if you're a Thai fan and the pizza place is good. Otherwise, take the train or a cab to somewhere else to eat.

If you need a hotel near O'Hare (or you wind up here for work), the Renaissance works quite well.

Let me know if this review is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms are outstanding. Very roomy and comfortable.
Best of all is the customer service. This is true especially
of Bill McGuigan, one of the Room Coordinators.
Knowledgeable and friendly, Bill is sure to rise in the system.

This is a "Gotta Go" kinda place.

IHG,
Rube

Go Hawks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very large rooms separate bedroom wish we could have stayed longer good drinks at the bar and a great breakfast free shuttle from airport would stay again if in town lots is space large bathroom easy checking and out

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your previous experience at the Renaissance Chicago O’Hare Suites Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed our lounge, we just recently renovated. Our spacious suites; they are largest rooms in the area. I hope that you will be able to visit with us again soon. Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having just checked out of the Renaissance twenty miles to the north, we were expecting the same luxury. Unfortunately, the north shore Renaissance blew this one away. We moved here for the 24 hour airport shuttle as we had a crack of dawn flight. That part was perfect. In fact the room was very nice but as soon as you lay down the disappointment sunk in. For Marriott's high end, you should have an outstanding bed. This bed was hard and uncomfortable. In addition, it always amazes me as a business traveler that if you stay at the low end hotels you get Wi-Fi free but the high end products make you pay. At the other Renaissance wi-Fi was free for Marriott Rewards members, not here. There are few restaurant choices within walking distance so that is a problem as well. Many choices in the area, this one did not stand out among the rest, we will try another one next time.

Room Tip: Corner room was very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear the discomfort that you had with our bedding. The hotel does offer complimentary WiFi for Platinum Marriott Rewards Members. In addition, there are many local area restaurants that our Navigators can recommend. Please call me directly if I can assist you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently stayed here while I was near a conference. Hotel itself doesn't actually look like it fits into the area but I was pleasantly surprised once I got inside. Pretty nice lobby which is attached to the starbucks concierge etc. Wifi is ONLY in lobby and 2nd floor.

Pros: pleasantly surprising with suites
Awesome shower
awesome bed
awesome room
starbucks!
Free shuttle 24/7 to airport (to and from)


Cons:
no where to really eat other than hotel restaurant
Sort of not walkable..

Otherwise was a great stay.

Thank you renaissance and priceline :D

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear D, Your compliments and review is sincerely appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Starbucks and our accommodations as well. Along with local area restaurants within proximity, we also have access to the CTA blue line located 500 feet from the hotel, which can offer many restaurants in Downtown Chicago. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago airport hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel near Chicago's O'Hare airport is a traveler's reprieve. Relax in our sparkling pool or work up a sweat in our fitness center. Stay connected with our business center or unwind in our lounge. Expressive yet functional, styled with touches of whimsy in warm, vibrant colors, guests will enjoy our hotel which is artfully balanced with just the right amenities to accommodate both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.