We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Lincoln Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Play Hooky
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Hotel Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really cool hotel. It's got a great vibe, the entire staff was very fun and nice. It's in a great neighborhood, just a short ride to the center of town. Great restaurants within walking distance. It's an older hotel but very well maintained with lots of character.

Room Tip: Great view of the lake, the most comfortable bed and pillow I've ever had in any hotel. My only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    252
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
236
284
59
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel Lincoln was a great location to start off with our bachelorette party. The view from the rooftop bar is so beautiful day and night. The hotel is conveniently located near local venues for a great girls night out. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Mary,
Glad to see that you had fun. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Lincoln for one week. I called ahead and requested a microwave. They have a limited number of microwaves and they have to be requested. We wanted to be able to make oatmeal in the mornings to save a little on eating out. When we arrived we were told the microwave was in our room, but that room wasn't cleaned, so they would put us in another room and deliver the microwave. On Sunday morning we still didn't have our microwave so I asked about it and was told it would be delivered shortly. By Monday when we still didn't have the microwave they finally told us they didn't have any and we were on the list to get one. I am guessing that they gave our microwave to someone else because we never got one.

The rooms are very small and ours came with a queen bed. The bed is on a wood frame and we came home with bruised shins because every single time we turned a corner around the bed we knocked into the wooden frame. The hot water was hit or miss. There were two days we barely had warm water but all the other days the hot water was fine.

The best part about this hotel was the location. There are two bus stops right in front of the hotel and they take you everywhere you need to go. If you have a car you can park in the open lot across the street for $30 a day rather than the hotel valet which is more expensive.

The coffee shop attached to the hotel was very good.

When I was looking for a hotel this was one of the only ones with free wifi.....but the wifi never worked so its good they didn't charge for it. If you need free wifi this probably isn't the place for you.

Overall we enjoyed our hotel stay. Location wise we would stay there again, but the bruised shins would beg us to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your honest feedback. I sincerely apologize for the microwave mix up. I will make sure I address this with the team. Overall, I am happy to see that your experience with us was pleasant. Please feel free to reach out to me if your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here a few times for business and love it. I hope to come back with my family too. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are hip and have everything you need (an iron and board in every room!) the coffee shop downstairs makes great coffee and breakfast/lunch snacks, and the view! The view from J Parker restaurant up top is amazing. The Lincoln Park neighborhood is a great place for walking around. This is the only place to stay in Chicago!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Marla,
I can not thank you enough for sharing your experience with others. You made my day!
Please let us know when you start planning your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Lincoln for my daughters wedding in April and found it to be a wonderful experience. We travel quite often and sure you occasionally run into unforeseen problems but our issues here were addressed promptly by the friendly and courteous staff especially Mr. Tim Hecke (night manager) who couldn't have been more accommodating. We were glad we recommended this hotel to our out of town guests

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thomas,
First of all congratulations! Second of all, thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travelers. It means a lot to us. I will make sure I share your feedback with Tim as well. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would have rated Hotel Lincoln five stars had we not be put off buy the broken elevator to the rooftop J Parker bar and the "we don't care" attitude about it from the staff. The elevator was broken the day we arrived (Tuesday) and still out of order the day we left (Sunday)....really people? The J Parker was one reason this hotel was selected as a wedding party hotel for our family. Yet, when we arrive we find the J Parker closed due to a broken elevator. However, private parties were magically allowed up to the J Parker. Seeing this, and not allowing our family wedding party up really spoiled the Hotel Lincoln for us. Showed a very poor concern for their customers in my opinion while slapping us in the face as we saw guests not even staying at the hotel allowed up to the J Parker rooftop bar. Amazing lack of customer service. Other than this slight, the hotel was fine. Great location in the Lincoln Square neighborhood...a very walkable neighborhood with plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs. Rooms are on the small side but the amenities make up for the small room size. There is a coffe shop and a nice restaurant on site as well. Would we return to the Hotel Lincoln? Perhaps, but we are still smarting over the way we were completely dismissed regarding our family's desire to enjoy part of our wedding celebration at an obviously "open to special people only" rooftop J Parker bar.

Green Features: There is an effort made to be eco friendly which we appreciated.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Mark,
Thank you for your feedback. It was an unforeseen mechanical incident that caused the closure of JP last weekend and sincerely apologize if this caused an inconvenience for you and your family. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and enjoy the JP in the summer. Please reach us directly if your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I enjoyed our stay while scouting colleges. Nice hotel with friendly staff, funky decor and a good night's sleep! Loved the sheets and pillows, son even commented on how nice the shampoo was! Enjoyed our breakfast at the in house restaurant!

Room Tip: High up as possible to cut down on traffic noise. The 10th floor was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onal K, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Candy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. I hope the college trip was fun. Hope to see you and the family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.