We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Nightcap Package
Ranked #25 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york, new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here when visiting my son for a weekend. The hotel has a funky, hip vibe and I agree with other reviewers that the staff were top-notch and friendly. Our room was small (we had a "junior suite") but it had all the amenities including two bathrooms and a great view of Lincoln Park. The neighborhood is terrific to explore and if you want to get away from upscale hotel restaurant dining, I highly recommend "Nookies", located on the street behind the hotel. We had Sunday brunch there and it was delicious, fresh food and good-sized portions. The hotel's coffee shop was a great plus too -- good coffee and tasty treats. My only suggestion/complaint is this: while the roof deck bar offers an awesome view and would be a great place for a cocktail, the line to gain access was so long that it is not a place where you can plan to meet someone unless you are prepared to stand in the lobby for quite a long time. I really think people staying at the hotel should be offered priority by a reservation system just for guests. Those not staying can do the wait. We tried to get in a few times and couldn't - basically we got to see it, that's all. The crowd waiting to gain access fills the lobby which isn't awful but it's not great either. I will stay there again because of the location and the friendly vibe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    248
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
225
276
58
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lincoln for 4 nights. We loved the location--in fact I would not want to stay near Michigan Avenue ever again--and enjoyed the coffee shop, restaurant, and rooftop bar.

However, if the weather had been bad (we were lucky and had glorious days) and we had spent more time in our room, the experience at the Lincoln would have been appreciably more unpleasant. We had the standard double which provides barely enough room to clear the bed and nowhere to sit but at the desk or on the bed. Access to the no-door closet was largely blocked by the coffee set-up. If bending and reaching is a problem for you, don't put your shoes in there! The major problem was the bathroom. The sink is tiny, placed very low, and a shelf is positioned so that you can hit your head if you're not careful bending over the sink. Water invariably splashed all over the floor. In addition, the tub is very deep with no handrails since all is designed for those who don't need any help getting up! The rate was too expensive for the quality of the room.

The location in Lincoln Park across from the nature walk is unbeatable. The staff is friendly. If a bustling lobby scene is your thing, this is your kind of place. Dogs, kids, runners, bikers. But don't think you'll get an elevator any time soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Hotel Lincoln is a fantastic update of the old Days Inn in Lincoln Park. The location is the fantastic - right across from Lincoln Park with easy access to the Gold Coast, Old Town and Lincoln Park neighborhoods. The staff were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the coffee shop on the ground floor, although it would be great if they were open a bit later. The view from rooftop bar was a highlight of my stay, although it was incredibly crowded and difficult to get a table or the attention of the waitstaff. The rooms are small and, therefore, I think the rate is a bit high for the space; however, I do recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Although Clark Street can be a little loud, try to get a room in the front of the hotel so you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wife and I stayed two days. All staff were great. Rooms very clean and loved the fact that we were able to check in our bikes and take them in and out when needed over our stay. The location of this property is excellent for a Lincoln Park get away. We came in from the suburbs and felt like we were in a different city. Location for lake front biking, beach, zoo and old town is just perfect. Can't wait to revisit and bring our dog as he would have loved it also....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a great stay. Great location in Lincoln Park. Close to the zoo the parks the beach and everything. Will definitely stay here again!! :-)

Coffee shop downstairs is awesome. Great to see dogs as well

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a most pleasant long weekend at this boutique-y hotel. Recommended by a local and it was a great pick.

The staff are super-friendly; our room was great (spacious jr. suite), with a super-comfortable bed; the wifi worked; the coffee shop, restaurant, and rooftop bar were all excellent. [The rooftop bar was, as expected, busy on a weekend summer night but there was still standing room and the tables turned over fairly quickly.] There isn't *that* much to do nearby, though. The Old Town area is worth a stroll, but taxis are frequent to go elsewhere.

Main con: the elevators were s-l-o-w. Get a low floor and walk the stairs!

Oh and the decor was lovely - lots of little Chicago touches.

Would happily stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: Get a low floor if you don't want to wait for slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great staff. Small rooms, but we were on the go most of the day anyway. Charming decor, clean. Front desk staff was wonderful. Had to ask for replenished coffee and condiments for the room 2/4 days. roof top bar and deli are great. Walking distance to Zoo and 2 mile walk to downtown. Valet parking expensive but energetic. right across from lakeshore and the park. Wonderful farmers market on wednesdays just across the street. Would definitely recommend and will stay there again when in town,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.