We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character, Perfect Location, Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Full of character, Perfect Location, Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We wanted to stay near Lincoln Park so we could jog every morning. Hotel Lincoln has the PERFECT location. Beautiful park RIGHT ACROSS the street. Easy walk to downtown. We arrived late due to a flight cancellation. Even at 3am, the hotel staff was warm and welcoming. Our room was adorable. It had plenty of space and an AMAZING view of Lake Michigan. I am always concerned with cleanliness and odors. This hotel was perfect. The only "smells" came from the cute coffee shop downstairs (smelled GOOD). The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Just can't say enough nice things about this hotel! We loved our stay. It was the perfect romantic getaway! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We loved our lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    226
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
203
250
52
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel in April. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The rooftop bar was fun. The room itself was adequate but not quite worth the amount of money it cost. The view was not that spectacular. During the night the bathroom above me sprang a leak and was leaking through the ceiling into my bedroom as well as my bathroom. It also was accompanied by a loud banging sound. After i called it was fixed immediately. Which I truely do appreciate. But shouldnt I have been offerred a complimentary drink or something? The dining downstairs was phenomenal as well as the staff. They ordered for me...I was not diappointed. The Pork was to die for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Decided to stay overnight to attend a friend's birthday party and scored a great deal on the Hotel Tonight app. Hotel staff was friendly during check in, even though we had received a discounted rate (some staff in some places will give you "discount" Friendliness depending on your discounted rate). Since the initial rate was so good, we did wind up paying about $20 more for an upgrade to a Jr. Suite which was well worth it if I am to believe the incredibly small sizes of the "Regular" rooms from some other reviews we have read.

Lots of space in our room, huge and comfortable bed ( I seriously want to know where they got the platform bed frame with the storage, I would like to have one for my home). The suite included 2 bathrooms which wound up being a nice touch since we could both get ready at the same time without having to wait turns. And trying to put on makeup in a foggy bathroom is never fun.

The heater was EXTREMELY loud though. Free Wifi is a plus!

After the birthday party we went up to the J Parker for a last call nightcap. It was cold out at the time so the patio was not open. We were lucky enough to get a seat and the staff was very nice to us (contrary to a lot of the J. Parker reviews here) I plan on going back now that the weather to see if that is any different--I imagine it gets kind of competitive when all the young and beautiful people come out to enjoy the rooftop patio. We will see.

Had breakfast at the next morning at the Perennial Virant which is a whole other review unto itself, but the food was excellent as was the service. So definitely worth it if you stay at the Hotel Lincoln. Even though we are locals, we will be back!

Room Tip: upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business meeting. Was not recognized as a JDV Club member at check in. Rooms are very small with the bathroom not having a shelf big enough to put much on it. Staff is very nice and the rooftop bar is a vibrant place (mostly for young locals.

Location is residential and the park is across the street. No shopping in the area but some fine local restaurants.

Room Tip: not sure if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hotel Lincoln. I sincerely apologize you were not recognized as a Joy of Life Club Member upon arrival but am happy to hear you found the staff to be nice and enjoyed our rooftop. We truly value your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Nebraska
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a great find for my wife and I as we visited Chicago. The location adjacent to Lincoln Park was great but unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for morning strolls with dense fog off the lake during our stay. Nonetheless, this is a great hotel and I highly recommend it, The rooms are a little smaller than normal, but not too bad, The room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lincoln for two nights in June, this was the first leg of our trip down Route 66. The staff at Hotel Lincoln made sure this would be a holiday to remember, and went above and beyond to look after us. I was retiring from the military after a long career in service, and having mentioned this to Jessica she went out of her way to help with any queries or questions we had. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere in the hotel was homely and friendly. I really can't rate this highly enough, and Jessica and all the team at the hotel should be commended for their outstanding customer service. i will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Lincoln Park offer a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved this hotel! It is fun, fresh, and vibrant. The Rooftop during the day is spectacular. At night, very crowded, but fun. Every staff member was personable and friendly. Loved receiving a phone call from the front desk as we settled into our room, just checking to see if everything was to our liking. Hotel Lincoln's location is perfect. We walked everywhere and there is a Divy Bike Station right across the street. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.