We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff and spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff and spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Hotel Lincoln is just across the street from Lincoln Park and within walking distance of Old Town. The staff was friendly and welcoming; the rooms pleasant, clean and spacious and the restaurant was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. There are three.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers the option of changing sheets and towels daily or keeping them. It's up to each person.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    227
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
204
250
54
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a very good experience staying at the Hotel Lincoln for the first time. Expected the room to be small, which it was, but it was neat, clean and had everything we needed. The staff is very helpful and welcoming, and Edgar, the valet, went out of this way on a very cold, windy, rainy morning to get us a cab, though they were few and far between.

Room Tip: Did not have a view of the park but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

First time staying here the rooms were not huge by any means but plenty of space and clean with funky decor. Easy location, street parking was just fine for us even feeding the meter was ok since overnights were free. The roof top bar was great Even in the winter when we went since it has indoor seating as well as outdoor seating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Not only is the hotel beautiful, the staff go above and beyond to make sure to have the best time possible. I loved every moment and they made my anniversary extra special! The hotel bar is gorgeous and the food is delicious! I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

When I visit Chicago, I always try to find different hotels. This time I stayed at the Hotel Lincoln. What makes this hotel so great is the staff. All were very attentive to the needs of the guests. Rooms were clean and facilities were kept in good condition. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. The walk across the street to the Lincoln Park Zoo was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here in the Fall of 2013 and really enjoyed it. This time, not so much. I think it was the room type. The first room was a mini-suite, which was large & comfortable, except for the tiny desk. This time, b/c I was by myself, I got the queen room. The park view as great, but the room is truly minuscule, as is the bathroom, which has no counter space. I turned the ironing board into a usable surface. The closet is so mall thee wasn't even a luggage rack. If you plan on spending no time here & don't need to spread out at all, fine. Otherwise, either get a larger room or skip it. Front desk was as before very nice, hipster kinda vibe. Cute retro decor. But it needs work on those old, paint clogged moldings and baseboards. The elevators are pretty beat up, too. Also, stay away from rooms near the elevator; they are quite noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Lincoln.

We're truly appreciate your comments about the Hotel's convenient location as well as the great service from our staff.

I'm very sorry to hear the room type reserved fell below your expectations. We really appreciate your loyalty and want to make sure you're comfortable. Please mention this experience upon booking a future stay and we will ensure you're in a room that better suits your needs.

Thank you again for your comments, we use your feedback as a way to improve. We look forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,

Morgan Bailey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a lake side room. Wonderfully appointed and very clean room. Beds are super comfortable. Fabulous views. Great roof top bar and service. Front desk was very helpful. Great location to use as a base camp to explore Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher floor lake front rooms have great views and are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.