We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lincoln to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just spent 3 days at the LIncoln Hotel, and loved our time there. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The location is great; right across from Lincoln Park. We woke the first morning to find a farmers' market right across the street, which was ideal for a picnic breakfast. We walked everywhere- the zoo, Second City Theater (just around the block), Oz Park, downtown for a Tastebud Tour (also recommended). My only regret is that we didn't spend some time at the rooftop lounge. We got a peek during the day, and the view was spectacular.

We can't wait to come back and stay again at the hip and soulful Hotel Lincoln.

Room Tip: Suites are large. Rooms fronting Clark Street have great views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly, with all the latest green practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    177
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
169
201
44
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel was phenomenal. The rooms are very chic, staff are lovely and very helpful, and the restaurants are wonderful. I was there for a meeting and the meeting spaces were well appointed and sales staff above helpful. The hotel is also extremely dog friendly. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here over the Fourth of July weekend for a wedding. The hotel is cute, uniquely decorated, and clean. Staff is friendly. Like many Chicago hotels the rooms are shoebox size. Wall unit kept my husband up all night and wait for elevators seemed rather long. Good location. Walking distance to zoo and Oz park. Interesting variety of older neighborhoods (seeming undergoing revitalization) and established shops, restaurants and brownstones. Oh and the rooftop bar is cool-my husband and I wished we had gone up before the nightlife hit. It was too crowded and the crowd too young at 11pm on Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful 4th of July weekend at the Hotel Lincoln. Staff were very helpful and friendly as always. Location was perfect for our excursions to downtown, local shopping, the ballpark, farmers market and the beach. My junior suite was quiet and comfortable. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is very awesome! We upgraded our room to a Junior Suite, and glad we did! Huge room and bathroom (wheelchair accessible). Our corner room had lots of windows with a really nice view, and had room darkening blinds for a good sleep at night. Super comfy bed with lots of pillows. Very clean. Glen at the front desk was super helpful and recommended a really nice mom & pop breakfast place down the street (Nookies.....great food). He also gave suggestions for things to do, the best parking option for our needs, and was very friendly yet professional and we felt comfortable coming to him for any questions or needs we had. The rooftop lounge is incredible! Comfy seating, dinner menu, full bar, and open air atmosphere with amazing views of Lincoln Park, Lake Michigan, and the downtown Chicago skyline. Just wow. I can't think of ONE thing we didn't like about this hotel. This will be our first choice on our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Swanky, funky, artsy hotel in Chicago. Great location. Within walking distance of Old Town. Love it.

Good price relative to other hotels in the area.

But...
The customer service needs work. This is the 2nd year in a row that we have been promised a refrigerator in the room and then upon arrival, we were told they were "out." This time, we even confirmed AGAIN that there would be a refrigerator two days before arrival. Both times, the staff was un-apologetic and un-simpathetic to our situation. I understand that for most people, not having a refrigerator would not be an issue, but as an artist participating in the Old Town Arts Festival, having a refrigerator is important.

In any case, I understand that "things happen." However, I would expect some compensation -- or, at minimum, an apology. But, the Hotel Lincoln doesn't seem to care.

I just think we should expect more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my Daughter who was working. I was merely a hanger on.
The Hotel staff we friendly the room very comfortable, the location quiet.
The Restaurant stunning and the coffee shop excellent.
The Lincoln Park Zoo across the road.... Lovely for a stroll.

I would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.