We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value/quality, but not for the stodgy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Lincoln Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Play Hooky
Ranked #26 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Great value/quality, but not for the stodgy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel Lincoln is for people with a spirit of fun. The décor is pure kitsch-funk, the terrific check-in staff young and hip. It also happens to have one of Chicago's top restaurants, the Perennial Virant, and a rooftop bar that must be totally swinging, judging from the folks boarding the exclusive elevator to it. We looked at it off-hours and the view is spectacular. Too bad it isn't open during the day.

We had a budget-priced room which was quite small although much of the space was occupied by a king bed, very comfortable, so we didn't mind inching around the bed. We had a glimpse of the park, the lake and north Chicago. Nice amenities and quiet at night.

The location can't be beat, overlooking Lake Michigan, Lincoln Park and handy to the North Wells business area full of unusual (and usual) shops and services. The Second City comedy club is a mere two blocks away. (Don't miss this if you like outrageously wonderful improv and skits. There is a Mexican restaurant, Adobo, right next door, that is fantastic in every way.) Public transportation to city center is handy and frequent.

Reluctantly mentioned: the only negative thing I can say is that the coffee shop had a somewhat gloomy air; needs cheering up, better lighting and a bit of humor and sophistication in keeping with the rest of the hotel. (Tip: don't miss breakfast at Nooky's just around the corner.)

We look forward to future visits to this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    258
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
241
289
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Cozy and nice hotel located on the north part of Chicago near Lincoln park. I really liked it. It's very friendly and lovely. The service great.
They have a great roof lounge. And the restaurant on the first floor is great for breakfast.
The rooms view is amazing: the park and the immense lake right on your window.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm a Chicago resident who has stayed at hotel Lincoln several times, most recently last week, when I've needed an alternative work space to my office Everything about my stays at this hotel has been of superior quality. Kimberly and KaCee have assisted me with reservations when I've contacted the hotel directly. They've been great! Each worked to accommodate my needs for a quiet room with adequate work space at the best rates available. I've stayed in junior king suites and in a one bedroom suite. Both room types were clean, spacious, and super comfortable, including the bed, pillows, and linens. I've had both city and lake views and was equally pleased with each. Checking in has been a breeze and the front desk staff are consistently welcoming and friendly while maintaining professionalism. There are many hotels to choose from in Chicago but for its amenities, terrific location, value, and great staff I plan ongoing to stay at Hotel Lincoln

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Linclon has an ecletic flair which is chic and hip. The staff from the front door, to the the desk, room service, the restaurant, and coffee bar were incredibly helpful, suggestive, informed, and overall personal. The bar, independently owned atop also provided hip, mised environment.

The location is ideal, across from a park, close to the waterfront, and walking distant to shops and restaurants. It was a great place to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel Lincoln is as inviting as it is funky. Loved it all; the carpet that looked like cozy sweaters, antique drawer fronts reception desk, windy hallways, crazy, colorful and wonderful furniture and accents, 1 1/2 baths, great view and great staff. Everyone was happy, including the nightshift cleaning person we rode in the elevator with. Great bed and wonderful pillows to complete the experience. It's nothing like the exquisite hotels with glitzy furniture and chandeliers. If you want something relaxed and welcoming, try it because I really think you will like it.

Room Tip: We had room 807 which looked out over the park and the lake. Lots of space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, close to park and many eating establishments.

-1 star for small room, You request a king and they will give you a queen/king. High level of noise in room. Breakfast did not open till 9AM on Sat and Sun.

Hotel has a boutique look and feel but still functional.

Weekend rate was higher than expected but inline with the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of the hotel was wonderful such a great exploring area.
Bus stops right in front of the hotel and cabs are easy to access there as well.
Great park to take a run or a walk, or head on down to the lake's shoreline. Weekend Farmers Market was exciting and filled our stomachs nicely for breakfast.
Our room was spacious, jr suite for the two of us and our daughter. We decided to stay another night since we were having so much fun and we were accommodated with a smile.
Make sure to adventure to the top floor for a drink and view. We also tried the restaurant for dessert, perfect ending to our full day.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.