We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique boutique hotel with personal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Lincoln Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive Up To 15% Off
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique boutique hotel with personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had wonderful service thanks to Glenn at the front desk. He was able to accomodate our 8:30 a.m. arrival with a smile! We thought we would only check our bags. Instead we received our room and had a little time to relax before our busy visit. The decor is FUN! Very clean. Comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. Location was fabulous for our DePaul college visit. We were able to walk easily between the campus and public transit. I highly recommend both the coffee shop and restaurant. Also recommend a run through Lincoln Park Zoo to the Lakefront bike path down to Navy Pier. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    290
    77
    30
    10
See reviews for
279
331
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was visiting a friend in Chicago, and needed to find a hotel near Lincoln Park. Hotel Lincoln seemed to be the logical choice. Although check-in isn't until 3PM, they allowed me to check in at 12:30. The staff is very friendly and made me feel right at home. The hotel is small, but interesting in a quirky sort of way. My room was small, but not remarkably so. It was plenty big enough for me, and could have accommodated two people easily, unless they brought a lot of luggage. The bathroom was also small, and there isn't much room for toilet articles, etc. The heater in the room worked perfectly. There seemed to be very few people staying at the hotel while I was there, so I can't really address the problems others have reported with the elevators and hot water; all I can say is they weren't a problem for me. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the room (and the rest of the hotel) was very clean. I was on the fifth floor, and was not bothered by street noise at all. There is a nice coffee shop just off the lobby, and a fun bar on the 12th floor; you have to take a special elevator to reach it. Drinks are on the expensive side, but it has an excellent view. I would make one suggestion. Chicago is the least smoker-friendly city in the country, and Hotel Lincoln is "smoke-free." I don't mind going outside to smoke, but the management might consider investing in an ashtray outside the lobby for guests who smoke, so their sidewalk isn't littered with cigarette butts. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here, and would definitely come back again. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it is more than adequate in every way, and the location can't be beat. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The service was impeccable. The young hipsters were very sweet.
They upgraded us to a room with a better view, but it didn't have a king bed as we had orginally requested. The front desk moved us to a different room immediately, and came up on the elevator with a key right away. And we still had a little view of Lincoln Park.
If you don't mind a queen bed, ask for a room with a lake view on the 9th floor.

You can tell the hotel has been there for some time, and the rooms are on the small end. But the boutique updates made it very nice and we found the room to be very comfortable for us.

Don't skip the restaurant or coffee shop. Both are excellent. Sadly, we never made it to the roof top bar, but it looks like it would be very fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was a delight! Sure, it's quirky, but that's one of the reasons we liked it. Funky decor and art make it truly unique. The location can't be beat. The Lincoln has its own coffee spot, bar and farm to table restaurants, but its walking distance to more bars, eateries and shops. The FREE Lincoln Park Zoo is across the street, the FREE Conservatory a bit farther down. The best part is the staff, friendly, accommodating, helpful and they LOVE dogs!!! Our dog was happy there and we were easily able to walk him across the street through the park. We'd definitely stay at the Hotel Lincoln again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all , location , friendliness , charm and cleanliness !! Great Rooftop bar , with views!! Will defiantly be coming back ! Excellent price ! The staff was there to help at all hours ! Good security.... Easy to get a taxi right outside front door !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Old hotels often transform into charming, quaint boutiques. But sometimes a lot of the old hotel clings. The Lincoln is a mix. Interesting decor reminiscent of some of the Kimptons, but oh so tiny are the rooms. Built-in shelving over the sink makes it nearly impossible to wash your face without hitting your head or soaking yourself trying to stand back. The itty-bitty desk is large enough for a laptop, but don't plan on laying papers or reference materials nearby. The light filtering shade is nice when you want light filtering in, but there's no curtains to pull when you don't.

That said, the hotel is in a great location directly across from Lincoln Park and the zoo, close to Old Town, Steppenwolf and other interesting theatres and restaurants, including the Perennial Virant nestled into the street level corner of the hotel. Staff are very pleasant and the rooms are quite clean.

Room Tip: Requesting a room with two beds probably opens up a little space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I took a little 'staycation' here after New Years and found it very relaxing. We found a great price on Priceline, and probably in part because it's off-season, it was nice and quiet. Our dog came along as well; the hotel has a great pet policy--a one time fee of 35$. I know the city well, so I don't find the parking a problem There are actually several options for on-street parking, some of it free. You just have to be persistent and look on surrounding streets (though make sure to read the signs to avoid residential parking restrictions!)

The decor is generally fun; perhaps a little overly tchotckied, but I appreciate the attempt at an aesthetic that is unique. The wall art is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. We had no issues with cleanliness, and the rooms are a perfectly appropriate size for a city hotel. The linens are perfection and the bed is amazingly comfortable. The only complaint I have about the room is the heat/AC units are quite loud.

This is a great choice if you want to get away from the overly commercial hustle and bustle of the standard Michigan Avenue hotel; it's close to public transportation, a stone's throw from the lake (and the park, and the zoo, and the conservatory, and the nature center--making it an especially great choice for summer visits) and good restaurants. You can enjoy downtown, if that's what you want, yet stay in a more laidback area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#51 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#85 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.