We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happening place on the Park....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A happening place on the Park....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Finding this hotel was a total fluke and what a find....across from Lincoln Park with retro chic decor and modern amenities. I was welcomed by Glenn and felt immediately at home. Besides the staff the next best thing is he friendly people of all ages and stages who constantly sweep into the cosy lobby, coffee shop (Elaine's ..try the breakfast crepes) and restaurant or rooftop bar. I'll be back! Cheers S

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    221
    53
    17
    9
See reviews for
200
242
51
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Newly redone boutique hotel, The Hotel Lincoln has got a great location in the heart of the Lincoln park neighborhood of Chicago. However, while the rooms are attractively furnished they were very tiny (like "New York City tiny"!) and the walls between the rooms were paper thin. We were able to hear the cell phone ringing of the room next door. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. And there is a beautiful rooftop bar/lounge that we enjoyed even though it was raining and we could only look outside at the great view. If location is important I'd stay here again, but have found nicer hotels for the price closer to the Loop/Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We checked in with Glenn, and he and the rest of the staff were wonderfully pleasant and accommodating from the very beginning. I called ahead to see if we could check in early, and thankfully they had a room available to us, and it was put on hold for us until we arrived. We were celebrating a fun weekend in Chicago, and after Glenn called to make sure everything with our room was good, he brought up a bottle of wine and some breakfast nibbles. Everyone was knowledgeable about area attractions and eats, and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Our room was great. We got a good rate when we called and got a suite with two bathrooms, great for getting ready quickly! Comfy bed, nice amenities. The restaurant downstairs, Perennial Virant, was delicious. Pricey, but worth it. The coffee shop has pastries in the morning and little crepes, which were filling and affordable. We would recommend this place if you want an affordable, fun, hip, and full service hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our family drove in from Kansas City and spent four days at the Hotel Lincoln; would've been five had I correctly made the reservations! We stayed in a junior suite on the fourth floor. Our window view was unpleasant, but this didn't matter to any of us (and if it matters to you, simply ask --the Lincoln's wonderful staff can accommodate). The chic, fun, comfy, and impeccably clean room provided plenty of space for our family of four (children 12 and 16). It featured a luxury king bed, fold out sleeper couch, closet, coffee table, desk, flat screen tv, in room coffee, and two sizable bathrooms. The website is good, but in our opinion, doesn't do the hotel justice. This hotel captures culture of Chicago furnished with its local art, popular restaurant, and coffee shop. It's absolutely a beautiful, hospitable, nostalgic place to stay! Not only the hotel itself, but it's location prime. 'Nestled residentially on one side, Lincoln Park and Lakeshore Drive on the other. Locally owned restaurants nearby. The Wednesday farmer's market is also worthwhile --we had breakfast of crepes, apples, and cheese. SO much to see and do within walking distance, but also easy access with CTA. We affordably left our car for five days one block down on Clark, in the museum's secured parking lot. Yes, the Lincoln has slight quirks (if you're reading less than gracious reviews), but that's part of its character (and we never shared an elevator with service equipment). It's no big-box chain. The Hotel Lincoln is a part of Chicago history. Treat yourself and trust all the positive reviews, which take time and thought and are indicative of satisfied and thankful guests!

Room Tip: Just ask what your window view is going to be...ours in 410 faced other windows, fire escape ladders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having made many trips to chicago, we all ways stay In, the lincoln park area of the city, the hotel we , have used for many years, have stopped , renting short leases. so we had a look a the hotel lincoln, good location, nice hotel , good price, and very friendly staff, spent 2 weeks, there in sep , oct we had a good room very large bed 2 bathrooms, all the fitting are new, very clean room, fresh linen every day, could not fault the house keeping, that goes for all of the staff, they have a very good restarant , on the roof great views, during our stay, my wife tripped over , and had a nasty injury, and needed hospital attention, the hotel staff found out, and sent her, a nice cardl and choclates, and ice packs etc I thought this was a nice touch, WE WISH TO THANK ALL THE STAFF AT THE LINCOLN, would we stay again you bet,

Room Tip: ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

From top to bottom, left to right- Hotel Lincoln is a fantastic find. From check in to check out the experience was flawless. We had interaction from many employees of the hotel from the maintenance crew to management and every single person asked us how we were and inquired about our trip. My next trip to Chicago, no question I will stay here again. The staff is great, the ambiance is awesome and the rooms are very comfortable. Overall I would say the best hotel experience i have ever had. Having the park across the street with the farmers market was definitely an added bonus. Awesome! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent 3 days at the Hotel Lincoln. Great location as Mag Mile was 3-5 minutes away and access to linclon park and other neighborhoods was much easier than if we stayed downtown. Great valet services,easy in and out, neat clean rooms. A little "Euro" size and fixture wise, but nontheless comfy. Good bed and pillows,flat scren tv. Around the corner was "Nookies", a great place for breakfast-served all day.

Room Tip: upgraded to suite for $20 extra and the extra room was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.