We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lincoln in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Lincoln Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Play Hooky
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Lincoln in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great place to stay when in Chicago. Close to everything and it has been renovated to bring the rooms up to the 21 Century.

Room Tip: Historic Hotel with morden technology. Great service and friendly folks to help. Rooms were very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    252
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
235
284
59
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I cannot recommend the Hotel Lincoln for several reasons. First there is the noise from three different sources: a bar/restaurant located on the first floor, the hallway PA system playing disco, calypso, and rock music, and noise from the street below. I woke up 45 minutes after falling asleep to hear people partying outside at the bar. I had to ask to change rooms at 11:30. I could still hear people talking on the 12F in my new room. Music from the PA can be heard all through the hotel constantly as well as in your room. It was really excessive. Making matters worse the hotel doors were left wide open so that street noise was audible in the lobby area and second floor. Second, there was no parking at the hotel and the hotel's website fails to mention anything about parking. When you pull up, there is valet parking for $44 a night and no other information about where to park your car. As it turns out, there is no parking nearby either. The sign indicating the cost of valet parking was hidden between the mailbox and bicycle rack, so do not think the hotel is providing valet parking for free. Third, I naively gave the porter a $20 bill which was the smallest bill I had and told him to take a tip and give me the change. He took $10, which shocked me. While you could blame me for this, in the end it is going to cost the hotel more than $10 after people read this review. Would you go to a hotel where you cannot trust the people who work there? If they view the customers as an easy mark for parking and tips, what does it say about the rest of the management? Fourth, more indicative of the management's failure to consider the customer's experience, the printer in the 2nd floor business lounge area did not work. Avoid this hotel and find a hotel that is honest in its dealings with customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Lincoln. I had the opportunity to review and look into several of your comments and although some provide insight and assistance in making improvements, I also found some of your comments to be misleading. The rates for valet parking are posted clearly in 6” font on the Valet podium. The podium is located front and center of the arrival area, not between items or hidden from view. We offer several options for parking and provide a discount coupon for those guests who chose to self-park in the History Museum lot across the street. The lobby music cannot be heard on the 12th floor as there is no PA music system in the hallways. Integrity and honesty is treasured, earned and valued attribute that all of our associates and myself use as a guiding compass to assist in our daily decisions. My deepest apologies if you felt taken advantage of. Please accept my invitation to have an open dialogue in ways to improve what we do at Hotel Lincoln.

Robert Shelley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Needed a hotel in Lincoln Park as our son lives and works there. Location was perfect! Could walk to the zoo, the beach, and all the great food you could eat. Neighborhood was beautiful. Loved the hotel everyone was very helpful, the decor was fun and new and very clean. My room had two batherooms, love that! We will be staying there again and recomending to others!

Room Tip: Pony up for the suite! Had a sofa bed if you need it and had 2 batherooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just stayed here for a weekend in Chicago with two teenagers, and loved it. The hotel is so charming! Staff were great, and very attentive. Came in soaked from a rain shower and asked for towels as we walked in, they were sent up immediately. Had a Jr. Suite and it was perfect for the 4 of us. Great view, nice furniture and lovely bedding/blankets. Bow ties on front desk staff are fun!!

Room Tip: Ask for lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights here recently, and were not overly impressed. Our room was tiny and fairly dark. The room had been recently renovated and was clean, but the air conditioning unit was very noisy and had just 2 settings--on and off. One elevator was out of service all weekend, which made for a wait for the one working elevator.

The positives: There aren't many hotel choices in Lincoln Park, and this hotel is in a fabulous location across the street from Lincoln Park. Our room had a lovely view of the lake (albeit through dirty screens). Perennial Virant, a wonderful restaurant, is conveniently on the first floor. And we got an Orbitz special which made the average charge per night fairly reasonable. If we'd paid rack rate, we'd have been very upset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the hotel and I must say that I was very disappointed with the hotel. It is situated in a good location, close to downtown but in an older building. Though the rooms have been updated, there was an issue with hot water in our room. The shower had intermittent supply of hot water and was turning cold in the middle of the shower. The water in the sink was barely getting warm, that too after letting it run for 5 mins. We also requested for a refrigerator in the room but we were told they had run out. But what was more disappointing in both cases was the service. In both cases there was no follow up or pro-active response from the hotel, in-spite of my bringing it up the issues a number of times. Not even a phone call/message saying they had looked at the hot water issue! Also, one of our rooms had no safety deposit locker though the website lists that as an amenity in every room (we had 2 rooms for 4 nights) and one room had no hair dryer!! The coffee machine had no tea bags and after a couple of days even the used coffee bags were not replaced in both the rooms. There were also dirty coffee mugs left in one of the rooms even after the room was cleaned.
Overall, it was a poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the lapse in service as well as the water issues that you experienced. This is absolutely not representative of the high level of service that we provide our guests. I have shared your comments with our team to ensure that each issue is corrected. I hope that you allow us an opportunity to welcome you back so that we may turn your experience around.

Kindest Regards,

Robert Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Great Location right across from Lincoln Park & Beach. Rooftop Bar & Restaurant wasn't open yet. Small Rooms, No King but comfy Queen Bed, Great View. Boutique Renovation. Got great deal on Hotwire $135/night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.