We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hotel LIncoln!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Crest Hill, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel LIncoln!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Spent the weekend here and absolutely loved it! It is a hidden gem on the north side of Chicago.
We had a corner suite overlooking the lake and Lincoln Park and the zoo! All this at a very reasonable price! The place makes you feel more like you are staying at a friend's home than a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Lincoln Parks second bedroom; overlooking a zoo, the park and Lake Michigan! You are welcome to stay at your new friends home, Hotel Lincoln, anytime!
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The summer is just getting started!

Bob Shelley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    226
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
203
250
52
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I do not advise bringing families to this hotel. Very unorganized. Staff does not seem to know what they are doing. Had to wait for my room for a long time. They gave me the wrong room. I waited 30 min for my car. The sofa bed was not done. The 2nd sm bathroom they told me about was in the previous wrong room and was not avail in the room they gave (which by the way was not the room I booked). To top all the bad things off - my wife and 4 year old daughter cut their legs against the sharp edge of the sofa bed VERY dangerous.

Room Tip: The rooms here are average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear AKhan2,
I take our guest safety extremely serious and hold no tolerance for something in disrepair. I have had the opportunity to look at the sofa sleeper in your room and was unable to locate any sharp edges. I would appreciate any additional assistance or information to ensure this type of mishap does not occur for future guests. My apologies for the delays upon your arrival. Our staff took the liberty to upgrade your room to one with views of Lake Michigan. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to showcase the better side of Hotel Lincoln.
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you. 312-254-4651

Bob Shelley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is a welcome addition to Lincoln Park neighborhood and great place to stay if you want to avoid downtown. We stayed about a month after the opened before our wedding and the night of our wedding.

We stayed in a park view suite which was nicely decorated and good sized but not huge. There were 2 separate bathroom areas which is great for getting ready. The room had a large sitting area with couch, chair and table and flat screen tv mounted to the wall that would swivel. The room had fantastic views of Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

Service was helpful and willing to do anything to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel had a nice coffee shop in the lobby also connects to one of the best restaurants in the city right off the lobby.

I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is great and offers you to truly experience Chicago away from Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: Room with Park or Ocean view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The lobby of this hotel is small in size but huge in character. The decor is bright and welcoming with cool, contemporary furnishings. But the key to success for this recently opened gem rests in the people working for it, and the people are fantastic. Dressed in 1960's-inspired business attire and exuding youthful enthusiasm, the staff was helpful, friendly and welcoming. A small problem with my reservation was quickly and pleasantly resolved even though the hotel was fully booked that weekend and the place was bustling. The desk clerks remained cheery and charming throughout. Even the barista in the lobby cafe offered a warm, sincere greeting while serving a terrific cup of coffee. My room was tiny but well designed with modern fixtures, clever accessories and a window that faced Lincoln Park. The furnishings were stylish, the bed extremely comfy and I loved the print of Honest Abe that hung over it. But the best feature of this hotel is its location -- close enough to walk to Michigan Avenue but adjacent to Lincoln Park, with its huge expanse of open and beautiful space. We walked though the free zoo, lingered in the majestic Conservatory and enjoyed a fantastic stroll along the lakefront. There never was the need for a cab. Everything, including restaurants and historic Old Town, was just outside the front door. The only reason this hotel wasn't given five star is that it is expensive. New York prices for a very small room. But, especially in the summer months, this is a great place to stay in a fantastic location in one of the best cities in the world. Cheers to you, Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Hotel Lincoln is situated just across from Lincoln Park and has convenient access to transit. The hotel is nicely furnished, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms with updated fixtures and a retro decor very tastefully done. The employees were all very accommodating and helpful with even small things such as a recommendation for dinner or a question about a bus route. Great location for Cubs baseball fans!!

Room Tip: The lake view was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a great stay at this Hotel last weekend--I had messed up my reservation and reserved the wrong type of room. Even though the hotel was packed, the found a place for my friends and I to stay and brought in the appropriate rollaway beds.

I was blown away by their efforts to help and make my stay an amazing one.

Thanks to Katy, Glenn and the team!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you are visiting Chicago and want to stay in a cute hotel in a lovely neighborhood, Hotel Lincoln is a great bet. The hotel is supposed to resemble your quirky aunt's house, and it does. You can even find tootsie rolls in some of the drawers of the front desk in the lobby. The hotel is right on Lincoln park and is super close to the zoo and Old Town. Cabs are easily caught right in front so you can be downtown in minutes. There's even a farmers market right across the street on the weekend. The lobby is fun and hip and the staff is warm and gracious. A colleague and I shared a suite and it was perfect for 2 since it had 2 full (albeit smallish) bathrooms and a really comfortable pull-out sofa. We had no issues at all during our stay and enjoyed free Wi-fi since we are JDV club members. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.