We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than reviews say!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Hotel to your Saves list
River Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #60 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Leinster, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better than reviews say!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I arrived on Monday 23 April in the Evening, after a long haul flight
from Dublin to Chicago O'Hare. Stayed Six nights. Got the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) Blue Line into Clark and Lake Station.
After a long flight, it was a relief to find such a quiet, clean and cosy hotel. some other reviews said rooms here were small, but i thought my room fine for two, even though i had the double bed room to myself. Hotel is well located for seeing the sights of Chicago and shopping is within walking distance on State Street (Best for bargains) and Michigan Avenue (High End Shopping). Check out the Italien American Restaurent on the Ground Floor. Excellent Breakfasts, and evening meals are very good too. Other good eateries Seafood, Steak, etc.are in the immediate neighbourhood.
Other Plus Points- Complimentary Internet Access for Residents. Ask the Concierges anything. They are very helpful, in particular, Kevin and Tim. They certainly know their city!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    236
    69
    45
    23
See reviews for
78
208
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro Area
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

Spent 2 nights in April 2007. An outstanding stay in every way! Had a room up in the "tower" section, 3203, with fabulous views of the Marina Towers and river. Room was wedge-shaped but certainly roomy enough. There were only three rooms on this floor, due to the shape of the tower and elevator shaft. So it was very quiet! The bed was very comfy, the bathroom and shower stall were nicely sized, and there was a desk and arm chair in the room. Small closet was big enough to hang whatever you needed. The best was two walls with windows and the great view! The Italian Restaurant downstairs (not affiliated with the hotel) was a nice place to sit for a beer or snack. They also serve breakfast ,lunch and dinner. Will deliver to your room, too. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There were usually only one or two there, since it's small, but those two at the desk really worked hard to take care of everyone in a timely way. Huge kudos to the staff! There is a nice lounge area downstairs with free coffee and just up a beautiful marble staircase is another room with three computers (and a printer). Made it very handy! Also, you could get free bottles of water on the room floors which was super for sightseeing treks. Half way down the block is a Corner Bakery which has good hot breakfasts for about $5, as well as pastries, sandwiches, etc. About a half block in the other direction was a White Hen Pantry (7-11 type store) which was good for other essentials. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave, but we didn't miss or need them. The location is absolutely the best and really great for transportation - several lines of the "el" are just a couple of easy blocks away. The buses up and down Michigan are only a block away, too. Cabs are plentiful and not too pricey. I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone who can qualify to stay here. It was worth it just to stay in such a historic building with beautiful architecture, rather than a sterile hotel chain.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Superb location, great building (sneak all the way to the top of the atmospheric stairways for some great views), friendly and helpful staff, supremely comfortable bed, hot and poweful shower, nice touches like free broadband and bottled water... And cheap. What's not to like? If you want to spend all day in a bigger room go and stay at a bog-standard chain hotel and pay twice the price. But why would you, you're in Chicago!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

pretty nice stay
great location
it was very quiet - heard a few sirens at night but not once did I hear even a door open or close or a voice in the hall
stayed in the 14th floor - room size was not an issue at for us

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — afternoon desk clerk not real friendly
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agplatters
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed at Club Quarters on Wacker for a weekend in March 2007. We reserved the room through priceline at a great rate. The room was small, but clean, well furnished and a great locatin. The thing I couldn't get over is how quiet it was! I lived in Chicago briefly and there is always noise. But the only street noise we heard was an occassional siren and there wasn't a peep from any of the other guests. I'd stay here again and definitely recommend.

For those who aren't familiar with Chicago, it'd be a bit of a trek from either airport to get to the loop. But the El is only 2-3 blocks away and you can take that directly from either airport. We took the train into Union Station and grabbed a cab due to the rain. That was less than $10, but you can also take the El, bus and/or walk. You are located right by Michigan Ave and easily get around through public transportation. I'd highly recommend getting a CTA visitors pass if you plan on using buses or El much. All of our transportation needs were covered for two people for under $20 for the weekend!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room, but I was prepared for that so it wasn't an issue
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay here! We chose it because it was the cheapest we could find in downtown Chicago and totally lucked out. The location was perfection: close to everything we wanted to see, as well as transportation. We even had two views of the Chicago River from our room! The room wasn't huge, but it was well laid out and we had enough space for our needs. Attractive furnishings and no ugly floral bedspreads! Yeay! Super clean. I'm usually skeeved out by several aspects of most hotel rooms but can whole-heartedly recommend this place. Oh, and they had cookies in lobby during the afternoon. How can you not love that?

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here New Year's day evening to experience some of downtown Chicago's treats. It was perfectly situated between the shopping north of the river and the cultural offerings due south off Michigan. Rooms are as you expect in a city -- small -- but the bed was clean and comfortable and we had a view of the river. The hotel was quiet this evening after the holiday weekend and the concierge was very helpful in getting us a taxi at 4:30 am to catch an early flight back west.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service hotel with 121 rooms located on the Chicago river. Just one block north of River Hotel is the magnificent mile, famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center, Grant Park, and Marina City. River Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. River Hotel provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 6 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.